Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: OPPO BDP 83se

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wheatfield, Kansas
    Posts
    1,477

    Default OPPO BDP 83se

    Just got this in today used with hopes of a great movie experience this evening. I have an 83 but wanted an 83se for the analog upgrade. (I didn't send mine in so I could either keep or sell it).

    Hopefully, you can save me a couple hours of troubleshooting. I cannot get video to display with either HDMI or Component. Without a disc, I don't get the OPPO logo and cannot bring up the Setup Menu. I get the bluish screen but extremely distorted with diagonal lines. Like a 1950's CRT.

    When a disc is inserted, I get a greyish screen with black horizontal lines.

    I have tried both the OPPO HDMI cable that came with the new unit and mine from the 83. If the video output was set different to 1080p instead of my TV's 1080i, I should still be able to bring up the Setup Menu.

    The HDMI input does seem a wee bit loose...and I will see if I can screw it down tighter.

    Ideas? Thanks a lot.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,177

    Default

    I've seen that kind of 1950's CRT jagged diagonal lines before when I had my dvd player setting set to interlace instead of progressive scan,but you've already tried both of the settings on your tv. Keep trying the HDMI connection,keep us informed.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (25)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,992

    Default

    Try doing a reboot, unplug it while its turned on.



    REGARDS SNOW
    Well, I just pulled off the impossible by doing a double-blind comparison all by myself, purely by virtue of the fact that I completely and stupidly forgot what I did last. I guess that getting old does have its advantages after all :D

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wheatfield, Kansas
    Posts
    1,477

    Default

    I knew it would be simple. I talked to the seller....great guy. He remembered that he had the bdp output set to 1080p. So, I used a composite cable connection to bring up the setup menu and put output to 1081 and made a couple other changes, and all is good/great.

    Then I noticed (which I knew once) that in the lower left of the remote, you can adjust the resolution on the bdp and I would not have needed to go through the composite connection.

    thanks...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Oppo 83se
    By NeilGabriel in forum Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 04:13 PM
  2. SOLD Oppo BDP-83SE
    By DMara in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 10:19 AM
  3. FYI OPPO BDP-83 Refurb direct from OPPO for $415
    By Lasareath in forum Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 10:16 AM
  4. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-24-2010, 10:34 AM
  5. Review "My bloddy Valentine 3D" on my Oppo BDP-83SE.
    By Bernal in forum Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-15-2010, 12:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts