View Full Version : WARNING: 1.2 TL's on Ebay is a scam
michaeljhsda2
11-18-2007, 09:59 PM
DO NOT contact this buyer via his email address as he has instructed. He will insist on obtaining your billing address (which I never did give him). He tried to scam me about 2 months ago so stay away from this auction. I reported this to Ebay about 15 minutes ago. BAD BAD BAD.
beardog03
11-18-2007, 10:01 PM
linky ?
michaeljhsda2
11-18-2007, 10:03 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=280175121037&_trksid=p3984.cWAT.m240.lVI
BaggedLancer
11-18-2007, 10:07 PM
seems a bit strange that someone with 6500 feedback and 99.2% rating is performing a scam....unless his account was hacked....
michaeljhsda2
11-18-2007, 10:11 PM
It had to be hacked. This is the exact ad with the same photo and description that was placed 2 months ago. Ebay took that ad down within 45minutes. Ebay should be taking this one down pretty soon.
BaggedLancer
11-18-2007, 10:14 PM
lol i just noticed it says the acution is in mesa AZ yet you need to go to columbia missouri to pick them up :D
read-alot
11-18-2007, 10:17 PM
lol i just noticed it says the acution is in mesa AZ yet you need to go to columbia missouri to pick them up :D
And pay in British Pounds, he has a BIN for 600 GBP
michaeljhsda2
11-18-2007, 10:18 PM
Sounds like a great deal that's too good to be true.:rolleyes:
BobMcG
11-18-2007, 10:34 PM
And, here is where the "real" gramsantiques01 store is located.
THE OLDE VILLAGE SQUARE ANTIQUES, FT MYER
MY NAME IS BARBARA MADER AND I HAVE BEEN SELLING AND BUYING ANTIQUES FIRST IN FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA AND THE PAST 21 YEARS IN FT. MYERS, FLORIDA. I HAVE OVER 30 YEARS EXPERIENCE IN OWNING A BUSINESS AND SELLING ANTIQUES AND COLLECTIBLES. WE ARE NOW ESTABLISHED IN OUR OWN SHOWROOM AT THE EXPO AT BRANTLEY, 1901-3 BRANTLEY ROAD (NEXT TO VAL WARD CADILAC DEALERSHIP) AND HAVE OVER 3,000 SF OF SHOWROOM AND WAREHOUSE SPACE.
It takes all kinds.
michaeljhsda2
11-18-2007, 10:41 PM
Looks like they are trying to sell 2 Nakamachi dragon cassette decks as well on gramsantiques. Again for 600 GBP.http://cgi.ebay.com/TWO-Nakamichi-Dragon-cassette-decks-MINTY_W0QQitemZ280175120475QQihZ018QQcategoryZ2021 3QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
michaeljhsda2
11-18-2007, 10:48 PM
Wow, they are selling all kinds of stuff, guitars, hammond B3, the list goes on. Grandma's gonna be pissed!
brijenjas
11-18-2007, 11:00 PM
Definitely hacked, all listings from Nov-18 12:59 and later are $80.00 starting bid.
BaggedLancer
11-18-2007, 11:03 PM
Yea, kinda sad, that lady is going to have one killer ebay bill and a hell of alot of negative feedback. What a waste of 6500 feedback and a 99.2% rating.
michaeljhsda2
11-18-2007, 11:05 PM
And every single item has a BIN of 600.00 GBP.
hearingimpared
11-18-2007, 11:06 PM
This is the same jagoff that tried to sell a Mark Levinson amp, a VPI Scout, a VPI HW 19 MkIV all in the past year.
Believe it or not he is very good too. He sometimes posts as the product is in Worchester MA, or Nottingham England. He can be very crafty. He almost had me with the Levinson scam.
Same scammer tried selling Tannoy D700's the other day. It started out at $80 like the rest. It's a shame too, I've been looking for a pair for months.
EDIT: What do you know, it was relisted.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Tannoy-Definition-Series-D-700s-MINT-CONDITION_W0QQitemZ280175124289QQihZ018QQcategoryZ 20213QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
hearingimpared
11-18-2007, 11:11 PM
This effer needs to be hung up by his gonads.
BaggedLancer
11-18-2007, 11:12 PM
This effer needs to be hung up by his gonads.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=zIyBms6k9vY
These gonads?
mrbigbluelight
11-18-2007, 11:32 PM
I've been watching that posting, and just knew I'd get bummed out over the whole thing.
They have a shipping weight of 185 lbs so the buyer will be responsible to pick them up in the Columbia, Missouri Area or arrange for freight pick up
F***, I'd WALK that far if the price was right !
but at last I have decided not to take them overseas.
Oh oh ..... here comes the "you buy it, but don't try to get ahold of me afterwards because I'll .... uh ..... be kind of out of town".
:(
Just curious .... when you pull up the listing, does it substitute a different city where they're located ?
I'm wondering if it data mines your location, than substitutes a nearby city for your particular location, ie, Glen Burnie if you're located in Baltimore.
I've emailed the dude, requested a time to visit the speakers in Columbia.
It'll be real interesting to see the response.
Did I mention ..... F*** !!!! :mad:
hearingimpared
11-18-2007, 11:32 PM
Mark you crazy bastage!
I've emailed the dude, requested a time to visit the speakers in Columbia.
It'll be real interesting to see the response.
Did I mention ..... F*** !!!! :mad:
I was going to do the same thing with the Tannoy auction, but I reported it to Ebay instead. :(
michaeljhsda2
11-18-2007, 11:36 PM
He will ignore your request to hear the speakers in Columbia, MO. However, he will insist on getting your billing address.
mrbigbluelight
11-18-2007, 11:41 PM
He/they/Grandma also has some Martin Logan Sequence II's listed, going for
..... oh ..... opening bid of $80.
http://cgi.ebay.com/MARTIN-LOGAN-Sequence-II-with-16-ft-MONSTER-Cable_W0QQitemZ280175125510QQihZ018QQcategoryZ2021 3QQcmdZViewItem
Comes with 16' of Monster cable, too. :eek:
29284
Gary Batson
11-19-2007, 01:18 AM
I was leary of the whole add. Being in Arizona and the speakers in Missouri. And the price in pounds. But I did email the guy to find out how much 600 pounds was. I got an answer back saying $1200. in American money. He wanted my full name and wanted to start the deal saying we would both be protected by ebay. I decided to leave this one alone and checked the forum to see what was being said. Glad I did. Thanks Yall !! :)
I-SIG
11-19-2007, 01:31 AM
I was leary of the whole add. Being in Arizona and the speakers in Missouri....Thanks Yall !! :)
Where in AZ, Gary?
Wes
dudeinaroom
11-19-2007, 02:28 AM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=zIyBms6k9vY
These gonads?
OMG it has been like 5 years since I saw that, it's not as funny this time around.
BaggedLancer
11-19-2007, 02:29 AM
OMG it has been like 5 years since I saw that, it's not as funny this time around.
Not AS funny, but still funny none the less :D
HeadphoneAddict
11-19-2007, 04:04 AM
Saw Grado HP-1000 for 99 starting bid, but small notes through the auction asking for 600gbp buy it now. Auction said all bids would be canceled - assumed it was seller's way of avoiding evan fees. Sounds like scam now.
Gary Batson
11-20-2007, 05:16 PM
Where in AZ, Gary?
Wes
The guys location was listed by ebay as AZ I think. But then in the discription he said the speakers were in Missouri. I've seen these speakers with the broken binding posts for sale before and figured they were being resold. even though the guy said he had had them for twelve years.
He's at it again, I don't see Polks listed though.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220176406866&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:US:1123
vBulletin® v3.7.2, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.