Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    3 sTars & Da SuN...
    Posts
    1,060

    Question Help: HVAC expert!

    Hello polks, need to remove the house AC from outside and reinstall it to my mom's hbouse. I did my prelimenary study & all I need to do is to discharge the freon from the house & back to the compressor, shut the outlet valve & turn on the unit. Once all the freon are in the AC, shut off the inlet valve & cut the pipes & torch sealed them. Please advice if this is correct.
    As far the reinstall, I'll check back in once the initial stage is completed.
    Godspeed,
    D0661E

    AVR:Pioneer Elite SC-07
    Surrounds: RTis
    2channel:Rti100 (carver driven
    Sub:SVS PB12-Plus/2
    Dedicated AMPs:Adcom GFA535, 2xCarver 1.5t, Carver m1.0t
    Wsrn:Hitachi ultra vision LCD60, 32XBR400
    PowerConditioner: MonsterC HTS5100
    PS3, Toshiba HD A2, etc: SonySACD/ Panasonic gears DIVX.


    MR3LIGION: Polkaudio; GSXR; E46; Reeftank;
    Odyclub; Xsimulator; Sony; Zune; Canon

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Over the mountain watching the watcher
    Posts
    6,268

    Default

    Dang, running out of time here at work, but:

    What size/make/model unit is your condensing unit (outside) ?

    Does it have a receiver (probably not) ?

    If you can pump the system down into a receiver, and isolate the compressor from the lines, those lines will still contain some charge.
    EPA says okay to lose a LITTLE charge ('deminimus"), but that'd be a little more than 'deminimus'.
    But, to be honest .... I wouldn't give a crap about that, as long as you don't have any anal neighbors.
    MrBigBlueLight
    Usually right, but sometimes not entirely factually correct.
    Shifting to Plan B

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    3 sTars & Da SuN...
    Posts
    1,060

    Default

    unfortunately I don't have a pump :(. my approach should be ok?
    Godspeed,
    D0661E

    AVR:Pioneer Elite SC-07
    Surrounds: RTis
    2channel:Rti100 (carver driven
    Sub:SVS PB12-Plus/2
    Dedicated AMPs:Adcom GFA535, 2xCarver 1.5t, Carver m1.0t
    Wsrn:Hitachi ultra vision LCD60, 32XBR400
    PowerConditioner: MonsterC HTS5100
    PS3, Toshiba HD A2, etc: SonySACD/ Panasonic gears DIVX.


    MR3LIGION: Polkaudio; GSXR; E46; Reeftank;
    Odyclub; Xsimulator; Sony; Zune; Canon

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    3 sTars & Da SuN...
    Posts
    1,060

    Default

    The unit has been unplugged w/o any issue, no leaks!
    Godspeed,
    D0661E

    AVR:Pioneer Elite SC-07
    Surrounds: RTis
    2channel:Rti100 (carver driven
    Sub:SVS PB12-Plus/2
    Dedicated AMPs:Adcom GFA535, 2xCarver 1.5t, Carver m1.0t
    Wsrn:Hitachi ultra vision LCD60, 32XBR400
    PowerConditioner: MonsterC HTS5100
    PS3, Toshiba HD A2, etc: SonySACD/ Panasonic gears DIVX.


    MR3LIGION: Polkaudio; GSXR; E46; Reeftank;
    Odyclub; Xsimulator; Sony; Zune; Canon

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    'Bubba' land
    Posts
    4,798

    Default

    I hope no one from the EPA is reading this. If they are, say hello to a $10,000+ fine.
    I refuse to argue with idiots, because people can't tell the DIFFERENCE!

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Over the mountain watching the watcher
    Posts
    6,268

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by obieone View Post
    I hope no one from the EPA is reading this. If they are, say hello to a $10,000+ fine.
    The EPA doesn't know about this.




    .....yet. Just figured out a way to finance some new LSiM 707's. Some sacrifices will have to be made, but .... not by me.



    Meant to get back to this thread, and got side-tracked (as usual).
    Looks like you're doing well so far, but I was wondering what freon is in the unit ?
    Is it an older R22, or a newer 404a, or ?

    Just wondering. There may be a SLIGHT chance that there was some MINIMAL charge lost during your operation.
    If so, that'll need to be replaced.

    You're not at the installation stage yet, but you will need a vacuum pump and probably need to sweat some access fittings onto the system.
    MrBigBlueLight
    Usually right, but sometimes not entirely factually correct.
    Shifting to Plan B

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Central AC question for any HVAC folks (or anyone else)
    By Lil'Abbey in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 02:59 PM
  2. HVAC Recommendations?
    By MikeC78 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 03:46 PM
  3. Plumbers / HVAC people?
    By bobman1235 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 08:41 PM
  4. HVAC is this tooo much $$$
    By dholmes in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-20-2007, 02:44 PM
  5. unhappy with HVAC in new house
    By nadams in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 06-29-2005, 05:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts