PDA

View Full Version : 3 4 ohm subs



startzy
07-11-2004, 11:17 PM
is there any1 way i could hook 3 4ohm subs up to a amp that is 4 ohm stable in bridged mode?

exalted512
07-11-2004, 11:36 PM
i hate wiring...it confuses me...
ive never heard of someone trying to do that though
you couldnt possibly be getting that many watts to each sub though...
the only way i know to wire 3 4 ohm subs is down to 1.333 ohms
that is not the only way...but the only way ive seen used
-Cody

startzy
07-11-2004, 11:42 PM
allright thx

Altec88
07-11-2004, 11:45 PM
You can ONLY get a 1.333 ohm load wiring 3 SVC 4ohm subs together.......

neomagus00
07-12-2004, 02:50 AM
incorrect... you could get a 2.667 load if you put two in series and then that pair in parallel with the third sub... however, the third sub would get 4 times as much power as either of the other two. so, yeah, 1.333 or 12 are your options.

bknauss
07-12-2004, 09:48 AM
Or 12 ohms...

LittleCar_w/12s
07-12-2004, 10:32 AM
why three?
just use two off a good amp, and sell the other...
what IS tha amp, subs etc?
-Jerry

Altec88
07-12-2004, 03:27 PM
1.333 ohms is the only "useful" wiring option.

Just get a 1ohm stable mono amp and ditch the 2-ch.

startzy
07-13-2004, 01:03 AM
ok thats probably what ill do.thx for the help guys

neomagus00
07-13-2004, 01:15 AM
actually, jerry has a point... rather than ditching your amp and LOSING money buying another for no real good reason, why not just use two subs, get very nearly the same amount of sound, and possibly sell the third (or save it just in case)... in order to GAIN money...

mmmm... money...

...donuts... ("it tastes like burning!")

exalted512
07-13-2004, 06:49 PM
well...he could always sell the amp he has and pick up a HiFonics amp...theyre not expensive at all...
that and 3 subs look much cooler than 2:cool:
-Cody

Airplay355
07-17-2004, 10:05 PM
can u stick resistors in the loop to change the ohm rating?

exalted512
07-17-2004, 10:39 PM
nope
-Cody

Airplay355
07-18-2004, 12:15 AM
why?

LittleCar_w/12s
07-18-2004, 11:01 AM
well, given that a resistor for 25w at 1ohm is about 3 inches long... one for a high power would be a brick... literally.

Also if you ran all 3 on a 1ohm amp, you are still loosing power, and effectively wasting money. if you got a 1000w amp at 1ohm, but paralelled those to be 1.333 ohm, you will only get 750w.

Take out your wallet and start tossing it's contents to the wind....
You're just better off selling the third, or keeping it for a spare.
-Jerry

MacLeod
07-18-2004, 12:17 PM
:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Lets see, you put 3 4 ohm subs in parallel and wire the third in series with the first two which are at 8 ohms with the series wired second sub but you need to wire the third in parallel with the 1 ohm amp to get 4 ohms and then wire them all in series and youve got 8 ohms..................oh my God, my eyes have crossed.

This is why Ill only run a single sub! LOL

BassAce
07-28-2004, 06:59 PM
If you get a Phoenix Gold 1200.1 amplifier, it provides a continous 1200w R.M.S. between 1-4 ohms. The benefit obviously of having 3 subs instead of 2, is that when you have 3 woofers if you want to play at the same output as 2 woofers you wouldn't have to drive the 3 subs as hard to get the same output. When you don't play the subs as hard then that means less load on the cars electrical system.

neomagus00
07-29-2004, 12:37 AM
ah, but the 3 subs can take more total power, thus enabling a greater load on the electrical system... and within the operating limits of the amplifier, if you're playing at X decibels, you're taxing the electrical system the same no matter how many drivers are going... (i'm pretty sure on this one, but i have been known to be wrong :p)

and rather than getting a regulated amp, why not just get one that can take 1 ohm all day and be done with it? say a usamps competition 2-channel? this of course is option number 2, with my preferred option being number 1, and that involves the use of only 2 drivers... but that's just me...

or option 3: get another driver, wire the 4 subs appropriately, get a 4-ohm load on the amp, and be happy? while it will not appreciably change your net SPL (either up or down, assuming the amp is wired appropriately in all cases), sq may be improved (each driver is pushing half as hard to get the desired SPL), and you have the option of upgrading your amp... just a thought...

btw, option number two may be the best for sq; wiring drivers in series can do interesting things to them... see here (http://www.jlaudio.com/tutorials/dvc/point.html).