Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default soundbar 3000 cuts out

    My soundbar 3000 will inexplicably cut out Just as inexplicably the sound will resume Search and faq's have failed to correct the problem. I have sent an e-mail support request, but have had poor results previously {not with Polk Audio} hoping Polk Audio surprises

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    we are having the same problem as JeffN. We receive static when we switch channels, and occasionally while watching a channel, the soundbar volume goes out without our doing anything. If we switch channels and return to the original channel, the volume is ON again. We have tried tech support at POLK and their theory is that the system is trying to compete with a wireless network in the home. Don't think so. We exchanged systems for another Soundbar 3000 at Best Buy, hooked it up to our Visio TV, and are experiencing the very same issues. Would appreciate any advice.

  3. #3
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,711

    Default

    Hello,
    Keep in mind the SB3000 only works with PCM digital format. It is possible when you switch to an HD channel the digital audio out is being sent in Dolby digital. There might be a setting in your cable/satellite dish receiver that will send PCM when on an HD channel? This would explain what is happening when you return to a non-HD station and the audio returns.
    Regards, Ken

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks, Ken. I do believe the problem is Dolby-related in some way. But we experience the same cut-out problem when we switch between HD channels

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    What happens if you set your source to PCM instead of Bistream? Does the problem still occur?

    I would suggest trying the above.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Yes, Serendipity. The TV audio is set to PCM. If on any other audio setting, the soundbar will not work at all. Today, we tried disconnecting the wireless subwoofer for a few hours and we still experience the cut-out static and losing sound problem. We also tried higher Channel ID #s and that makes no difference either. We checked with our cable provider as well, and there is no upgraded cable box they can offer. They say all their boxes only have 1 HDMI channel.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    I would suggest giving Polk customer service a call.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Soundbar IHT 6000 Problem sound cuts off
    By erspence in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-01-2011, 11:59 PM
  2. Need Help Soundbar 3000 IHT
    By aaxiss in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 01:15 PM
  3. Soundbar 3000 memoirze multple remotes?
    By PaulKay in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2010, 01:27 PM
  4. Need Help using apple TV with soundbar 3000
    By dgmaxfli in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2010, 01:17 PM
  5. Wall Mount SoundBar 3000
    By Render972 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 12:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts