Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Connect Monitor 30 to laptop

    Hi!

    I just bought Monitor 30 and wanted to connect it to my laptop, but I was surprised when I've unpacked them and saw that they have such connection...
    Is is any way to connect it to laptop?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    540

    Default

    Welcome to Club Polk Sash86.

    Monitor 30's are not "powered" speakers with an internal amplifier if that is what you were looking for. You will need to power them with a stereo amplifier.

    The connections are 5 way binding posts that can be used with bar wire, spade or banana connectors from your amplifier.

    Sash86 additional information of what you are looking to do would be helpful.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Pontiac Michigan
    Posts
    142

    Default

    You will want to hook them up to a receiver and run a Y RCA cord (headphone jack on one in left/right RCA on the other end) from you headphone out on the laptop to a left/right RCA input on the receiver. If you have a boom box or some kind of integrated stereo you can hook it up that way to those too. That is the basic setup. I have used my laptop and a big Panasonic boom box I picked up at Sams club in my warehouse.

    More audiophile setups include a USB DAC to a preamp to an amp to the speakers. Or DAC integrated amp, like a peachtree.
    System:
    Samsung LN46C630
    Receiver: Yamaha RX-V1
    DVD/Blu: Denon 2910/Playstation 3
    Front mains: RT16
    Front presence: F/X 500i
    Center: CS400
    Rear surrounds: RT1000p
    Rear center: RT7
    Subwoofer: PSW505 X 2

    2 Channel
    Marantz 2252B
    Technics SL-Q2 turntable
    Kef Q50

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Pontiac Michigan
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Oh yeah you can pick up the RCA cable at Radioshack or online at monoprice.

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

    They are available in different lengths, when using a laptop I'll use a 10 -25 foot cable so I can stretch it across the room and keep the laptop at easy reach.
    System:
    Samsung LN46C630
    Receiver: Yamaha RX-V1
    DVD/Blu: Denon 2910/Playstation 3
    Front mains: RT16
    Front presence: F/X 500i
    Center: CS400
    Rear surrounds: RT1000p
    Rear center: RT7
    Subwoofer: PSW505 X 2

    2 Channel
    Marantz 2252B
    Technics SL-Q2 turntable
    Kef Q50

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North of New Orleans
    Posts
    3,313

    Default

    I would recommend using a small amp such as the Dayton APA150 150W Power Amplifier from Parts Express. http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=300-812
    I have one of these that I use along with an Adcom pre-amp for my kitchen TV and radio.

    Although, I've haven't tried it, you may want to give the Dayton DTA-100a 50 WPC Class-T digital amplifier a try. Parts Express says it will be back in stock on Dec. 10th.
    http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=300-383
    Last edited by xcapri79; 11-29-2010 at 11:11 PM.

    Main HT/2 ch:
    Pioneer SC-07, BDP-05FD, Emotiva XPA-5 x 2, XPA-1 x 2,
    Polk Audio LSi25, RTi12 x 2, LSi15 x 4, LSiC x 2, PSW1000 x 4,

    MB HT/ 2 ch:
    LG 47LM5800, Pioneer SC-1523, BDP-23FD, Sony BDP-S790, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5,
    Polk Audio LSi25,15, CSi5, LSiFX, PSW505 x 4

    Listening Room 2 ch:
    McIntosh MC162, MC202, C15, C41, C42, MA6500, MA6900, MCD201
    Emotiva RSP-2, RPA-1, ERC-2
    Adcom GCD 750, GFP 750, GFA 5802
    Polk Audio LSi7,9, 15

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Pontiac Michigan
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xcapri79 View Post

    Although, I've haven't tried it, you may want to give the Dayton DTA-100a 50 WPC Class-T digital amplifier a try. Parts Express says it will be back in stock on Dec. 10th.
    http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=300-383
    Xcapri, would the laptop send enough signal for the Dayton to use it without a pre?
    System:
    Samsung LN46C630
    Receiver: Yamaha RX-V1
    DVD/Blu: Denon 2910/Playstation 3
    Front mains: RT16
    Front presence: F/X 500i
    Center: CS400
    Rear surrounds: RT1000p
    Rear center: RT7
    Subwoofer: PSW505 X 2

    2 Channel
    Marantz 2252B
    Technics SL-Q2 turntable
    Kef Q50

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North of New Orleans
    Posts
    3,313

    Default

    The laptop earphone output does supply enough for the Dayton APA150 150W power amplifier for moderate level output, but not a loud output. Adding a preamp in between will provide a loud output.

    The DTA-100a appears to me to be more intended for connection of an MP3 player or CD or a laptop, so that's why I suggested it as a possible solution, but as I said, I've not actually tried it.

    I have traditionally used a stereo receiver or a 5.1 channel receiver with a PC based system for external speakers. One of the Sherwood stereo receivers may be one's best bet for a low price.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,033

    Default

    I'm just wondering if the OP just plain bought the wrong speakers for his laptop. Doesn't appear he was in for buying all the add on's to accomadate regular speakers.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Connecting a monitor 30 to a laptop

    Perhaps he might like computer speakers. Logitech and Altec Lansing are 2 brands. Some come with a small subwoofer. Usually there are 2 (or more)small satellite speakers. I have the Altec Lansing with 2 satellites. I cut the wire on the one without the power on switch (a small two strand wire ran to it) about 6 inches from the speaker. Then I stripped the insulation (on the wire coming from the sub) and connnected in one small polk bookshelf to replace the small satellite. It helped the midrange significantly, but I like the sound through receivers better, so I use computer speakers infrequently.

    I think the solution depends on the individual and the space they have available.

    For much better sound quality, use a receiver as described by a previous entry. I bought the RCA to 1/8" PC connector cable inexpensively at Walmart. I think it was about $5. I have one of these connnected to each of my receivers to connect in mp3 players. He could acquire a used receiver on Craigslist for $20.00 on up. I've seen Pioneers on sale for $30 recently in Denver.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Wires to connect Vintage Monitor Towers?
    By Hylas in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 04:08 PM
  2. How to wire/connect a monitor tv?
    By digitalvideo in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 11:43 PM
  3. How do you connect your sub?
    By mr2sw21 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 09:23 PM
  4. Lan connect from Laptop to Lan Printer?
    By disneyjoe7 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 09:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts