Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default SurroundBar IHT 6000 Remote problems

    I recently purchased a SurroundBar IHT 6000, and while it sounds great and fits perfectly in the room, using a remote with it has made it almost unusable.

    The unit sits about 4 feet off the ground and most seating is about 10 feet away. The problem is that if you aren't alomost directly in front of the system, it doesn't receive the remote signals. This means there is one seat in my living room that can control the system.

    The problem presents itself whether I'm using the included remote, or if I am using a remote that I programmed to work with it.

    The system is sitting flat and not mounted on the wall.

    Anyone else had any issue like this, or know anything I can do to make the reception better? Or do I need to call and see if I can get it replaced.

    Thanks.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default

    have you tried using fresh batteries?
    -or-
    try one of these remote range extender relay things. ratshack sells em for $20.
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103599

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Having the same problems. Sent a query to support

    Hello. I'm experiencing the exact same issues you mentioned and they have absolutely nothing to do with battery condition. In addition, I've experienced problems with the input source selection occasionally changing when adjusting the volume via the remote. (and I only have a single TOSLINK connection established to the bar)

    I absolutely love the sonic performance of this SurroundBar but these remote issues are making me seriously consider another product.

    I've already sent a support request to Polk's technical group for assistance on this issue and will post any helpful information or suggestions they provide.

    Thanks,

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Replacement quickly provided by technical support

    Eric Wong from Polk's customer support group quickly confirmed that the problems I had been experiencing were not normal and coordinated by unit's replacement.

    Using the pre-paid label he provided, I returned the defective unit to their support group and a replacement was shipped the next business day! Great service! However, I haven't yet had the opportunity to test the replacement unit but will provide another update once I've tested it.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I am glad to see this thread because I'm having the EXACT same problem and would love to hear if anyone has an update here. I, like others have stated love the sound, but the remote is incredibly bad and flaky. If I get past maybe 5 or 6 feet away and am not exactly level vertically with the bar, it's very hit or miss....honestly unusable and would drive me crazy quickly. So I can't decide what to do here. It seems unlikely that this exact issues would be coming up with several of us unless this was some kind of known issue with the remote? I too get the crazy thing where it changes the source occasionally as well when I'm only trying to adjust the volume.

    Thanks,
    Robert

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rlooney View Post
    I am glad to see this thread because I'm having the EXACT same problem and would love to hear if anyone has an update here. I, like others have stated love the sound, but the remote is incredibly bad and flaky. If I get past maybe 5 or 6 feet away and am not exactly level vertically with the bar, it's very hit or miss....honestly unusable and would drive me crazy quickly. So I can't decide what to do here. It seems unlikely that this exact issues would be coming up with several of us unless this was some kind of known issue with the remote? I too get the crazy thing where it changes the source occasionally as well when I'm only trying to adjust the volume.

    Thanks,
    Robert
    The remote is simple and because then emitter is recessed, its quite directional. I use it, have the same issue but really don't find it to be that big of a deal, hassle nor is it "unusable".

    Just because 3 ppl mention a problem, out of 30,000 plus Club Polk registered members, doesn't mean it's a known problem. That's not even counting how many ppl register the product but don't join here. Unless folks let Polk know about these issues, they can't address them and develop a fix or solution.

    If it's troubling you that much, return it and buy something else. I've used far worse remotes from much more expensive products.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    dorokusai,

    Thanks for such a constructive response. Not sure what I would have done without someone telling me that my issues are not as bad as I think and to return it if I don't like it. Personally, if I pay $500 for an audio component, plop down in my recliner that is about 10-12 ft. away directly in front of the unit and cannot adjust my volume without extending my arm all the way up and moving side to side just hoping for the best, that's "unusable". I guess everyone one has their own tolerances.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Question Did the replacement work better?

    Quote Originally Posted by nikonikousa View Post
    Eric Wong from Polk's customer support group quickly confirmed that the problems I had been experiencing were not normal and coordinated by unit's replacement.

    Using the pre-paid label he provided, I returned the defective unit to their support group and a replacement was shipped the next business day! Great service! However, I haven't yet had the opportunity to test the replacement unit but will provide another update once I've tested it.
    Nikonikousa - did the replacement perform better? I have the same problem as reported here, and will definitely seek a replacement if it resolves the issue. Thanks!

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default SurroundBar6000 IHT Remote Problem

    I also have a problem with the soundbar/remote - it will switch inputs all by itself when trying to change volume. When it does this you have to send a signal to switch it back to the original input and then you can send a command to adjust volume. It does this very regularly, but not always, and it does it whether the command comes from the original, included remote or from another programmed remote.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I am considering buying this unit which is the reason for visiting this thread. I dont see any post since July about the remote issue. Can anyone confirm the final outcome? My assumption here is the problem was resolved but would like to be sure.
    Thanks.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I also have this problem, but don't read a solution in this threat. I have tried to use a remote control extender, but this doesn't lead to a solution. So... I guess many people have this problem. A lot of them have accepted this, but after 1,5 years using this great product I finally want to have a solution for this problem. Who helps me out?

  12. #12
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,705

    Default

    Hello,
    Welcome to Polk's forum. Could you detail the problems that you are having? You mention a remote extender, are you using this to boost the strength of the remote's signal?
    Regards, Ken

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hello Ken,
    These are the problems I have:
    1) The problem is that if you aren't almost directly in front of the system, it doesn't receive the remote signals.
    2) I've experienced problems with the input source selection occasionally changing when adjusting the volume via the remote. (and I only have a single TOSLINK connection established to the bar)
    3) I tried to solve it with a remote control extender, but you must place this thing a few inches in from of the bar... so this is not a solution.
    Best regards,
    Johan

  14. #14
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,705

    Default

    Hello Johan,
    Thanks for the explanation. The remote strength problem could be caused by some of the grille cover's frame material being in the way of the incoming signal. Give Polk's CS department a call, first thing Monday, at: 1-800-377-7655 for help.
    As to the random source changes, try this: set the Polk to the standby mode (the LED will be red) then press the "learn" button until the LED turns amber and blinks a few times. This will wipe the stored memory clean (the Polk remote will still function) in case there have been some conflicting remote codes learned.
    Regards, Ken

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help SurroundBar SDA remote programming problems
    By trbuckley in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 09:13 AM
  2. Surroundbar remote learning
    By cdwinnington in forum Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-12-2009, 11:59 PM
  3. Some Problems with SurroundBar 360
    By bostoneyedoc in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 03:35 PM
  4. Surroundbar 360 Remote questions
    By 2geer in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-11-2008, 10:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts