Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Bad preamp?

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Angry Bad preamp?

    New to forum...found out about it when registering my PA660. I don't know much about wiring this stuff but believe I hooked up everything correctly but decided I need pointers from you experts. When I plug in the RCA preouts from the HU into the 660, the volume drops off. Without the RCA jacks, it sounds great.

    Background:
    New Pioneer DEH-6300UB HU.
    New 660 4 channel.
    Rockford Fosgate 6x9s rear
    Alpine 4x6 front.
    Kicker AMP install kit.
    No sub.

    I hooked up the power, ground, and remote turn on. Ran the speaker wires from the HU to speaker input jack on 660. There is an extra black wire here that I can't find mentioned in the manual so it sits unhooked and may be my problem. The output speakers feed on the 660 feeds my speakers directly. I added a #4 extra battery ground wire from the battery to the firewall (stripped paint underneath). Stripped paint underneath the amp ground as well. Amp feed and ground are both #4 wire. Tried every possible SW settings on the HU with same results.

    I beginning to think I have a bad pre-amp in the 660. I got it at Best Buy and the box was open but had a sticker on it that said it was inspected by Best Buy. When I got home, I found the mounting screws in the bag were all loose (not in the little bag) and were SS instead of black as the manual says (leading me to believe it was or was planned to be a marine install). One of the rubber grommets was missing as well as the spare fuse so I believe it was a return.

    Tried to explain everything. Any ideas what might be going on? Any help would be greatly appreciated as I plan to return it today if it is the amp.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I should also add that at first I only ran the preamp rca cables to the amp and the output was nada, zip, zilch. Then I ran the speaker wires from the HU to the amp and I got sound but it wasn't amplified. Then I disconnected the RCA cables and it worked. I thought I only needed one or the other (speaker wire or RCAs).

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Nevermind guys. Couldn't figure out how to delete the thread. I disconnected the speaker wires to test HU settings with just the RCAs and it worked without changing anything. Don't know why. Something must have been disconnected or set wrong on the HU. Thanks anyway.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    They do need either one or the other, def not both.
    Disconnect speaker wires from HU to amp, u want to use RCAs here, not speaker wires and play around with RCA locations.
    Make sure sure to match them up correctly and make sure your RCAs aren't cut or damaged.
    Also - what brand RCA do u use?

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Well, nevermind my post then lol

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vital View Post
    Well, nevermind my post then lol
    Thanks for the response Vital! As you know I got it figured out but the RCAs were from the Kicker 4 channel AMP install package.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Does (Tube preamp & SS amp) = (SS preamp & TubeAmp)?
    By malikarshad in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 09:40 PM
  2. Need Help Parasound Halo P3 preamp verses Parasound Halo JC-2 preamp
    By Beta in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2010, 04:30 AM
  3. Tubecad Aikido Phono Preamp or Tetra Phono Preamp
    By Justin30 in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 05:45 PM
  4. My new PreAmp
    By ben62670 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-27-2008, 05:55 PM
  5. Pass Labs X1 Preamp vs. Adcom GFP-750 Preamp
    By DarqueKnight in forum Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-13-2006, 01:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts