Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bushwood, GA.
    Posts
    1,716

    Default Want to connect laptop to projector....

    .....so should I just run a 2nd HDMI cable to the projector (with the first HDMI cable to the AVR), or should I run it through the AVR....and what cables / connections will I need?
    Home Theater (5.1)
    Optoma HD-25LV PJ
    Pioneer SC-63 AVR
    Pioneer BDP-95F
    Parasound HCA 1205
    Monster 2500 Power
    Polk RTIa9
    Polk CSIa6
    Polk FXIa6
    Polk DSW 600

    Music Setup
    Polk LSiM703s
    Music Hall A70.2 Integrated
    Music Hall 25.3 DAC
    Cambridge 640 v2 CDP
    Yamaha T-1 Tuner

  2. #2
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,533

    Default

    Computer-> AVR->PJ.

    Is the PJ your only display device? You would need two HDMI cables.

    My setup is HTPC to AVR. AVR has two HDMI outs, one to LCD TV and another to the PJ. Does your laptop have HDMI?
    Last edited by jinjuku; 01-03-2011 at 04:02 PM.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bushwood, GA.
    Posts
    1,716

    Default

    PJ will be only display. The laptop has plenty of USB ports and 1 of those 7- pin plugs with the 2 screws (RS-232c connector?). The AVR's owner manual states:
    "RS-232C connector
    Use for connection to a PC for graphical output when
    using Advanced MCACC or Full Band Phase Control."

    I am assumming I can just connect the RS-232C connector from the laptop to the AVR, and then just run an HDMI cable from AVR to PJ (?)
    Home Theater (5.1)
    Optoma HD-25LV PJ
    Pioneer SC-63 AVR
    Pioneer BDP-95F
    Parasound HCA 1205
    Monster 2500 Power
    Polk RTIa9
    Polk CSIa6
    Polk FXIa6
    Polk DSW 600

    Music Setup
    Polk LSiM703s
    Music Hall A70.2 Integrated
    Music Hall 25.3 DAC
    Cambridge 640 v2 CDP
    Yamaha T-1 Tuner

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    2,018

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kevhed72 View Post
    PJ will be only display. The laptop has plenty of USB ports and 1 of those 7- pin plugs with the 2 screws (RS-232c connector?). The AVR's owner manual states:
    "RS-232C connector
    Use for connection to a PC for graphical output when
    using Advanced MCACC or Full Band Phase Control."

    I am assumming I can just connect the RS-232C connector from the laptop to the AVR, and then just run an HDMI cable from AVR to PJ (?)
    RS-232 is a COM (communication) port, which doesn't have much to do with video output. You need either VGA (15-pin blue connector, analog), DVI (white connector, digital) or HDMI (digital). Of course, you can also use a yellow composite connector or S-video connector - both are analog, and won't give you more than 480i.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,533

    Default

    What is the laptop make and model#?

    The 232 port is primarily for automation controls.
    Last edited by jinjuku; 01-04-2011 at 01:26 PM.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kevhed72 View Post
    "RS-232C connector
    Use for connection to a PC for graphical output when
    using Advanced MCACC or Full Band Phase Control."
    What Pioneer is saying is you can run MCACC and have a PC connected with their software installed via RS232 and see graphically what their room correction software did on the AVR.

    The Pioneer software will query the AVR over the 232 and pull that data and show it to you graphically.

    Pretty cool stuff actually like waterfall plots, phase, correction etc...

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    2,018

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jinjuku View Post
    What Pioneer is saying is you can run MCACC and have a PC connected with their software installed via RS232 and see graphically what their room correction software did on the AVR.

    The Pioneer software will query the AVR over the 232 and pull that data and show it to you graphically.

    Pretty cool stuff actually like waterfall plots, phase, correction etc...
    I'm sure that he wants to do exactly that... We have done some weird stuff with RS-232 including video runs at my previous job at NASA...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Connect Monitor 30 to laptop
    By sash86 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 05:28 PM
  2. How do you connect your sub?
    By mr2sw21 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 09:23 PM
  3. Can you connect?.....
    By 1lakerfan in forum Speakers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2007, 11:58 PM
  4. Lan connect from Laptop to Lan Printer?
    By disneyjoe7 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 09:55 PM
  5. How to connect a 4 ohm sub
    By propman07 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-31-2005, 06:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts