Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Sub question...

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,452

    Default Sub question...

    I know this question has been asked once before but I can't remember what the solution was. Question is, when I cut my receiver on it seems sometimes it takes a while for the sub to cut on also when I'm watching satellite. When I listen to the tuner or watch a DVD it cuts on at once. Does this have something to do with the satellie station I'm watching not having a true ?.1 input. Thx.
    Money Talks, Mine says Goodbye Rob!!!!
    "My Theater Room"

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,452

    Default

    Would purchasing a Dolby Digital receiver resolve this problem dut to the fact that more and more station are broadcasting in DD. Thx. again
    Money Talks, Mine says Goodbye Rob!!!!
    "My Theater Room"

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    seccond star to the right and strait on to morning
    Posts
    2,795

    Default

    the sub needs sigonal to turn on so there is not as much bass to turn on the sub.
    Gonzo's World
    BenQ 8700+
    115in screen
    PS3,X-Box 360 and Wii
    Sunfire Theater Grand III
    ADCOM GFA-7607
    four avalanch 18 subs 26.12l of displacement
    Crown xti 4000

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,452

    Default

    so my quess is this is normal, can't ever recall having these problems with the Polk subs. And by no means, I'm not comparing the two (PSW vs. SVS), we already know...
    Money Talks, Mine says Goodbye Rob!!!!
    "My Theater Room"

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    A failure to self initialize the auto on circuit is usually tied to a too low sub level in the AVR.

    You want a low level to prevent pre-out distortion, but you need it high enough to kick the sub on at a reasonable Master Volume level.

    My PB2+ is more sensitive than my 20-39PC+ was; I have no problems with sub auto on even at very low levels.

    What is your AVR sub level?

    Doc
    "What we do in life echoes in eternity"

    Ed Mullen (emullen@svsound.com)
    Director - Technology and Customer Relations
    Specialty Technologies
    SVSound

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,452

    Default

    Hey Doc, been waiting for you to buzz in, Sub level is set at -5.0.
    Money Talks, Mine says Goodbye Rob!!!!
    "My Theater Room"

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    Bryan was essentially correct in what he said - some source material simply has a weak bass signal and the sub won't respond to it as quickly as it does a DVD or music.

    The presence or absence of a LFE channel (".1") really doesn't make or break this general rule. A regular stereo music CD without an LFE channel can still have a lot of bass and kick the sub on right away.

    The culprit is probably just a weak bass signal from satellite TV.

    If it remains a real bother, try a sub level of -3 or -2 and recalibrate by lowering the PB2+ volume control accordingly. That will give you a hotter sub signal for a quicker auto on and still keep the same overall sub level.

    Doc
    "What we do in life echoes in eternity"

    Ed Mullen (emullen@svsound.com)
    Director - Technology and Customer Relations
    Specialty Technologies
    SVSound

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    or leave the sub in "on" mode instead of auto mode.... that way it doesn't need a audio signal to "turn on". it's always on waiting for a signal.
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,452

    Default

    Just curious Danger Boy, wouldn't leaving the amp set to "always on" lessen the life of the amp. Kinda like a computer monitor, most go into a screen saver mode along with shutting down after a while to extend to life of it. I just went ahead and set the sub level and -4.0 and readjusted the subwoofer. Seems to have taken care of the "cut on" portion of it except for really low volume levels, which, at lower volume levels you really can't tell the subs on anyways. Thanks for the advice though.
    Money Talks, Mine says Goodbye Rob!!!!
    "My Theater Room"

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    nope. leaving the sub amp to always on will not lessen the life of it.. and the reason computer monitors have a screensaver mode it to keep it from getting "burn in" . Burn in can also happen to any TV. it's whereby a "image" is left on the screen to long... and it damages the tube by permanently leaving a ghosting of a bright image.
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401

    Default

    I've got a few *used* subs, they've been on since we built the house, about 2 1/2 years ago...

    Cheers,
    Russ
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

  12. #12
    Old School
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Higher & Dryer, Texas
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Yup, Elcetonics always used to stay on full time here. Read many moons ago that it was easier on SS to stay on than cycle on/ off. My M-1.5t stayed on for better than a decade. It did not even come with an on-off switch. Instaled a switched outlet in the back of my cabinet for it. Only used for storms and vacations...

    Nowadays many electronics have a "sleep" mode so that they are never really down. This is true of both my AVP and power amps. I think TV's started this trend better than a decade ago.
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. - Old English Proverb

    "It's easy to get lost in price vs performance vs ego vs illusion." - doro
    "There is a certain entertainment value in ripping the occaisonal (sic) buttmunch..." - TroyD
    "Death doesn't come with a Uhaul." - Dennis Gardner

    Rebuilding Maggie 2-ch & Amazing 2-ch... Building 2-ch "wall"... Figuring out the HT

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,452

    Default

    This is just a follow up on my first post. I finally figured out what was going on with my sub not cutting on right a way when the AVR was cut on. I had the sub cable running from my AVR to the LFE IN of the Monster Power MP SW200, then LFE OUT to the SUB IN. Once I disconnected the cables from the MP SW200 and went from the AVR to the SUB IN, it cuts on know like it should. The MP200 is supposed to filter the noise out of the sub cables but I think it was filtering the signal completely out. Hell, as long as it works I'm happy. Anyone know anything about this MP SW200. Thanks for everyone help though.
    Money Talks, Mine says Goodbye Rob!!!!
    "My Theater Room"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts