Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default How to connect the PSW111 on computer?

    Good afternoon,

    I bought the PSW111 subwoofer and would like to know how to connect it to my audio card (Asus Essence STX) that has two analog outputs (red and white) and also if it is possible to connect the speakers directly to the output of PSW111
    like the picture I created:

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    268

    Default

    I'm pretty sure if you want to run speakers out of the sub, you'll need a speaker level input (wires, not RCA cables). I have seen one sub that had an RCA out, but it doesn't look like yours does.
    So, I imagine you'll need a receiver/amplifier for those speakers. They are passive, not active, right? (Active would mean they plug into the wall for power and have their own built-in amplifier, like your subwoofer does)

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by thetawave2 View Post
    I'm pretty sure if you want to run speakers out of the sub, you'll need a speaker level input (wires, not RCA cables). I have seen one sub that had an RCA out, but it doesn't look like yours does.
    So, I imagine you'll need a receiver/amplifier for those speakers. They are passive, not active, right? (Active would mean they plug into the wall for power and have their own built-in amplifier, like your subwoofer does)
    YES,MY speakers IS ACTIVE.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    help

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    268

    Default

    If the speakers are active, you wouldn't be able to hook them up to the sub like you do in the diagram. They would have a line-level input (RCA or something like that) and not a speaker-level input. Then all you would need is an RCA splitter.
    What speakers are you using?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by thetawave2 View Post
    If the speakers are active, you wouldn't be able to hook them up to the sub like you do in the diagram. They would have a line-level input (RCA or something like that) and not a speaker-level input. Then all you would need is an RCA splitter.
    What speakers are you using?
    THANKS FOR THE HELP thetawave2
    I have two models of speakers:
    polk audio T15 and M-Audio AV40.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    268

    Default

    My friend has the M-Audio AV40s. Put an RCA splitter on the red port on the sound card. Run one RCA cable to the line in on the subwoofer, and one from each channel to the AV40s.
    You won't be able to use the Polk T15's without a receiver because they are passive and have no amplification of their own.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thetawave2 View Post
    My friend has the M-Audio AV40s. Put an RCA splitter on the red port on the sound card. Run one RCA cable to the line in on the subwoofer, and one from each channel to the AV40s.
    You won't be able to use the Polk T15's without a receiver because they are passive and have no amplification of their own.
    I need an RCA cable with two extensions to the M-AUDIO DIRECT CONNECTION IN OUT RED CARD AND OTHER AUDIO OUT AUDIO CARD plug right into the subwoofer, correct?

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    268

    Default

    Basically, you need one RCA cable running from the sound card to the subwoofer, and two RCA cables running from the sound card to the AV40s. If there is a "sub out" on the sound card, you can use that. Otherwise, you will need to plug an adapter into the sound card that lets you run two RCA cables out of one output.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    268

    Default

    Another possibility is to run the RCA cables to the master AV40 (the one that needs to be plugged into the wall and has the volume knob). Then, use an extra pair of wires to run from the master's speaker outs on the back to the subwoofer's "Speaker In." The slave AV40 (the one without RCA input but with speaker-level spring clips) can now be run off of the subwoofer's "Speaker Out." This will allow you to control the subwoofer's volume level with the volume knob on the AV40, so you won't have to adjust both levels every time you change the volume.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thetawave2 View Post
    Another possibility is to run the RCA cables to the master AV40 (the one that needs to be plugged into the wall and has the volume knob). Then, use an extra pair of wires to run from the master's speaker outs on the back to the subwoofer's "Speaker In." The slave AV40 (the one without RCA input but with speaker-level spring clips) can now be run off of the subwoofer's "Speaker Out." This will allow you to control the subwoofer's volume level with the volume knob on the AV40, so you won't have to adjust both levels every time you change the volume.
    hello
    Did you say so, right?
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/6202120...in/photostream
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/6202120...in/photostream
    another question, none of these possibilities will be no loss of performance, correct?
    TKS

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    268

    Default

    Well, in number 2, one of each RCA should be going to the AV40, not both from one jack.
    But you got the first one right and I think that would be the better way to go. I can't imagine either setup would give you poor performance.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs up concratulation

    Quote Originally Posted by thetawave2 View Post
    Well, in number 2, one of each RCA should be going to the AV40, not both from one jack.
    But you got the first one right and I think that would be the better way to go. I can't imagine either setup would give you poor performance.
    Thank thetawave2

    you helped me a lot
    well I guess all my doubts are cleared up!
    if I need help come back here.
    then declare topic closed.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    268

    Default

    Happy to help! I hope your new setup works for you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help how would you connect PSW505
    By rutgerspsych in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 04:37 PM
  2. How do you connect your sub?
    By mr2sw21 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 09:23 PM
  3. Can you connect?.....
    By 1lakerfan in forum Speakers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2007, 11:58 PM
  4. How to connect a 4 ohm sub
    By propman07 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-31-2005, 06:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts