PDA

View Full Version : Does this email look suspcious to you?


Midnite Mick
05-25-2008, 02:15 PM
Hello

Well i am intersted in buying your (Usher CP738) So i want you to explain the condition, and i will need the picture of it, also i want to know your last price you can give, and just to let you know that i will be paying with (Money Order) ok. I will be looking forward to hear from you. Mail me back so as to start transaction.

Regards,

Jerry.

I always get leary when someone asks to see pictures of a product when I have a bunch posted in the add. If they would like to see more..ask for more pictures but the way it is said it implys that there aren't any. I had one product for sale before and the person actually asked me what colour it was and I had pictures posted in the add. It also makes me uncomfortable when people ask what is your lowest price...I mean if you want to make an offer, make an offer...it just seems like a stupid question. I had an item listed before and the person actually asked me how much I was asking when it is clearly stated in the add.

I also find it strange that there are brackets in this response for words that should just be in the sentences. This is person is also not registered with CAM.

Here is the add:

http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/90854-usher_cp738/

Your thoughts?

Thanks,
Mike

petrym
05-25-2008, 02:26 PM
I think it's a scam, I am always suspicious of people that want to pay with money orders which are now the most fraudulent way of paying.

janmike
05-25-2008, 02:32 PM
Mike,
I personally would not have a problem with providing more pics. I sold a REL Sub on CAM a year ago and had pics posted. The buyer asked for additional pics and I supplied 12 more. As well, the buyer requested more details regarding the condition of which I supplied. End of story, he bought the REL.
One point worth noting is the buyer was a registered user of CAM with Positive feedback. That was important to me. If I was going to dish out $1200 I would want all details as well.
Ask the guy where he lives to determine shipping charges.
FWIW, EVERY high valued purchase I have made I talked live with the person on the phone. This way you really get some additional insight into the person. Is guy prepared to register on CAM - it's free. Good luck Mike.

exalted512
05-25-2008, 02:38 PM
scam all the way. Tell him cash only.
-Cody

dcmeigs
05-25-2008, 02:40 PM
That looks like a classic scam to me. Also English is not his native tounge. It suggests a Nigerian scam artist to me. Ignore it.

Dennis Gardner
05-25-2008, 02:55 PM
Nice looking speakers...........what color are they and what is your lowest price?;)

McLoki
05-25-2008, 03:03 PM
Also could we get a few more pictures, and what e-mail address would you like me to send the money order to?? ;)

BTW - if that guys given name is Jerry, you can just call me Mufasa...

mrbigbluelight
05-25-2008, 03:04 PM
4 points I'd like to make:

1. It's a scam.
2. It's a scam.
3. It's a scam.
4. It's a scam.


Other than those 4 negative points, it's all good.


"Well i am intersted in buying your (Usher CP738) "

The parentheses are a dead give-away along with the request for a picture;
NOT a "more pictures" or "clarifying pictures" but "a picture".


For fun, I'd email the dude back and say you'd be willing to accept a money order, but it must be a money order drafted from the Bank of AMC Pacer.
Then see if he emails you back that that would be acceptable.

mrbigbluelight
05-25-2008, 03:09 PM
BTW, I noticed on the CAM site:

"FRAUD WARNING: Please be aware that there is a SCAM email going around since Feb 20th, or possibly earlier, asking users to log into CAM to change their passwords. READ HERE FOR MORE DETAILS."

How do we know that this is really Midnite Mick, and not some Nigerian imposter or .... that you're being forced to write this by some wayward Japanese whalers ?

:eek:

Midnite Mick
05-25-2008, 03:34 PM
Yeah, I found him mentioned in a thread on the CAM forum. His response has the exact same wording, including interested spelled wrong as the others.

Thanks all,
Mike

Ackaroth
05-25-2008, 03:42 PM
Anything with those parenthesis problem leads me to believe its an automailer, and that they are too fail to script in something that removes the parenthesis. Someone in Korea is getting 30 cents a day and not doing his damn job right...

bobman1235
05-26-2008, 12:28 AM
Always trust your instincts on these kinds of things - there's a reason you have them (instincts that is).

candyliquor35m
05-26-2008, 01:00 AM
These are easy to spot after you've got a few of them. I just delete them.

The same thing happens on craigslist. Some of them are just fishing for your email address which they sell for $.25 or whatever.