Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 29 of 29
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default Comcast usage quota

    I have been finding it impossible to meet the quota for comcast. I am nearly 4x over the quota right now. I have been unable to find a whole lot about it. This isn't my first time being greatly over. Has anyone ever had consequences from going over their quota, or been warned?


  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,056

    Default

    Comcast will warn users from time to time and being that far over they may warn you. I am a heavy downloader between, Steam, Vudu, Hulu, and Netflix but I never get anywhere near that.
    // Panasonic AE8000 // Pioneer SC-57 // Polk Audio RTi A9 // Polk Audio CSiA6 //
    // Polk Audio FXi A6 // SVS PB12-NSD Subwoofer // Logitech Harmony Ultimate // Pro-Ject Debut III //
    // Oppo BDP-103 // Microsoft Xbox One Day One Edition // Sony Playstation 4 1TB SSHD // Nintendo Wii U //
    Photo Gallery
    Movie and Game Collection

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    GA--Rollin' down Hwy 41
    Posts
    2,855

    Default

    Wait until movie downloading becomes mainstream, then they will throttle everybody back.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    I find it amazing that at the speed I get, which isn't even their highest, I can download to their quota in a little over a day. 1 day of service at full speed for 30 days of payment? That's kinda crappy.

    Anyway, I was going to give them the mac of my new modem to get it up and running, but I am wondering if I should wait until tomorrow when the new quota shows up. I wonder if it flashes in their face if I am over.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    114

    Default ISP quotas

    I think a quota is headed my way, with our rural ISP. I have started to receive email and snail mail inquiries regarding our usage. They have asked me to log on to special application sites, check our wireless for security, etc. I don't consider myself a conspicuous consumer, but with all the gadgets for 4 people on one cable modem, it's easy to add up bandwidth. I think our last report was 4x the "average monthly usage".

    I don't do torrents, do download movies, kids love video apps....

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,421

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cokewithvanilla View Post
    I find it amazing that at the speed I get, which isn't even their highest, I can download to their quota in a little over a day. 1 day of service at full speed for 30 days of payment? That's kinda crappy.

    Anyway, I was going to give them the mac of my new modem to get it up and running, but I am wondering if I should wait until tomorrow when the new quota shows up. I wonder if it flashes in their face if I am over.


    You can download 1TB of data in one day? What are you downloading?

    I might do 3TB a month

    I don't know if Verizon keeps a tally, I will go look now and see if they do
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,652

    Default

    My Comcast monthly limit is 5TB. Get one of their other plans.
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    flower mound, tx
    Posts
    4,337

    Default

    I office out of the house. With VOIP I would crush any limits like this.
    Comcast sucks anyway, time to move on.
    "The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg." --Thomas Jefferson

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sucks2beme View Post
    Comcast sucks anyway, time to move on.
    Yeah, I agree with you, but for me, at least, there's no other option.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Galveston
    Posts
    3,214

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sucks2beme View Post
    I office out of the house. With VOIP I would crush any limits like this.
    Comcast sucks anyway, time to move on.
    Thats easy for you to say....The time warner/comcast between Houston and Dallas market swap a couple years ago sucked ...Time Warner had much better customer service
    Home Theater:Samsung8000-55LED,Pioneer SC35, Pioneer DV-79AVi, Sunfire TGA7201, LSi25, LCi RTSc, LC80i
    2chnl system:Melody 101 tube pre, Pass XA30.5 amp, Usher MD2 speakers, W4S Dac, MG Audio Planus2 speaker cables
    Office rig: Modwright KWI-200 Integrated, Dynaudio C1-II Signatures

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lasareath View Post
    You can download 1TB of data in one day? What are you downloading?

    I might do 3TB a month

    I don't know if Verizon keeps a tally, I will go look now and see if they do
    My quota is only 250gb At the speed I pay for, which is modest, I can go over that limit in just over a day. The usage rolled over this morning and I am already at 75gb/250

    Quote Originally Posted by dkg999 View Post
    My Comcast monthly limit is 5TB. Get one of their other plans.
    Whoa, really? I was under the assumption that the monthly limit was 250gb for every plan. Which plan are you on?
    Last edited by cokewithvanilla; 01-01-2011 at 11:12 AM.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,652

    Default

    I'm on a plan that costs $70 per month, not sure what it's called. It's internet only, no cable tv package.
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,421

    Default

    When I had comcast I had their extreme internet connection. They claimed it was 16Megs. Maybe that's the one that has the 5GB limit?

    On Verizon's site and on my bill I cannot see what my usage is. maybe Verizon doesn't care.
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lasareath View Post
    When I had comcast I had their extreme internet connection. They claimed it was 16Megs. Maybe that's the one that has the 5GB limit?

    On Verizon's site and on my bill I cannot see what my usage is. maybe Verizon doesn't care.
    I just gave them a call to setup my new modem and I talked to them about usage. They said that all their consumer plans are limited at 250gb, but that should be more than enough for me... I said I can download that in less than 2 days at their 15mb/sec ... oh... and these quotas came about in 2008, so maybe you had it before then ???

    They told me the only way I can get higher is through a business account. I called their business people and got a voicemail... awesome... I thought business was supposed to get better support than consumer

    Quote Originally Posted by dkg999 View Post
    I'm on a plan that costs $70 per month, not sure what it's called. It's internet only, no cable tv package.
    Is this a business account??

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    flower mound, tx
    Posts
    4,337

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by txcoastal1 View Post
    Thats easy for you to say....The time warner/comcast between Houston and Dallas market swap a couple years ago sucked ...Time Warner had much better customer service
    If you say so. Week long outages were the norm with TW when they took over.
    The whole sub-division got fiber from FIOS. TW was made extinct around here
    by it. Fast, and it doesn't go down.
    "The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg." --Thomas Jefferson

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    flower mound, tx
    Posts
    4,337

    Default

    No one answers the phone any more. If they did, you'd just be taking to somebody who you couldn't understand.
    "The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg." --Thomas Jefferson

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cokewithvanilla View Post
    My quota is only 250gb At the speed I pay for, which is modest, I can go over that limit in just over a day.
    I'm so curious that I just have to ask... How in the world do you do that? Are you streaming or storing?
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    DFW Area
    Posts
    1,102

    Default

    I had no idea that some cable companies had usage quotas for internet. I thought that was for the satellite internet folks only. I have ATT Uverse and I have never seen anything about monthly usage quotas.

    Scott
    Without music to decorate it, time is just a bunch of boring production deadlines or dates by which bills must be paid. ..... Frank Zappa

    My Mid-Fi Systems - In The Showcase

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    We have 4 computers and several other internet connected devices, and I just checked our usage:

    Oct - 10GB
    Nov - 14GB
    Dec - 49 GB

    2 came home from college in December and we also just got a Netflix account... I guess we're creeping toward the quota, but we still seem pretty far from it.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdaudioguy View Post
    I'm so curious that I just have to ask... How in the world do you do that? Are you streaming or storing?
    storing for the most part. I'm maxing out my connection speed, so it doesn't take long to hit the limit. They asked me if I wanted to upgrade to their faster plan... 50mbps... I said "no thanks, I would hit the quota in 11 hours." I cannot believe they can offer a service that fast and not do any math when it comes to the quota.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gadabout View Post
    I had no idea that some cable companies had usage quotas for internet. I thought that was for the satellite internet folks only. I have ATT Uverse and I have never seen anything about monthly usage quotas.

    Scott
    After ATT put usage quotas on their 3g for phones, I wouldn't doubt that they have it on their internet. I really think it's stupid though... comcast says 99% of customers don't hit the quota... then what's wrong if a few go over?? I assume they are doing this in advance for when everyone is streaming bluray

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denial...it's in Egypt.
    Posts
    12,878

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lasareath View Post
    When I had comcast I had their extreme internet connection. They claimed it was 16Megs. Maybe that's the one that has the 5GB limit?

    On Verizon's site and on my bill I cannot see what my usage is. maybe Verizon doesn't care.
    I don't think Verizon cares. If they do, I haven't heard about it and I know some months I tax my connection alot. Especially if I'm playing an XBOX game with my brother across the connection. I haven't had any of the normal issues that Comcast customer gripe about with throttling, quotas and nastygrams about usage.

    If I'm late paying the bill they get on me about it but otherwise I don't hear about it.
    You're just jealous 'cause the voices don't talk to you!

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    3,269

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gadabout View Post
    I had no idea that some cable companies had usage quotas for internet. I thought that was for the satellite internet folks only. I have ATT Uverse and I have never seen anything about monthly usage quotas.

    Scott
    Uverse doesn't have a limit in most markets... but in major markets, they were testing a 150gb/month limit. Don't know what ever came of that though. AT&T's 6mbps DSL is capped at 80gb/month.

    It's really sad that we have limits at all... but that's the result of these companies not investing in infrastructure the way they have in other countries. You look at the network in Japan compared to the U.S., and we're not even close.
    Equipment list:
    Onkyo TX-NR3010 9.2 AVR
    Emotiva XPA-3 amp
    Polk RTi70 mains, CSi40 center, RTi38 surrounds, RTi28 rears and heights
    SVS 20-39CS+ subwoofer powered by Crown XLS1500
    Oppo BDP-93 Blu-ray player
    DarbeeVision DVP5000 video processor
    Epson 8500UB 1080p projector
    Elite Screens Sable 120" CineWhite screen

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    Well, bandwidth is a limited commodity.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,217

    Default

    I don't even think I can check my quota/usage on Cox. I've never gotten a letter, but I bet I've topped 1TB each month.

    Also - I HIGHLY doubt anyone is hitting 1TB a day unless they're on gigabit.
    1TB a day is 694MB/minute, or 11.5MB/s, which is 92.6mbit....
    Main Surround -
    Epson 8350 Projector/ Elite Screens 120" / Pioneer Elite SC-35 / Sunfire Signature / Focal Chorus 716s / Focal Chorus CC / Polk MC80 / Polk PSW150 sub

    Bedroom - Sharp Aquos 70" 650 / Pioneer SC-1222k / Polk RT-55 / Polk CS-250

    Den - Rotel RSP-1068 / Threshold CAS-2 / Boston VR-M60 / BDP-05FD

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Easton, MD
    Posts
    934

    Default

    too bad verizon doesnt have fios everywhere --- i used to have comcast and my experience was (and this was 7 yrs ago) that they put a junction box in a neighborhood and if everyone was on it at once then everyone was getting sub 56K modem speed. Like i said it was nearly 8 yrs ago.

    Fiber optic to the house is the only answer.

    wayne

    p.s. -- whatever happened to putting packets over the electical transmission lines. I read somewhere about 15 yrs ago that that was kinda a no-brainer.
    Yamaha RX-V2700, EMI 711As (front), RCA K-16 (rear), Magnavox Console (Center & TV Stand), Sony SMP-N200 media streamer, Dual 1249 TT =--- Sharp Aquas 60" LCD tellie

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    McMinnville, OR
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    Verizon doesn't have "set" limits on monthly bandwidth, however they DO track how much you use. If you use an exorbitant amount of bandwidth (meaning several TB a month), chances are they will contact you.

    As for Comcast, the monthly cap for all their commercial (home) plans is 250GB a month...which is complete crap, we all agree. My first month with comcast, I did 1TB. And for those of you who are saying "How do you use that kind of bandwidth!??!?!?" - it's actually fairly easy nowadays.

    Nearly all games that come out now are focused on online play. Most games will have you download 1GB or more of updates after installing the game. For an FPS game (CoD: BO for example) you're looking at upwards of 100MB/h. That means for every 10 hours of CoD you play, you're using up 1GB of bandwidth.

    For an SD quality movie from Netflix streaming, you're looking at around 3GB per 2 hour movie. If you watch 3 movies a day (my kids watch movies while they're playing all day long) you'll reach your cap just in just 25 days. That's if you ONLY use Netflix, and don't do anything else online.

    If you download songs from iTunes, all you have to do is find the size of 1 song and multiply that number by however many songs you downloaded. That'll give you a nice basic average.

    This day and age, having a cap like 250GB isn't going to cut it for a lot of people. Sure, "most" of Comcast's customers stay below that, but "most" of Comcast's customers will be dead or senile within the next decade.
    Quote Originally Posted by MrNightly View Post
    "Dr Dunn admitted that his research could also be interpreted as evidence that women are shallower than men. He said: "Let's face it - there's evidence to support it."
    Quote Originally Posted by mystik610 View Post
    Best Buy is for people who don't know any better. Magnolia is for people who don't know any better and have more money to spend.
    My System:


    Blu-Ray player: Samsung BD-P1600
    TV: SAMSUNG UN55B7000 55" 1080p LED HDTV

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,217

    Default

    If I max out my connection (2.7meg/s) I can hit about 220gigs in one day...lol

    Not including the speed boost that goes over 3.0meg/s for a while.
    Main Surround -
    Epson 8350 Projector/ Elite Screens 120" / Pioneer Elite SC-35 / Sunfire Signature / Focal Chorus 716s / Focal Chorus CC / Polk MC80 / Polk PSW150 sub

    Bedroom - Sharp Aquos 70" 650 / Pioneer SC-1222k / Polk RT-55 / Polk CS-250

    Den - Rotel RSP-1068 / Threshold CAS-2 / Boston VR-M60 / BDP-05FD

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    you can monitor your bandwidth using ProteMac Meter.It;s really nice prog)

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (25)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,993

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ryanjoachim View Post
    My first month with comcast, I did And for those of you who are saying "How do you use that kind of bandwidth!??!?!?" - it's actually fairly easy nowadays.
    Wow the biggest plan I can purchase is 125gb per month if I choose a bundled package and only 40gb allowed on a stand alone connection and if you are on one of their slowest plans the overusage charge is 4 cents per mb or $40.00 per gb which would work out to at 7.5gb stand alone connection be almost $4000.00 in overusage charges per month if you used 1TB.

    http://gci.com/for-home/alaskas-fastest-internet



    REGARDS SNOW
    Well, I just pulled off the impossible by doing a double-blind comparison all by myself, purely by virtue of the fact that I completely and stupidly forgot what I did last. I guess that getting old does have its advantages after all :D

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Confused about 4-ohm usage
    By Sean22 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 01:33 PM
  2. AI-1 usage
    By tugboat in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2005, 12:00 AM
  3. Electricity Usage
    By gsdvip in forum Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-06-2005, 10:22 AM
  4. Lsi7 Usage
    By Early B. in forum Speakers
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 06-11-2004, 10:46 PM
  5. SPL usage question
    By jacal in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-06-2003, 04:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts