Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Member Sales Rating: (0)

Default Best cheap network music player with FLAC support?

I have a hard drive almost full of flac files now...and I'm sick of using my computer's HDMI out as the means to play them through my system. My Seagate Theater (that I bought only to stream Netflix) will access and play the files through the network but it's clumsy, slow and most annoyingly it leaves gaps between tracks. It also requires the TV to be on for me to see what's happening and offers no album art or visuals to make it interesting. (Plus I have a plasma and I'm not a fan of image retention and screen burn.)

I'm new to this network music player thing so the only name that I know is Squeezebox, but it's a little on the expensive side for me right now after having just upgraded all of my speakers and my receiver. Are there other viable options that are less expensive, or should I just hold out until I can afford to spend more?

What are some of the other players?
    Is the gap between tracks thing a common issue with them? It's really annoying when listening to stuff like Dark Side Of The Moon!

I would say just wait and save up for a Squeezebox Classic - those tend to cost less. Plus if you have an iPhone/Ipod Touch or Android phone, you can use that to control it and it's easier to get to your songs that way. The Classic has a remote, but no touch screen like the Touch - but I feel like the Touch is a bit buggy in comparison.

I haven't noticed gaps b/t tracks in albums (like you mentioned, DSOT) ..but I can check on that tonight. I know there are crossfading options, but I'm guessing there is probably a gapless playback plugin as well (I haven't looked yet).

So yeah..I'd say save up. You'll be happier in the long run. The other caveat is that you'll need a computer or NAS running the squeezebox server software.
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(