Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: AVR Feedback

Member Sales Rating: (1)

Default AVR Feedback

I am a newbie to Polkville and was looking for some feedback. I am trying to improve my HT by upgrading my speakers and I was wondering what some of you might think about my AVR. It is a Sony STR-DG600, its a few years old but has done pretty good for me. I am doing 5.1 with it with my fronts M50's, my center a scs250 and still trying to figure out my surrounds. Do you think this group will work or is the AVR a weak point?

Member Sales Rating: (0)

You can do much better for your speakers by purchasing a new avr. At a whopping 17lbs i can't see how it's delivering much for clean power to your Monitor 50's. They are capable of much more than they are delivering with the receiver you are using now.
    Onkyo TX NR 5008 modified by The Upgrade Company
    Oppo BDP 93 modified by The Upgrade Company
    Arcam CD37
    Monitor Audio Gold GS 60
    Revolver Audio Music 5 towers.(surround)
    Vandersteen V2W

Please explain the 17lbs reference.

Set up your system
    and use several different sources ( favorites )
    make sure you take your listening environment into consideration
    such as placement of your speakers and locating that sweet spot

then go out to friends and neighbors and business to compare

Plenty of areas to upgrade as you get more into it.

Member Sales Rating: (11)

Quote Originally Posted by mr_concrete_1 View Post
    Please explain the 17lbs reference.
    The specifications of your receiver list the weight at 17lbs. In traditional receivers, weight is a good proxy for quality. The higher the weight, the higher the quality. Why?