Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Lopatcong Twp., NJ
    Posts
    571

    Default Networking / Cabling Question

    This is probably a relatively dumb question, but I need to ask.

    I received a Blu-Ray player for Christmas and it is not one I would have picked for myself (but I never turn down free stuff). Problem is, it is not wireless and therefore requires a network cable.

    I need to run a network cable of approx 50' through my basement from the home office to the area behind the TV. This will be terminated with jacks behind the router & TV.

    My question is how to wire the CAT5e jacks? Do I use 568A or 568B type configuration? The 568B seems to be more common.
    Oh, you hate your job? Why didn't you say so? There's a support
    group for that. It's called EVERYBODY, and they meet at the bar.
    -Drew Carey

    There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness."
    -Unknown

    My DVD Collection

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    At the golf course eating mushrooms!
    Posts
    1,254

    Default

    Problem solved 50' Cat 5E for $10

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    1,392

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gimpod View Post
    Problem solved 50' Cat 5E for $10
    Or http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...=10208#1020812
    Gears shared to both living room & bedroom:
    Integra DHC-80.3 / Oppo BDP-105 / DirecTV HR24 DVR /APC S15blk PC-UPS
    Living room:
    LSiM707's / LSiM706c / LSiM702 F/X's / dual JL Audio Fathom F113's / Parasound Halo A51 / Panasonic 65" TC-P65VT50
    Bedroom:
    Usher Dancer Mini 2 Diamond DMD's / Logitech SB Touch / W4S STP-SE / W4S DAC-2 / W4S ST-1000 / Samsung 52" LN52B750
    Other rooms:
    Audioengine AP4's / GLOW Audio Sub One / audio-gd NFB-3 DAC / Audioengine N22
    audio-gd NFB-10.2 / Denon AH-D7000

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    920

    Default

    It doesn't matter which pinout you use as long as you use the same at both ends. 568B is more common now, I've heard folks say that A was used because the two middle pairs are more consistent (and thus backward compatible) with 2-line phone hardware. But if it's just a point-to-point run between two wall jacks then that's not a consideration for you.

    Also, unless there's a big price difference, I'd go with Cat6 cable over Cat5e. The Cat6 and 5e jacks are pretty similar and having used both I'm not sure I see a big enough difference to justify the extra expense there. But Cat6 cable has a strong nylon spline that runs through the center of the cable that Cat5e doesn't. If you have to pull it at all, that spline will add strength to the cable overall and help insure the twists in the wire pairs don't get out of wack. I'd say in that case it is worth the extra money especially for something high bandwidth like streaming video if your Blu-Ray supports that. And if you think you need 50' then I'd be safe and buy 75' or 100'. At the monoprice prices, it's cheap insurance.
    Last edited by On3s&Z3r0s; 01-24-2011 at 08:05 PM. Reason: note about Cat6 cable

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I believe "568A" was residential, but you can use either. If you have an "A" at one end of a cable and a "B" at the other, the cable is a crossover (an old fashioned way of connecting two computers without a hub or switch).

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    I just did the same thing. I used these: No special tools, just a screw driver and wire strippers
    http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

    thread:
    http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?t=110712

    Fairly certain this was the way I wired it:
    OrangeStripe <--> Blue
    OrangeSolid <--> Orange
    GreenStripe <--> Black
    BlueSolid <--> Red
    BlueStripe <--> Green
    GreenSolid <--> Yellow
    BrownStripe <--> Brown
    BrownSolid <--> White (or gray)
    -Cody
    Last edited by exalted512; 01-24-2011 at 08:34 PM.
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512 View Post
    I just did the same thing. I used these: No special tools, just a screw driver and wire strippers
    http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

    Fairly certain this was the way I wired it:
    OrangeStripe <--> Blue
    OrangeSolid <--> Orange
    GreenStripe <--> Black
    BlueSolid <--> Red
    BlueStripe <--> Green
    GreenSolid <--> Yellow
    BrownStripe <--> Brown
    BrownSolid <--> White (or gray)
    -Cody
    How does that work? It sounds like it has screw terminals. I like how the marketing says it "supports Cat5e or Cat6e(?!?)" cabling. That's kind of like saying "supports anything with eight little wires" as I'm sure that's not Cat6 certified.

    It can be a little tricky to terminate your own walljacks, and you definitely need one special tool, a spring loaded punchdown tool like this: http://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Punch.../dp/B0000AZK4D. You can also get non-impact versions at any Home Depot that are about $6, and then you'll have to trim the wire ends manually.

    If you don't have those and can make a pre-terminated 50' cable work for your run, your better bet is probably one of these keystone couplers:
    http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-R6D011-.../dp/B00006HTTE

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    It does have screw terminals. Strip the wire back, slide it in the right hole, screw it down with a small flat head. Done.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,302

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512 View Post
    It does have screw terminals. Strip the wire back, slide it in the right hole, screw it down with a small flat head. Done.
    -Cody
    Sounds easy enough when you don't have Ethernet Cabling tools.


    I use 568B all the time.

    Some rooms in my house I have wall plates and some I just have ethernet cables coming out of holes in the wall. Like behind my TV and in my one of my Audio closets because nobody is going to see them anyways. Why waste my time to put in a jack.
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512 View Post
    It does have screw terminals. Strip the wire back, slide it in the right hole, screw it down with a small flat head. Done.
    -Cody
    Hmmm... I'd still recommend against it unless the OP also happens to be doing a coax run from his office to his HT. The punchdown keystone jacks are really not all that hard to wire and the color coding on them totally matches up with the color coding on the UTP wires so there's no keeping track of what you hooked up to the black screw terminal, etc. I'm not saying it wouldn't work... I'm sure it does, just saying in this case it seems like a workaround for a non-problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lasareath View Post
    ...Some rooms in my house I have wall plates and some I just have ethernet cables coming out of holes in the wall. Like behind my TV and in my one of my Audio closets because nobody is going to see them anyways. Why waste my time to put in a jack.
    True 'dat. Unless pretty is that important, one of the 50' preterminated straight through patch cables will work even better if you just run it from the router in the home office right through to the BDP without putting jacks in the walls. That's what I do with my surround speaker cables to avoid having extra jacks in the signal path. The same principle applies here.

    To be fair though, a full Cat6 GigE connection in your wall is overkill even for video streaming over Ethernet. For example, if your BDP has Netflix on it the chokepoint is your cable or DSL modem, so gigabit ethernet inside your house doesn't matter so much.
    Last edited by On3s&Z3r0s; 01-24-2011 at 09:54 PM.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    That's what my home is wired with. Seems to me any other way is unnecessary unless you do it a lot. Saves money and time from not having to buy a tool you'll use once then waste time looking for it when you need it again. I always know where my screw driver is.

    The coax is the same, its just the ethernet that doesnt need a special tool.
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    I also use 568B wiring, running 5e cable 1gig wired network.

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512 View Post
    ... I always know where my screw driver is.
    LOL... this statement alone tells me you're way more organized than I am. I know for sure I'd lose the piece of paper where I wrote down what color wire was associated with what color terminal on that jack and every time I wanted to add one I'd be ripping a wall apart. But I hear ya, there's a knack to the punchdown thing. I'm sure I did half a dozen over at least once before I got the hang of it (good lesson to always leave a foot of slack at each end of your cable!)

    And as far as the coax goes I just meant since this is point to point the OP would potentially end up with a dead coax terminal at one or both ends if he didn't need to run coax there. Anyway, I give... whatever works. I'm sure the OP has more information than he wanted at this point.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Well, my TV is where my coax cable is...I'm still on cable anyway. So it made sense for me to not make another hole in the wall for a separate jack.

    It also allowed me to use the existing coax to help me run the wires through the wall. There was enough slack to where I could pull it tight, then tape the cat5 to the coax, and pull it back down through the wall...couldnt be easier.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bridgeton NJ
    Posts
    4,384

    Default

    Why not just buy a device that plugs into your br player and grabs wireless signal? Plenty of them out there.
    HT setup
    Dynex 40 inch tv
    Denon DBP-1610
    Monster HTS 1650
    Pioneer Elite VSX-81TXV
    Carver A400X
    MIT Exp 3 Speaker Wire
    Martin Logan Aerius
    Apple Tv 2nd Gen
    Logitech Harmony One Advanced Remote

    Living Room
    63 inch Samsung PN63C800YF
    Polk Surroundbar 3000
    Samsung BD-C7900

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,302

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigaudiofanatic View Post
    Why not just buy a device that plugs into your br player and grabs wireless signal? Plenty of them out there.

    Do they all accept wirless usb cards?

    I bought one for my Mom's Tivo but it was made by Tivo.
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigaudiofanatic View Post
    Why not just buy a device that plugs into your br player and grabs wireless signal? Plenty of them out there.
    For me, the adapter was more than buying the stuff I needed to wire it. Besides, if you're streaming Netflix or something, I'd rather have a wired connection.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Most of them do have USB ports on the back that support a USB wireless adapter, but you'd want to check the manufacturer's website to make sure you were buying one that was compatible if you went that route. In that case, you'd want to look into a Draft N USB adapter, and if you didn't already have a Draft N wireless router, then you'd need that or ideally a dual band N router to support video streaming. If you don't already have that stuff, this is by far the most expensive option.

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Lopatcong Twp., NJ
    Posts
    571

    Default

    Thanks for all the replys.

    I already have a 50' ethernet cable that I ran through the rooms temporarily for the initial install of the BDP for the firmware update. I can get 95% of the material from work and plan on using the 50' cable, just re-terminating the ends. Wall jacks are definitey more astecially pleasing to the wife.

    Good info on the streaming video though, I have a DSL modem and would be curious to see how it performs (Our cable system sucks for internet, hence the DSL connection. Very reliable, though.).
    Oh, you hate your job? Why didn't you say so? There's a support
    group for that. It's called EVERYBODY, and they meet at the bar.
    -Drew Carey

    There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness."
    -Unknown

    My DVD Collection

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    I have a wireless WDS network running. Basically any routers that are capable of running DD-WRT can be turned into a distribution point at another point in the home. And you can get DD-WRT compatible routers for as little as $20.

    True, if you are doing wireless streaming from a local computer in 1080P it could be an issue, but not with Netflix which is compressed. The cable modem or DSL modem will bottleneck much sooner than even a G network.

    Still, if you do not mind the hassle of cabling, that is always the most reliable.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,539

    Default

    Nifty network wiring trick:
    If you don't have a punchdown tool, you can use the back side of a boxcutter blade, then just trim off the excess with the sharp side. I would not recommend this for repeated punchdowns on the same jack/patchpanel since you'll eventually bend it, but if you only do it once, it works fine.
    Gallo Ref 3.1 : Bryston 4b SST : Musical fidelity CD Pre : VPI HW-19
    Gallo Ref AV, Frankengallo Ref 3, LC60i : Bryston 9b SST : Meridian 565
    Jordan JX92s : MF X-T100 : Xray v8
    Backburner:Krell KAV-300i

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Networking Question
    By bigaudiofanatic in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 11:59 AM
  2. wireless networking question
    By PhantomOG in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 03:43 PM
  3. wireless networking question
    By PhantomOG in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 03-12-2009, 10:58 AM
  4. Sound Deadener & Cabling Question
    By frosty2k in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-17-2008, 10:54 AM
  5. Help - Vista Networking question...
    By AsSiMiLaTeD in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-18-2008, 04:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts