Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Bridging an amp

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default Bridging an amp

    Hello all,

    Planning what to do for amps in my theater.

    Thought about getting a smaller 2 channel amp that can be bridged to run the center channel.

    Always wondered, When you bridge, do you lose sound quality?

    Thinking about using a Rotel amp with Rti a6.

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Buckeye Country
    Posts
    716

    Default

    I bridged my Rotel RB-1070 for center channel duties and never had any issues with it. I believe that Rotel states using 8 ohm speakers. My Revel center is a 6 ohm speaker. Probably borderline. I am now bi-amping using the same amp/speaker combo.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,240

    Default

    Generally you do lose quality, but for HT it's not that much of an issue. But be sure to use an 8 ohm speaker. When you bridge a stereo amp it "see's" 1/2 the load so a bridged mono running an 8 ohm speaker is essentially only seeing 4 ohms. You start to drop below 4 ohms and there could be issues.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    california
    Posts
    605

    Default

    in most cases it wont , the amp says 4 ohms minimum in stereo the bridge load can only be 8 ohms . I had a audiosource amp it was printed on it 4-8 ohms in stereo I tried to bridge it for my kef center but the kef was a 6 ohm and the amp would not do it , it needed to be a 8 ohm speaker for the bridge .

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,240

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    You start to drop below 4 ohms and there could be issues.

    H9
    To be clear, when I stated this I meant the amp "seeing" 4 ohms, not that you could use a 4 ohm speaker, then the amp would be "seeing" 2 ohms and that would not work out to well.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 20hz View Post
    in most cases it wont , the amp says 4 ohms minimum in stereo the bridge load can only be 8 ohms . I had a audiosource amp it was printed on it 4-8 ohms in stereo I tried to bridge it for my kef center but the kef was a 6 ohm and the amp would not do it , it needed to be a 8 ohm speaker for the bridge .
    Good to know. Thanks all.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Amp bridging how-to
    By stam4p5 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-16-2006, 01:17 AM
  2. psw 10 bridging
    By ecohee in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-03-2006, 12:54 AM
  3. Bridging an Amp
    By spackelman in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 08:15 PM
  4. amp bridging
    By steelervic in forum Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-14-2003, 05:50 PM
  5. amp bridging
    By DizziD in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2002, 08:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts