Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    846

    Default Please help me set up my Micropro 2000

    What's up Polksters..........I got my MP2k about a week ago, I have read the similar threads on this forum, but I still am not able to get the sub to respond. I am having that "I can't tell if its on" thing. I'm using it for a 2.1 (music) rig.

    My room my be the culprit. It's an oddly shaped finished basement. Easiest room description would be to say it is 25 x 27, but actually the front 2/3 of the room is actually 22'w and the back 1/3 is 27'w
    Is my room to big for this sub? My listening position is about 14'

    I have a SPL meter and avia (test tones), but have no clue as to what I am looking to do with them.

    I am NOT smarter than a 5th grader, so can somebody tell me step by step what I am looking to do with SPL / test tones? Sub is connected to a 2 ch pre thru the line level connects

    Please advise......thanks

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4,017

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dhart86 View Post
    What's up Polksters..........I got my MP2k about a week ago, I have read the similar threads on this forum, but I still am not able to get the sub to respond. I am having that "I can't tell if its on" thing. I'm using it for a 2.1 (music) rig.

    My room my be the culprit. It's an oddly shaped finished basement. Easiest room description would be to say it is 25 x 27, but actually the front 2/3 of the room is actually 22'w and the back 1/3 is 27'w
    Is my room to big for this sub? My listening position is about 14'

    I have a SPL meter and avia (test tones), but have no clue as to what I am looking to do with them.

    I am NOT smarter than a 5th grader, so can somebody tell me step by step what I am looking to do with SPL / test tones? Sub is connected to a 2 ch pre thru the line level connects

    Please advise......thanks
    What preamp do you have?

    When you say you can't get your sub to 'respond' - does that mean if you put your ear up to it when playing music you don't hear anything?

    Is the sub light 'on' indicating it is receiving a signal?

    What frequency do you have the xover set to on the back?

    Not to sound rude, but have you verified that the pre is connected to the line level 'inputs' and not the 'outputs' on the MP2K?

    H9: If you don't trust what you are hearing, then maybe you need to be less invested in a hobby which all the pleasure comes from listening to music.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    Also, have you run the auto-setup with the microphone, to first ensure that it's functional? Once activated, it should immediately begin with a series of test tones that are quite loud.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    846

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Erik Tracy View Post
    What preamp do you have?

    When you say you can't get your sub to 'respond' - does that mean if you put your ear up to it when playing music you don't hear anything?

    Is the sub light 'on' indicating it is receiving a signal?

    What frequency do you have the xover set to on the back?

    Not to sound rude, but have you verified that the pre is connected to the line level 'inputs' and not the 'outputs' on the MP2K?
    Erik the sub is on...I can hear it slightly when I put my ear to it. I have volume set to 30 out of 40. Pre-amp is Rotel 1070. XO frequency is set to 60. The problem is, the sub is on but I have to be right on top of it to hear it. Thanks for your reply

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    846

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdaudioguy View Post
    Also, have you run the auto-setup with the microphone, to first ensure that it's functional? Once activated, it should immediately begin with a series of test tones that are quite loud.
    Audioguy...ran test tones Ok

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dhart86 View Post
    Erik the sub is on...I can hear it slightly when I put my ear to it. I have volume set to 30 out of 40. Pre-amp is Rotel 1070. XO frequency is set to 60. The problem is, the sub is on but I have to be right on top of it to hear it. Thanks for your reply
    I have found it difficult to judge the output of a sub by putting my ear up to it. Tweeters and mids, yes, but sub frequencies just don't seem conducive to that kind of inspection. I hope that makes sense. Also, a properly setup sub can often be subtle, depending on the material you're asking it to play. Make sure your source material has prominent bass below 60Hz.

    Another thought - The sub has a remote... try turning it on and off while playing some music that has a fair amount of bass.

    Also, what are your main speakers? Perhaps they're capable of playing low enough themselves that they're obscuring your sub. Remember, the crossover adjustment only effects where the sub cuts in, not where your main speakers cut off. There may or may not be significant overlap.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    846

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdaudioguy View Post
    I have found it difficult to judge the output of a sub by putting my ear up to it. Tweeters and mids, yes, but sub frequencies just don't seem conducive to that kind of inspection. I hope that makes sense. Also, a properly setup sub can often be subtle, depending on the material you're asking it to play. Make sure your source material has prominent bass below 60Hz.

    Another thought - The sub has a remote... try turning it on and off while playing some music that has a fair amount of bass.

    Also, what are your main speakers? Perhaps they're capable of playing low enough themselves that they're obscuring your sub. Remember, the crossover adjustment only effects where the sub cuts in, not where your main speakers cut off. There may or may not be significant overlap.
    Thanks audioguy ...my mains are the LSi7's...
    I will try turning sub off/on w/ remote....I didn't know that the crossover settings worked that way. I used to think that it was the point were the mains cutoff and the sub cut in. Thanks for that insight, it gives me a better idea of what I should be expecting from my sub.

    Do you think my room size is too big for the 8" sub?

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    I was running one in a 25 x 18 room and it was adequate (I think many people would have been satisfied)... 2 are better. ;) It should be providing an acceptable amount of low end below what the 7s are capable of on their own.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help MicroPro 2000 - Lack of Power?
    By audiobeginner in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 01:41 PM
  2. Defective MicroPro 2000?
    By audiobeginner in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 12:04 AM
  3. IR repeater target for MicroPro 2000
    By traviskleckner in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 06:19 PM
  4. For Sale Micropro 2000
    By leroyjr1 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-21-2010, 09:49 AM
  5. DSW MicroPro 2000
    By jacob.simpson in forum Speakers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 12:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts