Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Soundbar IHT 6000 Problem sound cuts off

    I just got a soundbar IHT 6000 and hooked it all up with the 3 wires.

    The bar turns on for a second or two and then just stops outputting sound. While the sound is on, it sounds good and can be muted and turned up or down, but once it stops, the only way to get it back is to turn off the power and turn it back on and then it does it again. The source light is lit blue and blinks after it cuts out.

    I have tried the audio cable in both my toshiba tv and my tivo box and it does the same thing with both.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, VA
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I am assuming you are using the Digital Optical Connection.

    I have noticed that the blue source light seems to blink when it is struggling with the signal. Have you replaced the optical cable or tried a shorter one?

    It could be the optical cable it also not plugged in all the way at either end or something is damaged. Really hard to day. Have you tried it using the analog connection?

    Just a few thoughts off the top of my head. I own the same model and have noticed this happens at times with my Gen 2 Apple TV. The sound never cuts out, but it does blink at times.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erspence View Post
    I just got a soundbar IHT 6000 and hooked it all up with the 3 wires.

    The bar turns on for a second or two and then just stops outputting sound. While the sound is on, it sounds good and can be muted and turned up or down, but once it stops, the only way to get it back is to turn off the power and turn it back on and then it does it again. The source light is lit blue and blinks after it cuts out.

    I have tried the audio cable in both my toshiba tv and my tivo box and it does the same thing with both.

    Any suggestions?
    I have the same problem the only difference was my soundbar will work for about 10 min.
    I sent my soundbar in for repair. I'll keep you posted.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Update:
    Finally got the Tech to look at my 6000. The main board is somehow over heating and it's shutting off the audio. It will need to be replaced. They have to buy it from Polk for $90 bucks.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default The right thread.....

    I have the soundbar 6000 and mine is shutting off also after 10 - 15 minutes. I just sent an email to the tech support. I hope i don't have the same overheating problem.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,271

    Default

    I suggest you call instead.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I'm having the same problem here. The cut out time is between 10 seconds to a couple of minutes. Sometimes it just switches itself off while the TV was still on. Funny thing is, when it cuts out, I switch the TV channel from HD to SD which "awakes" the sound bar, then I switch it back to HD channel again and it works. Only to stay on for another 5-10 minutes until it cuts itself out again.

    I tried using analogue input such as an iPod but the same thing happens. The only constant is the optical jack. There is absolutely no sound when connected to HDTV channels. But it roars when connected to SD and analogue channels. The output level from the optical source is way, WAY, louder than those from the mini plugs. It changes from 60 dB (like people talking) from the mini plug sources, to 100 dB (like a lawn mower at 3 feet) if turned to optical source. Loud enough to wake every sleeping body in your house, and in your neighbors house. To remember to adjust the volume level when changing source is something I did not expect from this product.

    All along, I thought that the issue was with my Sony TV until I found this thread today. I'll call to have it looked at.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    How many ppl are asking for help here guys? If you have an issue, you need to raise you hand over the next guy.

    One, don't have multiple connections for signal input on the SB6K. You only need the optical. If you're using the alternative, we'll cover that later. Ensure it's secure and also that your source is enabled for Optical output. The length doesn't matter here but a good cable would....not an aftermarket perse but the included cable does suck. A quality brand of optical cable that isn't a plastic optical fiber will help.

    The problem with HDTV channels sounds like a source problem since it works otherwise.

    The cutout problem sounds like a cable issue as its related to signal strength and output from the source.

    If your source light, blue, is blinking, there is a connectivity problem. Check your cables guys and try another source if at all possible or easy to do so. The Surround Bar 3000 is a troubleshooting nightmare but the SB6K has really been a dream to work issues on as its usually simple and easily fixed.

    I'll be on for the next few days to assist as best as I can until we can get some more hardcore support from Polk HQ. I'm in Customer Service for Polk and a lot of these problems are user end related. I'm not pointing fingers, just saying that we can work it out guys.

    Happy Turkey Day! and get back to us here on the forum.

    -Mark

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hello. I've only had my SB 6000 for about one week. I've connected it to a DIRECTV HD receiver using the optical line. The sound stops for no apparent reason. The unit has to be manually turned off using the on / off toggle underneath before it starts working again. This happens with no warning and at no particular time. Seems as if it gets tired and stops working. The unit lights show that it is working properly. I guess I'll take it back to the store and trade it in for something that works.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Soundbar 6000 Not Responding
    By Audio2Go in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 04:27 PM
  2. Need Help Soundbar 6000 Remote Signal Strength
    By erika1082 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2011, 12:30 PM
  3. Need Help soundbar 6000
    By georgemcky in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-25-2011, 04:38 PM
  4. Need Help Soundbar 6000
    By diegobob in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2010, 11:03 PM
  5. Sound cuts out only when I make right hand turns
    By Uncle Ruckus in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 08:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts