Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Member Sales Rating: (1)

Default Dolby Digital vs DTS

Which is preferred by most, anything other than DD or DTS? I have no experience with anything other than regular ole' Dolby Surround or Dolby Digital. Is DTS that much better? There seems to be so many formats these days it's confusing, well to me anyways.
    --Gary--

The newer formats leave the old DD in the dust. HD DTS master audio is where it's at today from blu-ray. Of the 2 you mentioned,I prefer DTS when available, but the newer formats are head and shoulders above them.

Member Sales Rating: (0)

Those are DVD formats. Hopefully, you have a Bluray by now. On Bluray there is no difference, since both are lossless. On DVD, DTS can have a little bit more information, which can sound a bit better. If you have the gear to hear it.

I don't have a Bluray. So I am not going to see the benefits of DTS with a standard DVD player? Not even DTS music DVD's?
    --Gary--

I definitely prefer DTS on DVDs. The dynamics seem to always be noticeably better to my ear than Dolby Digital.
    2.1: Peachtree DAC●iT>Yaqin MC-10L w/6CA7-EH, Voskhod 6N1P-EV>polkaudio RT25i, PSW202

5.1: ATI HD5850 HDMI Bitstreaming>Denon AVR-1910>polkaudio RT7, CS350-LS, RT3, PSW505, Sony Bravia KDL-52W3000

I think Dolby Digital tends to be more compressed (640kbps) vs DTS (1500kbps). Also, I believe Dolby Digital is limited to 48khz vs 48 / 96 khz that's possible on DTS. So depending on what you're watching, DTS may sound better.
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

2 Channel: