Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    72

    Arrow What SRS's do I have?

    I finally scraped the dough to get me a pair of the SRS's.

    Thing is, there werent many on ebay so when 3 months ago a pair appeared near me in Cincinnati, I grabbed the opportunity .

    OK here is my question, what version do I have?

    On the rear it says SDA.SRS 1.2 (not TL) BUT.......

    It has all 3000TL tweets and the BE-2000-C crossover like the TL models (The 1.2's are supposed to have 2000TL tweets and the BE-2000-B crossover, which mine does not have.) ... so is this a 1.2TL in disguise or what?

    Also where can I get the AI-1 interface?

    Thanks all SDA Nuts!:D
    Last edited by Manamp; 09-08-2003 at 09:33 PM.
    If you are not judgemental, you don't care enough.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    30,433

    Default

    Congrats and welcome to Club SDA.

    You either have 1.2's that have been totally upgraded or you actually have the TL version. Polk didn't always mark their speakers with the right model plate. This question was asked at one of the tours I went on and with a chuckle, they said that they were pumping out speakers so fast that they would use whatever id plate was close to the model. If you called Polk and give them the s/n's they might be able to tell you for sure, but I think you could say they are 1.2TL's regardless.

    You can no longer buy the AI-1 interface cable from Polk, but a member here on the forum, Har may make (and sell) you one if you ask him nicely. If you're up to making one yourself I can email you a pdf. on how to do so.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    72

    Thumbs up What version of the SRS's?

    Thanks and Thanks F1 nut!

    I guess I have the TL version, but I will call Polk and find out for sure. I somehow do not think these have been upgraded because the older version crossovers had 4 screws on the front plate while the TL versions had one large nut, with no additional holes, I'd guess these are generation 5's.

    Please do send me the pdf
    Cheerio!
    Last edited by Manamp; 09-12-2003 at 06:35 PM.
    If you are not judgemental, you don't care enough.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    30,433

    Default

    To be exact the 1.2 has 4 bolts across the top, 4 across the bottom and 5 bolts in the center. The 1.2TL has the same top/bottom bolts and only one in the center.

    You've got mail.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  5. #5
    Old School
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Higher & Dryer, Texas
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Manamp,

    Welcome to the Club...

    You talking about these that sold out of Lexington, KY on ebay? Sweet that they turned out to be tl's...
    Attached Images  
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. - Old English Proverb

    "It's easy to get lost in price vs performance vs ego vs illusion." - doro
    "There is a certain entertainment value in ripping the occaisonal (sic) buttmunch..." - TroyD
    "Death doesn't come with a Uhaul." - Dennis Gardner

    Rebuilding Maggie 2-ch & Amazing 2-ch... Building 2-ch "wall"... Figuring out the HT

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Hey thanks Tour2ma!

    Actually these appeared in Cincinatti Ohio. I live in Indy. 2 hr drive and a perfect fit in my Villager!

    By the way I see the AI-1 interface listed for $40 on the parts section on this website... do they have stock?

    Did you see the sweet deal the guy got this week on a pair of TL's for 1800. all accessories, Bass brace, spikes, AI-1, compendio and booklets etc.

    The last one was a plain SRS that sold for 3350, two newbs bid it up , lucked up seller!
    Attached Images  
    If you are not judgemental, you don't care enough.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8

    Default AI-1 interface cable

    Well I'm new here but not new to Polks. I have SDA CRS+ 's , SDA 2B 's , RTA8 's (Used for center chanels in two systems), LS/FX surounds , 5B's , M3 's ........ Yep I like Polks . Now I find Myself on the way to seperates to power my SDA's and find myself holding some Mono amps and in need of the ever elusive AI-1 interface cable. Where can I get one or the info to make it. Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks In advance.
    JRW



    Sorry ended up in the wrong post
    Last edited by stratman711; 09-12-2003 at 12:22 AM.

  8. #8
    Old School
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Higher & Dryer, Texas
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    JRW,

    If you want one made for you, contact Club member har_navalta. He's made several for other members as is a highly regarded fellow in our little forum (but don't tell him I said that).

    If you would rather DIY it, e-mail me and I'll send along the a pdf of the schematic.

    Welcome to the Club... Folks would enjoy some pics of your little Polk museum, either in the showcase or a new thread in Speakers.

    What mono's are you holding?
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. - Old English Proverb

    "It's easy to get lost in price vs performance vs ego vs illusion." - doro
    "There is a certain entertainment value in ripping the occaisonal (sic) buttmunch..." - TroyD
    "Death doesn't come with a Uhaul." - Dennis Gardner

    Rebuilding Maggie 2-ch & Amazing 2-ch... Building 2-ch "wall"... Figuring out the HT

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    I echo that, Har is the man for aftermarket AI-1's.....he has a monopoly I think :D

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8

    Default AI-1

    Wow you guys are great. So how do I get a hold of har_navalta ?
    And any idea what his going rate is ? I did stumble on the instructions on how to do it . But I'm willing to buy it maybe.

    The Mono's I picked up I had planed on Powering some home brued Sonotube subs with HSU drivers I scored off of ebay. I ended up with 5 amps though and the ones I have alreay recived are wonderfully marvelous for the money. They are Audiosource Amp5.3's . Now I no they are not really high end but they sound really good powering my 5B's and 5 Juniors and also my cs225 center chanel on my computer (Yep overkill everywhere) so II'll bet they will do the job wonderfully.

    Quick spec check:

    AUDIO SOURCE AMP-5.3A 250 Watt Monoblock Power Amp


    150 watts/channel (8 ohms) - 250 watts/channel (4 ohms)
    Rack mountable design; amp integrates into any system (You put three of these together in a rack chassie)
    THD 0.1%
    95 dB signal to noise ratio
    Frequency response: 20Hz–20kHz
    Balanced (XLR): 20K ohm impedance input
    Unbalanced (RCA): 10K ohm impedance input
    Speaker/line out (RCA) outputs


    I hope they work alright for CRS+ 's
    Which are my main speakers right now. My wife wants a wall unit and the 2b's wouldnt work into that. (My sons eyeing the 2b's in fact and is working to get them from me).

    If you tell me how to get a pic up here I'll post some Polk musem stuff.

    Thansk again:
    JRW

  11. #11
    Old School
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Higher & Dryer, Texas
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    JRW,

    Thanks we do what we can.

    First, talk to your manufacturer, http://www.audiosource.net/2003/03_home.htm
    One SDA owner here reported that all it took to run his mono-blocks with the "normal" SDA IC was a run of speaker wire between the negative terminals of his amps creating a "common" ground.

    If no go there then try har...
    http://clubpolk.polkaudio.com/forum/...&highlight=ai1
    Post here, PM or e-mail him...

    BTW, there are a few AudioSource owners around here.... can't get rid of them.

    As for pic posting:
    If you have websapce you can use the IMG button above the reply text window. This let's you post multiple pics in one post.
    If you do not have web space, use the "Attach File" browse button below to find the pic on your hard drive. Pic size is limited to 102 kb. If you go this route do not "preview" your post or the pic does not make it to the thread...
    You can practice posting pics over in the Forum Test area.
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. - Old English Proverb

    "It's easy to get lost in price vs performance vs ego vs illusion." - doro
    "There is a certain entertainment value in ripping the occaisonal (sic) buttmunch..." - TroyD
    "Death doesn't come with a Uhaul." - Dennis Gardner

    Rebuilding Maggie 2-ch & Amazing 2-ch... Building 2-ch "wall"... Figuring out the HT

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    The jumper idea is a good one, just make sure you check with the manufacturer first. I was planning on perhaps doing that on my Parasound, before they said that it wasn't a good idea.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    72

    Default

    You can use the terminal across the "grounded" portion of both amps as long as the amps do not have a balanced or bridged drive. If they are normal (i.e. Hot side driven and gnd not driven) then you CAN connect the two grounds together, but be sure to use a VERY heavy gauge wire to connect them. Auto power wire i.e. 4 gauge is a good choice.

    One way to check is use a simple AC volt meter, put one side to the shell of the inputs RCA (i.e. Gnd) and the other to any one of the speaker posts. Give the amp some juice and measure voltage. The side with signal voltage is the "hot" side and the side with no voltage is gnd.

    NEVER connect the hot side to gnd or to another hot side. Only of you find a true gnd i.e. no signal drive can you apply the "join the two terminals" trick.

    Let Manamp know if you have amp questions.
    If you are not judgemental, you don't care enough.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8

    Default Mono Amps

    Thanks Manamp
    I'll be checking that out with a friends meter.
    This forum is full of great people who know alot it seems.
    Thanks for all the help.
    JRW

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,951

    Default

    Manamp..

    Is that Adcom I see? Me Want...NICE SETUP MAN!!! AWESOME!
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Selinsgrove,PA
    Posts
    168

    Default

    The jumper will work with Adcom 565 mono blocks!

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Uh ... Blush Blush** Thanks man!

    Harman Kardon Signature 2.0 processor driving a Behringer 3 way crossover. The front mains are tri-amped.

    Highs via a customized Forte Model 3 to the SDA's tweeters,

    Mids/ Midbass via the Krell (below TV) to the SDA's woofers and

    The lows to 2 Kenwood M2a's bridged each feeding one jbl 2226H 15" woofer.

    The surrounds are driven by 2 (yes you got it) bridged Adcom GFA-545II's (yes I bridged them).

    Surrounds are Bose 901's series 6. Centers are paradigm Active reference 450's.

    Oh I forgot, The mains go through an auto room correction computer/ Digital EQ, a Behringer DSP-8024.

    Woohoo!!!

    Manamp.:p
    Last edited by Manamp; 09-12-2003 at 06:34 PM.
    If you are not judgemental, you don't care enough.

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8

    Cool POWER

    Hey Manamp
    How much for the direct power line from your electric company to power this? Are there blackouts in your neihborhood when you fire this up ? LOL
    Wow manamp what a setup.
    JRW

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    72

    Default

    LOL!

    I am planning to install 24 beer can sized caps for my bridged Kenwoods to stiffen up their power supply DC rails. These are 7500mfd, 200 volt caps.

    In pure RMS power,

    Tweets get 400 watts rms X2
    Mids/ mid bass get 500 watts rms X2
    surrounds get 300 watts rms X2 and
    the subs get 690 watts rms each.

    I try not to crank it up too much, the home lights do begin to pulse, but sometimes, you gotta have it man!

    OO, OO, OO, power!!;)
    Last edited by Manamp; 09-12-2003 at 08:45 PM.
    If you are not judgemental, you don't care enough.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts