Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    SFO, CA
    Posts
    184

    Default Is Bi-wire for new speakers only?

    Hi, just want to get some information about bi-wiring an old bose bookshelf speakers? How can I know if a speaker is capable of such a sophisticated set up.
    Also, do I need to have an amp to bi-wire my speakers or can I use my pre-amp receivers?

    Thank you for your kind response :)

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Bi-Wire requires 2 sets of speaker terminals. (On the speaker) and binding post on the receiver

    To bi-wire on a receiver, you would mainly need binding post terminals, unless you can tell me a way your going to shove 2 sets of speaker wire in that small hole. You mainly can run 2 sets of wire, one to the top post, one to the bottum post, and then do one set at one end with banana plugs - and put it straight into the terminal, and then stick bare wire into the slot in the terminal. That is the cheap way, or you could buy a bi-wire cable which isnt cheap. You can also BI-AMP, which requires 2 amps, you run one set of wires to one amp, and another set of wires to another amp. You can use a 2 channel amp to bi-amp one speaker I suppose.
    Biwire/amp is not only for new speakers, many old speakers like the SDA SRS 1.2tl's and such if im not mistaken had this feature.
    Bose...bleh....why do you own bose? ;)
    Last edited by VR3; 07-09-2003 at 07:25 AM.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    this may put it into "picture" === WRONG BAD PIC! FORGET IT! LOL!
    Last edited by VR3; 07-09-2003 at 11:57 PM.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    213

    Default

    Actually, don't wire it up like that picture...the picture is wrong...

    The white should go to both reds, and the black should go to both black...

    I don't recommend hooking it up like the picture illustrates...

    -BL
    TWFTPQ
    Receiver: Outlaw 1050
    Amps: Outlaw M-200 x 3 (Powering Mains and Center)
    Mains: RT800i; Center: CS400i; Surrounds: F/X500i
    Sub1: 214L Vented Tempest
    Sub2: 122L Sealed Tempest

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,740

    Default

    dido with BeginnersLuck, picture is wrong. White with both reds and black with both blacks.
    SDA-2a, Anthem Pre-2L, Anthem Amp 1, MF A324 DAC, Rotel RCD1070

    Senn HD650 Cardas, Mapletree Audio Ear+ HD2, Kimber KS1030, Bel Canto DAC2, M-Audio Transit, Laptop.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    here is a bi-wire hook up...
    Attached Images  
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    and the receiver side, notice the colors, blacks twisted together, reds twisted together, substitute the colors for what ever color your wire is......
    Attached Images  
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,740

    Default

    Nice. That's much better.
    SDA-2a, Anthem Pre-2L, Anthem Amp 1, MF A324 DAC, Rotel RCD1070

    Senn HD650 Cardas, Mapletree Audio Ear+ HD2, Kimber KS1030, Bel Canto DAC2, M-Audio Transit, Laptop.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Originally posted by BeginnersLuck
    Actually, don't wire it up like that picture...the picture is wrong...

    The white should go to both reds, and the black should go to both black...

    I don't recommend hooking it up like the picture illustrates...

    -BL
    WEEEEEEEE! TRULY SORRY BOUT DAT GUYS! lol! Didnt realize that! VERY SORRY AGAIN!
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts