Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    448

    Default What's on your HTPC?

    I just ordered a Lenovo IdeaCentre Q150 to use as my HTPC. Anyboby use Splash Lite or Splash Pro on your system? They claim to eliminate the judder associated with HD. What do you guys use/recommend? How about files? what kind are best for HD content?

    Basically, what's on your HTPC? What do you like or recommend?

    Thanks

    Juan

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Central MA
    Posts
    1,633

    Default

    Still using XBMC on original Xbox. Can't handle HD but the user-interface is wonderful. I have an WD TV Live plus for HD but the user-interface is no where near XBMC.

    Files... used to use Xvid/avi. Migrating over to H.264. All files stored on a NAS. Love the setup.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,294

    Default

    Spooling to 2 TV. One has an xbox 360 and the other a Western Digital HD TV Live. I also have 26GB a Mame games on it.
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    448

    Default

    That XBMC looks pretty cool. They have some nice stuff in their Gallery. Thanks for the info.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    I use Win7 Media Center. Adding Shark007's codec pack = support for just about any file type. Mymovies addon is excellent for a movie library replacement that includes backdrops, metadata retrieval, actor profiles, ratings, ect. Netflix support is excellent on media center. It includes photo support, so it can be left up as a picture slideshow when not in use. Everything is controlled from a regular remote. Moreover, all this is free if your version of W7 has MC

    My biggest complaint with media center is that every now and then it loses guide functionality and then you lose tv recording, and have to resetup the guide/channels. Other than that, I set one up for my parents and they use it daily for Music/TV/Netflix/Pictures/DVD/BR/Downloaded or Ripped content and have no issues... it's literally their only source in their living room setup

    I'm having trouble with the features listed on the Splash page.. it seems the 'hd-cam' version is the only one that supports... well... anything... and it isn't out yet. I don't understand all their versions... they have a tv version, a bd version, a dvd version... Isn't there an "everything" version?

    edit: I would recommend that you clone the hard drive once you set it up perfectly. If anything happens, use the image for a new HD and you're up and running.
    Last edited by cokewithvanilla; 02-26-2011 at 09:26 PM.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    261

    Default

    I just run Windows 7 and VNC in from my laptop. I don't see any way I would personally benefit from running a gimped operating system.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Central MA
    Posts
    1,633

    Default

    Some other general advice. Sorry if you have already addressed with these issues:

    1) Make sure to make your HTPC as quiet as possible.
    2) Make sure to hook it up to a UPS.
    3) Pay attention to component aesthetics.
    4) Try to figure out power consumption, and minimize it.
    5) Minimize bootup time if you shut the PC down often. If not, then pay attention to #4.
    6) Finally, you want your setup to be non-techie proof even if you are good at tech. The last thing you want to do is have to mess with tech settings when you would rather be watching TV.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    My HTPC is my main PC. It is in another room. I have the audio sent out via CAOX to my homemade DAC. Video is via analog out to the TV. My TV sucks so I don't care too much about that. I have a remote for my PC which can easily reach the other room from the listening position. Also you can use a laptop with remote desktop connection to control the PC. I thought long and hard about using some sort of music server device, but PC's can handle any format except SACD. They are pretty much future proof and hard drives are cheap. With the cost of BR drives dropping it is also great for doing HiRes video via most TV's.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    BR drives are like $50, but with the pc you bought, it would have to be external. It's no biggie, I put a br drive in and it has only ever been used once for testing. All HD content is downloaded to the pc.

    edit: oh, I don't know if that thing you bought has IR, but if not, you might want to try this: http://www.buy.com/prod/wireless-blu...217317414.html

    Saves you from an ugly IR device and does not have to be in the line of sight
    Last edited by cokewithvanilla; 02-26-2011 at 10:07 PM.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,931

    Default

    If it is this one it comes with BR
    http://www.amazon.com/Lenovo-IdeaCen.../dp/B0035ER00G
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ben62670 View Post
    that's mad fugly though!!!


    this is his: http://shop.lenovo.com/us/landing_pa...ntre/2010/q150

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Windows 7 with Media Center + Media Browser + ATI 4670 + lots of tweaking. No judder (mpc-hc, hardware acceleration because no way the low power cpu can handle 1080p). Backup provided by Windows Home Server on the backend.

    I concur with Maximillian's list.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    448

    Default

    Yes Maximillians list will be followed. That Shark007's codec pack looks like it allows you to configure it for different modes. I just downloaded it for my old computer which runs on Windows XP. I will play with it here until I get the Lenovo computer.

    I guess i'm going to start with Windows 7 MC + Shark007 codecs for now.

    Keep posting your recommendations! The goal is to run a trouble free HTPC with all the goodies working as they should.

    Thanks!!

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5,849

    Default

    I just run Windows XP Pro on a Dell Optiplex GX280. I use VLC or Media Player Classic to play the files. Files are stored on my main PC upstairs, and I stream them over a gigabit ethernet connection.

    The PC has enough grunt to play 720p, but not 1080. I only have a 32" LCD, though, so 720 is more than enough.

    Oh, and since my system is 2ch, I just use the onboard audio output.
    Ludicrous gibs!

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    161

    Default

    I have a small form factor dell core2duo. Windows 7 and an Powercolor Radeon 5450. Using Arcsoft TMT5. Plays everything at 1080P. Faster than Windows Media Center. Just added an additional WD TV Live Hub. Store BD content on the hubs and playback networked content through the Dell to the Onkyo (for decoding lossless audio)and then to the TV. No judder issues with this config.
    Last edited by spock 2054; 02-27-2011 at 12:07 PM.
    http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/syst...?userid=114347
    polk monitor 70's
    center - polk monitor cs2
    surround - polk monitor 60's
    surround back - jbl e10
    sub - velodyne dps 12
    sub - polk psw110
    avr/pre-amp - onkyo tx-nr809
    amp - carver av405
    display - sharp lc70le847u
    internet devices - WD TV Live Hubs
    blu-ray - sony bdp s770
    blu-ray - pansonic dmp bdt 310
    hd dvd - toshiba hd xa2
    dvr - sony dhg hdd250
    control - logitech harmony one
    turntable - technics sl1500 mkII

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    It looks like arcsoft TMT5 is for bluray and dvd, right? I use PowerDVD 10 for BR... it integrates into MC as well... I wonder which one is better. You said it plays everything in 1080, what do you mean? Does it do more than just add BR functionality?

    My biggest complaint with powerdvd 10 is that it thinks it's an audio player, no matter how much you adjust the settings. So, every now and then when I try to rip a cd, powerdvd will just come up and start playing it in the background. If I don't have the speakers on, I don't notice, then when I play the ripped content it is horribly messed up
    Last edited by cokewithvanilla; 02-27-2011 at 03:34 PM.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    Can you rip a dvd into WMC, and if so is that native to WMC or an add on?

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. HTPC uses?
    By keeneyrm01 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2011, 07:11 PM
  2. MAC Mini as HTPC
    By Sherardp in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 01:10 PM
  3. Mac Pro as HTPC?
    By Serendipity in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 10-01-2010, 04:22 AM
  4. New HTPC
    By Pauly in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-28-2010, 09:26 PM
  5. Htpc
    By phuz in forum Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-01-2005, 02:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts