Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    1,583

    Question DTS Neo: 6 - no sound from surround speakers

    Hey Guys -

    So I watch a decent amount of Netflix streaming - and I have plenty of devices to watch on (PS3, 360, Wii, LG LED TV). For simplicity's sake, I've been using the Netflix built into my TV - it works well and it's faster / easier to access than powering up consoles. The only wrinkle here is that, I have to output the audio from the TV to the Denon AVR via an optical spdif cable. The optical / coax ports on the avr are assignable, so I have that one assigned to the 'TV' input.

    The problem I'm having is that when I choose Prologic II: Cinema or DTS Neo: 6 Cinema, I'm not getting any sound from the surrounds. The receiver shows the 5.1 spkr icons in the display, but nada.

    Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

    Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

    2 Channel:
    Polk LSi9 (xo mods), Polk DSW MicroPro 2000 sub | NAD c375BEE | W4S DAC1 | SB Touch | Marantz SA-8001 | MIT AVt 2 | Kimber Hero / AQ / Signal ICs | Shunyata / Signal PCs

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    all I see is cows and cheese...
    Posts
    4,206

    Default

    there probably isn't any information for those channels thus why they do not have any sound. Last time I was using netflix about a year ago it was all in 2 channel for the streaming and they did not do 5 channel surround from what I remember. Prologic ect will only put info there that it thinks should be there. If the stream is coming in 2 channel mode it will play back normally in a stereo mode.
    2 Channel-
    Soundlab M3PX
    BAT VK-31
    Wyred SX1000 monos
    Esoteric DV50
    Dynavector p75 modded phono stage
    Rega P25 modded-Denon 103R Cart
    Squeezebox Touch
    Modded Music Hall DAC Burson op amps
    Richard Grey 600S
    MIT Shotgun IC's and SC

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default

    I think the point of both modes is to create a surround field from both 5.1 and 2 ch sources... from the Dolby site:

    Dolby Pro Logic II Benefits

    Transforms ordinary stereo content into rich, full-range surround sound

    Ensures that you hear all the subtleties and detail of the original content

    Delivers seamless, natural surround sound
    I've used Prologic II w/ my previous Yamaha RX-V663 and the ol' Logitech Z5500 speakers had it as well, which is why I feel like I might have something set wrong.
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

    Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

    2 Channel:
    Polk LSi9 (xo mods), Polk DSW MicroPro 2000 sub | NAD c375BEE | W4S DAC1 | SB Touch | Marantz SA-8001 | MIT AVt 2 | Kimber Hero / AQ / Signal ICs | Shunyata / Signal PCs

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (26)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salinas, CA
    Posts
    5,018

    Default

    Wonder if your TV is outputting that signal in 2-channel only, but even if it did that you should still get surround sound because Dolby PLII as you stated recreates a surround field.

    Can you mess with your TV's audio settings to see if that changes anything? I'd also run analog cables from your TV to your AVR and try going surround sound again just to make sure it's your TV's settings and NOT your AVR.
    Truck setup
    Alpine 9856
    Phoenix Gold RSD65CS

    For Sale
    Polk SR6500
    Polk SR5250
    Polk SR104



    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Any clue how to use the internet? Found it in about 10 sec.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Using a ROKU box to stream Netflix connected via HDMI I get all the NEO/Dolby/THX modes to work fine with my Onkyo TX-SR608. Does it work when you stream from some other device (not your TV) connected via HDMI?

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default

    @kawizx9r

    I will double check the audio options and switch from optical to analog cables and see if that helps.

    @geneb2450

    Good question - I have yet to play Netflix through one of the consoles since I got the Denon receiver. The PS3 and 360 are both connected via HDMI so I will try 'em both and report back results.

    I will confirm all these things when I get back from the office in the evening. Thanks for the input thus far :)
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

    Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

    2 Channel:
    Polk LSi9 (xo mods), Polk DSW MicroPro 2000 sub | NAD c375BEE | W4S DAC1 | SB Touch | Marantz SA-8001 | MIT AVt 2 | Kimber Hero / AQ / Signal ICs | Shunyata / Signal PCs

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default

    Update ...

    Can't find any options in the receiver or the TV that would impact how DTS Neo and PLII work (gonna look through the amp options).

    I'm watching Netflix through the PS3 (via HDMI) right now, and the same thing is happening. I just checked the information menu on the receiver (while it's in Direct mode) and it's showing Dolby Digital 2.0 48khz. If it is set on PLII or DTS Neo 6, it shows "unknown" for the signal...

    Time to delve into the receiver manual I guess.
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

    Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

    2 Channel:
    Polk LSi9 (xo mods), Polk DSW MicroPro 2000 sub | NAD c375BEE | W4S DAC1 | SB Touch | Marantz SA-8001 | MIT AVt 2 | Kimber Hero / AQ / Signal ICs | Shunyata / Signal PCs

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (26)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salinas, CA
    Posts
    5,018

    Default

    Do other surround sound modes work at all?

    This is just to ensure that your surrounds are properly connected and that the internal amp isn't shut off for those specific speakers. This was a feature in a few Denon receivers I used to own; you can choose to not have any signal being sent to surround/rear center channels.
    Truck setup
    Alpine 9856
    Phoenix Gold RSD65CS

    For Sale
    Polk SR6500
    Polk SR5250
    Polk SR104



    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Any clue how to use the internet? Found it in about 10 sec.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default

    Hmm..let me see if there is something like that going on
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

    Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

    2 Channel:
    Polk LSi9 (xo mods), Polk DSW MicroPro 2000 sub | NAD c375BEE | W4S DAC1 | SB Touch | Marantz SA-8001 | MIT AVt 2 | Kimber Hero / AQ / Signal ICs | Shunyata / Signal PCs

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (26)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salinas, CA
    Posts
    5,018

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PrazVT View Post
    Hmm..let me see if there is something like that going on
    Hey, just noticed you're not too far from me :p
    Truck setup
    Alpine 9856
    Phoenix Gold RSD65CS

    For Sale
    Polk SR6500
    Polk SR5250
    Polk SR104



    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Any clue how to use the internet? Found it in about 10 sec.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default

    Well - getting closer :) When I was using the PS3 to play a Netflix movie I turned on the surround back, height, and width speakers in the receiver menu and then toggled Audyssey DSX ... voila. Surround sound started coming out of the A1s. Then I turned off the surr back, width and height speakers in the menu (and audyssey dsx is unavailable again) and both surround modes persisted. Okay - I don't understand the logic but ok. Also the receiver finally saw "dolby digital" as the input signal (which it didn't before).

    Alas the case isn't the same when using the TV's Netflix (too bad, the picture is a lot nicer than from the Consoles) - same trick didn't work (plus I can't see the OSD). still connected via optical BTW.

    Anyway ..slowly getting there :) Up way too late too.

    Hmm yeah about 90 miles +/-; I'm in San Mateo
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

    Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

    2 Channel:
    Polk LSi9 (xo mods), Polk DSW MicroPro 2000 sub | NAD c375BEE | W4S DAC1 | SB Touch | Marantz SA-8001 | MIT AVt 2 | Kimber Hero / AQ / Signal ICs | Shunyata / Signal PCs

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. surround sound speakers?
    By rallyshark in forum Speakers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 02:45 PM
  2. No Sound From Surround Speakers
    By simonjsimon in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2007, 08:08 PM
  3. No Sound From Surround Speakers
    By simonjsimon in forum Speakers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-23-2007, 06:30 PM
  4. surround sound speakers
    By broker in forum Speakers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2006, 10:19 PM
  5. Right speakers for surround sound?
    By vdub in forum Speakers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-06-2003, 02:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts