Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default For those of you interested in PC tweaking

    I like to tweak and overclock my pc, for fun... performance what not, I have a Nforce 2 board and a amd XP 1600+ processor, which is a 1.4 or 1400 mhz, well after a day and a half i got it where i like it, works and stable... heres the cpuid chart.. notice system bus at 320, and the processor speed, not bad 283 mhz faster then stock... anyways.. anyone else into this??
    Attached Images  
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    871

    Default Re: For those of you interested in PC tweaking

    Originally posted by faster100
    I like to tweak and overclock my pc, for fun... performance what not, I have a Nforce 2 board and a amd XP 1600+ processor, which is a 1.4 or 1400 mhz, well after a day and a half i got it where i like it, works and stable... heres the cpuid chart.. notice system bus at 320, and the processor speed, not bad 283 mhz faster then stock... anyways.. anyone else into this??
    Hi Faster100,

    Planning on assembling a new pc come Sept. Are these tweaks via the bios and jumpers? Any extra cooling hardware needed?

    I'm was actually contemplating a htpc application so ironically, I might be into underclocking. :) I noticed you have the Nforce 2 board. Is that the one with the new Soundstorm chipset? Any opinions on the quality of the sound? I'm weighing the possibility of using a soundstorm equiped board in lieu of a Audigy2.

    It's gotten very confusing since I last assembled a pc.


    regards

    Dave
    Time is the best teacher. Unfortunately it kills all its students.

  3. #3
    Stronzo
    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Over Yonder
    Posts
    7,883

    Default

    It is not difficult to over clock an AMD processor. So long as your ram has the speed (400 mhz) and the gusto to compinsate for the extra demand, and you have proper heat sinks and cooling.. your golden.

    I wont try it anytime soon, have no need to.

    Congrats on your success however.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    Oh its not need, more like want.. i think it is the sound storm chip.
    Its all in fun, as a 1400 mhz aint no slouch, but its fun to do, actually right now i have 2 sticks of DDR ram, one pc2100(266) and one pc2700 (333) i need to get a matched set, so another pc2700 is in order, Its a dual channel memory board so when you run a matched set speed wise, one in slot 1 and another in slot 3 it runs in dual mode, even faster.. I havent even unlocked the procesor yet. Its pure front side bus overclock. 160 fsb x10.5 which is the locked multiplier, once unlocked... i can change the divider from 10.5x to what ever i want.. like 10 x175 fsb and so on, I am useing the onboard video for now which is a Gforce mx4 @ 128 megs of system DDR ram.. works great!! sound i don't use much exceopt for my few games i play like the old quake 3, via online gaming.. No need to underclock as you can't have to much speed, you can just get a amd duron at like 1200 or smaller if you can find them, I have used just about every size from 500 -1400 as of late.. i want a AMD xp 2400 w/barton core.. only one bridge to close to unlock instead of the 5 bridges on this XP classic..


    also i use a thermaltake volcano 6cu+ with 7000 rpm fan and copper core inside the base..
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    871

    Default

    Ugh!! Unlocked? multipliers?!? ddr,
    Acronym overload... must... read... about... woodchuck stew... ;)

    I think this is going to be a very interesting upgrade this fall...
    I heard a while ago to keep things cool and quiet, you could underclock the processor and such. Perhaps that philosophy has gone by the wayside.

    Which motherboard do you have? I've been looking at the
    ASUS A7N8X DELUXE but who knows? It might be obsolete by Sept...

    There's a site www.mini-itx.com which has some sweet looking cases and tiny motherboards. Looks a bit underpowered for serious gaming or computing but some of the systems would not look out of place in a HT rig. Probably won't go that route as I would still need it to VPN into work and number crunch.

    Have fun with the overclocking.

    Dave
    Time is the best teacher. Unfortunately it kills all its students.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    OH i plan to build a mini itex, however its for fun, not for power. maybe online surfing, maybe HT who knows..

    Far as my mobo, Its a MSI k7n2g Nforce2.. I'm fooling with it as we speak, I need the xp2400 processor, easier to unlock, i think i did to much glueing and scratching on this 1600+ and now i can't get this one to unlock, so it still works at the above speed just no more..

    Asus is top on my list of mobo makers, But this time the price kept me away and i tried this microstar board...

    The a7n8x is a great board if you want to try the Nforce chipset.. Which right now is a top performer..
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5,849

    Default

    Originally posted by faster100
    Its a dual channel memory board so when you run a matched set speed wise, one in slot 1 and another in slot 3 it runs in dual mode, even faster..
    I thought that it was slots 1 and 2.

    Congrats on your overclock. I can't even raise the FSB on my 2100+ without it crapping out on me. I don't know what's wrong, but it absolutely refuses to overclock.

    nadams
    Ludicrous gibs!

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Phone - I built mine on the ASUS P4S8X and it is rock solid. I have been real happy with the ASUS. Definetly get the Live BIOS option, it really takes the headache and worry about updating BIOS.

    Faster - Cool deal man, looks like you are pushing some heat in that puppy! :)

    I overclocked my video card, and tweaked the memory for my mobo, but not much else yet. I plan to, just havn't had any time.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    Originally posted by nadams
    I thought that it was slots 1 and 2.

    nadams
    No, on this board 1 & 2 are purple and 3 is green (slot color) it says to run one in each, 1 & 3 or i think 2 & 3 also...
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401

    Default

    So is this something I can do on my Vic 20?
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    what's a vic 20, and maybe i can help??
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    Originally posted by RuSsMaN
    Vic 20
    Nah i think not LOL
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    The Daddy of the Commodore 64.....damn that computer brings back memories........very slow memories :)

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    871

    Default

    Originally posted by RuSsMaN
    So is this something I can do on my Vic 20?
    http://www.mini-itx.com/projects/c64/

    Same idea...
    :D

    Dave
    Time is the best teacher. Unfortunately it kills all its students.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    545

    Default

    Originally posted by faster100
    what's a vic 20, and maybe i can help??
    BWAHAHAH.. Sincere, or just joking?

    :p

    Anyway, I've been building my own PC's for about 6 years now. I'm a bit of an Intel bitch (long story about my luck w/ AMD procs)

    The current rig is a P4 2.5GHz OC'd to 2.66 GHz cooled w/ a AlphaNovaTech 8942T Heatsink, 1 GB of Kingston PC1066 RamBUS RIMM memory on a Gigabyte 8IHXP (Intel 850E). Dual Ultra133 60GB Maxtor 7200 RPM drives configured in a RAID 0 strip set + another 80GB U133 7200 drive for a total of 200GB of storage, NVidia GeForce 4 4600, SB Audigy 2, Samsung SyncMaster 191T, & Windows XP Professional.

    Currently I'm running my FSB at a stable 140Hz (Quad pumped that's 560Hz). If i want to go higher, i need to start playing around with the CPU core voltage. ( haven't got the balls for that yet)

    Tony
    Attached Images  
    Damn....8 lines...I've gotta put my sig on a diet now....

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    seccond star to the right and strait on to morning
    Posts
    2,795

    Default

    i am about to get a new msi nforce 2 bord and a amd 2500 i allready have a gig of 2700 and i am going to get a wd raptor 10,000 rpm sata drive i am getting a smaller case and olny going to put 3 drives in the case not the 4 i have now. with the new msi mobo i will be able to do dobby 5.1 with its bult in digital out and alot of other features. plus i allways buy a 100 or a 150 buck prossor then i can upgrade more offen than if i get the top of the line and also you can get mutipil comps so you can use 1 for file shareing server and the other one for games movies.
    Gonzo's World
    BenQ 8700+
    115in screen
    PS3,X-Box 360 and Wii
    Sunfire Theater Grand III
    ADCOM GFA-7607
    four avalanch 18 subs 26.12l of displacement
    Crown xti 4000

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    Originally posted by TonyPTX
    BWAHAHAH.. Sincere, or just joking?

    :p

    Anyway, I've been building my own PC's for about 6 years now. I'm a bit of an Intel bitch (long story about my luck w/ AMD procs)


    Tony

    Damm son, That thing is getting it, 2660 mhz.. :D
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    6,245

    Default

    I'm having such a ****ty day today, i'm glad its over!!

    last night i head to the bedroom, switch on the ol computer, nothing, try it again, nothing.. I take the side panel off(screws were out as usual) before i get it off, smoke... we got a fire or atleast a few caps poping.. smoke, stink, electrical smoke stinks big time, So i yank the power cord, and the molex plugs inside, trying to save everything inside... Today i test the cpu in my main machine, Nothing!! i think it fried the whole rig.. Damm it!! I call the company i got the power supply from and they say, "sure we will replace the psu, But not the motherboard, cpu... I bought them at another store.. so its off to try and get them replaced tomorrow.. sheesh, then my ceiling fan feel out of the ceiling today out in my computer room, broke the wires off and its a big mess, old house with cloth wiring crumbleing in my hands.. time for an electrician.. We just rent now so they better get someone out here asap.. before this place burns down... sheesh what a day!!!
    MY HT RIG:
    Sherwood p-965
    Sherwood sd871 dvd
    Rotel 1075 amp x5
    LSI15 mains
    LsiC center
    LSIfx surround backs
    Lsi7 side surrounds
    SVS pb12/plus2


    2 Channel Rig:

    nad 1020 Pre-amp
    Rotel 1080 stereo amp
    Polk sda 2B
    kenwood grunt Tuner
    realistic lab 450 TT
    Signal cable IC

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    545

    Default

    I'd try to just replace the PSU first. Unless there is physical/visible damage to the mobo. Frying procs is one of the main reasons I avoid AMD procs. Back in the day, if you didn't have that damn heat sink exactly right and the right amount of thermal grease applied, those T-birds would go up in a puff of smoke. Reminds me of an old saying,

    "Electronics are powered by grey/white smoke. When the smoke is released by the electronics, it ceases to function properly"

    Originally posted by faster100
    Damm son, That thing is getting it, 2660 mhz..
    And she tells me I still can't keep up w/ her...
    Damn....8 lines...I've gotta put my sig on a diet now....

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    'burb of Detroit
    Posts
    3,042

    Default

    You guys need a computer like mine. It's never smoked and only about 8 yrs old. Someday I'll replace my 1.6g HD with the 40g HD I bought awhile back. Right now my system won't recognize it.
    Make it Funky! :)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts