Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: HDMI question

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    3,474

    Default HDMI question

    Quick question. Got my son a PS3 for Christmas. Got it hooked up to an older Sony 42" LCDRP that only has 1 HDMI input which is being used by the cable box so we can get HD. Is there some kind of splitter that allows 2 devices to use 1 input? I was checking out MP and every splitter I saw appeared to be designed to spit a signal to multiple sets, not the other way around.

    TIA

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    376

    Default

    You need a "HDMI Switcher/switch box"

    Another option is if your cable box and TV have analog component connections use that for your cable box and put the PS3 on HDMI. At most your cable service is 720p and you likey wouldn't notice too much of a difference between HDMI and Component for HD cable.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    You need an HDMI switch.

    Example: http://www.amazon.com/Ultra-High-Per.../dp/B0015YWKYY
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brownsburg, Indiana
    Posts
    9,679

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pdxfj View Post
    You need a "HDMI Switcher/switch box"

    Another option is if your cable box and TV have analog component connections use that for your cable box and put the PS3 on HDMI. At most your cable service is 720p and you likey wouldn't notice too much of a difference between HDMI and Component for HD cable.
    +1 here!

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    3,474

    Default

    Thanks for the quick replies fellas! Knew it had to be something easy...

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Conch Republic, Key West
    Posts
    1,162

    Default

    I run an hdmi to my projector and a component to the TV. It's my opinion that the component has a much richer and warmer color to it although HDMI is clearer but not noticeably clearer. The difference between the settings between 720p and anything above is hardly noticable even on my projector and I don't believe anything on directv or cable is higher than 1080i.

    Polk Audio SDA CRS+ (4.1TL by Trey, Larry's Rings)-
    SDA SRS2-Parasound HCA1500ax2/1000
    Yamaha xa1000-Celestion SL6S presence,- sl9 surround back
    NHTsuper1's surround
    Nad2700-sub, AdcomGFA-555 -Magnepan SMG
    Parasound 1500pre- Sofia "Baby" tube amp - Monitor Audio Silver RX2
    Marantz 2230/B&Kst140- outdoor B&W/Bose/Parasound/KefC75/c40/Polksub
    Technics 1200mk2
    Gamertag: IslandBerserker
    I am but a infinitesimally small point meeting the line of infinity in the SDA universe

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    3,474

    Default

    Thanks again guys. Another question though, if I run component cables from my cable box I lose the ability to watch HD channels don't I? I was under the impression HD had to go thru HDMI...

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brownsburg, Indiana
    Posts
    9,679

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ken brydson View Post
    Thanks again guys. Another question though, if I run component cables from my cable box I lose the ability to watch HD channels don't I? I was under the impression HD had to go thru HDMI...
    Nope, Component can carry HD up to 720p so your still fine. You just dont get the added benefit of one cable for both audio and video as you need to run a component cable (picture ONLY) + RCA cables (audio only).

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    3,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EndersShadow View Post
    Nope, Component can carry HD up to 720p so your still fine. You just dont get the added benefit of one cable for both audio and video as you need to run a component cable (picture ONLY) + RCA cables (audio only).
    Cool deal. TV is only 720 anyway and here is a huge difference in PQ between standard def and HD.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Conch Republic, Key West
    Posts
    1,162

    Default

    you can run a digital out audio which is better than rca in some cases for surround sound. If your tv is 720p, set your cable box to output 720 as that is your native resolution and it will always look better.

    Polk Audio SDA CRS+ (4.1TL by Trey, Larry's Rings)-
    SDA SRS2-Parasound HCA1500ax2/1000
    Yamaha xa1000-Celestion SL6S presence,- sl9 surround back
    NHTsuper1's surround
    Nad2700-sub, AdcomGFA-555 -Magnepan SMG
    Parasound 1500pre- Sofia "Baby" tube amp - Monitor Audio Silver RX2
    Marantz 2230/B&Kst140- outdoor B&W/Bose/Parasound/KefC75/c40/Polksub
    Technics 1200mk2
    Gamertag: IslandBerserker
    I am but a infinitesimally small point meeting the line of infinity in the SDA universe

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brownsburg, Indiana
    Posts
    9,679

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evhudsons View Post
    you can run a digital out audio which is better than rca in some cases for surround sound. If your tv is 720p, set your cable box to output 720 as that is your native resolution and it will always look better.
    I agree but since its all direct to the TV digital (coaxial, spdif) wont make a difference since it will be stereo only.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,237

    Default

    I have a remote controlled HDMI switcher. My TV has 2 HDMI inputs but I needed 3. One for the DishTV box, One for Roku player, One for DVDp. I run all 3 into the remote switcher and then one output from the switcher to one HDMI input on the TV. That still leaves me with one on the TV for future use. I bought it off Amazon for around $20.

    http://www.amazon.com/IOGear-3-Port-...020893&sr=8-21

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Conch Republic, Key West
    Posts
    1,162

    Default

    true about the output to tv. he may want to upgrade to the polk soundbar eventually. great price on the hdmi switch.

    Polk Audio SDA CRS+ (4.1TL by Trey, Larry's Rings)-
    SDA SRS2-Parasound HCA1500ax2/1000
    Yamaha xa1000-Celestion SL6S presence,- sl9 surround back
    NHTsuper1's surround
    Nad2700-sub, AdcomGFA-555 -Magnepan SMG
    Parasound 1500pre- Sofia "Baby" tube amp - Monitor Audio Silver RX2
    Marantz 2230/B&Kst140- outdoor B&W/Bose/Parasound/KefC75/c40/Polksub
    Technics 1200mk2
    Gamertag: IslandBerserker
    I am but a infinitesimally small point meeting the line of infinity in the SDA universe

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. HDMI Question
    By deronb1 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 09:51 PM
  2. HDMI question
    By PhantomOG in forum Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-03-2009, 10:15 AM
  3. HDMI question
    By Keiko in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 09:09 PM
  4. hdmi question
    By carmos in forum Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2007, 05:20 AM
  5. HDMI question
    By krabby5 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-27-2006, 03:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts