Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 16 of 20 FirstFirst ... 6 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 LastLast
Results 451 to 480 of 574
  1. #451

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    North Victoria Gardens, Altacucawanda, California
    Posts
    6,802

    Default

    Gents, who has tried and subscribe to MOG streaming to SQBT? It's $10/month but guaranteed 320 kbps streaming. I've been happy with Pandora and Slacker, so the only consideration is hi-res, not selection. worth it?
    I am sorry, I have no opinion on the matter. I am sure you do. So, don't mind me, I just want to talk audio and pie.

  2. #452

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,091

    Default

    I ve tried it briefly, with my Sonos, didn't think anything stood out as being better than any of the others.

  3. #453

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    North Victoria Gardens, Altacucawanda, California
    Posts
    6,802

    Default

    gotcha..thanks Tony.
    I am sorry, I have no opinion on the matter. I am sure you do. So, don't mind me, I just want to talk audio and pie.

  4. #454

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3,957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coolsax View Post
    Just ordered mine today! nice price from Electronics Expo store on Amazon.

    can't wait!
    +1 for that deal, thanks for the tip. At that price, I decided to get a second Touch for my office rig, rather than moving the one I had back and forth from my two-channel setup. Shweet!
    Good music, a good source, and good power can make SDA's sing. Tubes make them dance.

  5. #455

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Well got my SQBT up and running last night. Took almost 45 minutes to get it setup and playing. UNREAL the amount of options and features and junk to choose and select from. Will learn about it all this weekend.

    This thing is a gem. Very fast and easy to use as far as playback. However, after trying to search for artists and manuver for 10 minutes with the remote, I said "THE HELL WITH THIS!" and bought an app for my Playbook to control it... WHY DID I NOT BUY THIS SOONER!?!?!? I can't believe how efficient this setup is. This is a slick device. Brings the nerd right out in me.

    Now lets talk about initial sound impressions... Currently configured as: FLAC files streamed through ethernet to SQBT -> Coax out to Pop Pulse DAC -> MIT EXp 1's to Pioneer Elite AVR in Pure Direct -> MIT EXp 1 to Carver TFM-42 -> Monoprice wires (EXp 1 Speaker Cables in the mail!) to RTi A9's.

    Was there a difference?

    Oh HELL yeah. And I really emphasize that because there really was. It's strange in a sense to me just how much the sound has evolved. It has shown me where the weaknesses are in my setup (MP3's, AVR, lack of ext. DAC and speaker cables). I'm thrilled by how much an ext. DAC has shaped the sound. How wide the sound stage got and how much more precise vocals are. It makes me question if it's all in my head but EVERY song has that now. So far I am loving the pure sound I got so far. I still have some configuration to do. Will have to re-read this thread for all the tips and tricks.

    One issue I've run into is that one of my albums wont play. it's no different from any of my other rips. The app see's it and will try to play it, but the SQBT just displays a blank library screen or something to that extent. It's odd and also my other halfs' favorite album so it has to be fixed or she will rage and I'll have to return this gem so MUST BE FIXED!

  6. #456

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by polkatese View Post
    Gents, who has tried and subscribe to MOG streaming to SQBT? It's $10/month but guaranteed 320 kbps streaming. I've been happy with Pandora and Slacker, so the only consideration is hi-res, not selection. worth it?
    I'm currently subscribing to MOG, and I love it. I completed a 1 month trial of Slacker, Spotify, and MOG, and ended up liking MOG the best. I think the 320 kbs stuff sounds really nice through my equipment, and I especially like how easy it is to download music to my iPhone for offline play. Also like the fact that you can use it concurrently from multiple locations. Spotify only allows one. There's a lot of information on the Web about the alleged catalog sizes of both Spotify and MOG, and it seems that while Spotify may have a slightly larger catalog, MOG is very close behind. Also Spotify has been very slow to get their entire catalog up to 320 kbs. Another advantage of MOG is that they allow 320kbs even for free users.

    I think that MOG's Squeezebox interface could be a little bit better, but I mostly use iPeng to control my Squeezeboxes (en), and it works pretty well.

    One weakness I see in MOG is the radio options. If you just want to listen to albums, MOG is fantastic, but I think Slacker has the best radio interface of all of the services I've tried. Also, I have never tried Rhapsody, but have heard good things about it as well.

    MOG only gives a 14 day trial, but if you google the following search string: "mog 30 day trial starbucks", you can find a 30 day promo, so try it out. I liked it so much, I just left it turned on.

  7. #457

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drenis View Post
    One issue I've run into is that one of my albums wont play. it's no different from any of my other rips. The app see's it and will try to play it, but the SQBT just displays a blank library screen or something to that extent.
    Check your hard drive to verify the music is there...I had one strange "rip" occurance where EAC was acting like it ripped an album, but when I went back and checked, there were no songs in the directory. I just re-ripped the CD and it worked fine. Also, do a "Clear and Re-Scan my library" command on Logitech Media Server.

    Anytime you have strange glitches like mutliple album listings, missing songs, or if you rip a better version of a CD you already have--make sure to run "Clear and Re-Scan."
    Last edited by steveinaz; 03-09-2012 at 10:48 AM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  8. #458

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    North Victoria Gardens, Altacucawanda, California
    Posts
    6,802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gdpeck View Post
    I'm currently subscribing to MOG, and I love it.
    Agreed. I tried it for 14 days and decided to let on. SQ is definitely better than Slacker and Pandora, it just take a bit of getting used to. Slacker has a better logical user interface menu.
    I am sorry, I have no opinion on the matter. I am sure you do. So, don't mind me, I just want to talk audio and pie.

  9. #459

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steveinaz View Post
    Check your hard drive to verify the music is there...I had one strange "rip" occurance where EAC was acting like it ripped an album, but when I went back and checked, there were no songs in the directory. I just re-ripped the CD and it worked fine. Also, do a "Clear and Re-Scan my library" command on Logitech Media Server.

    Anytime you have strange glitches like mutliple album listings, missing songs, or if you rip a better version of a CD you already have--make sure to run "Clear and Re-Scan."
    I think that might be the issue. I was making changes and re-scanning the library. Seems to scan EVERYTHING outside of the media folders you delegate or at first. I'll try clearing and re-scanning when I get home.

    Also, the files are good as they play fine on my desktop setup which was USB out to DAC... so I know the files are there and work/play okay. Certainly need to do some tweaking. Wish it showed the bitrate of files being played. At first it had MP3's and FLAC mixed and you could never tell which was which. Now I just have my flac files listed under "Media Folders" and it's grabbing from there.

  10. #460

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,091

    Default

    Is it just the album art your missing ?

  11. #461

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    No. that will probably be the last thing I set up. I saw some options to have dedicated art folders and what not. Some art shows up already. The issue is all the songs from one album show up (art and tracks) but wont play. Haven;t tried all material to see if it's isolated to just the one.

  12. #462

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    Drenis,

    Make sure when you are ripping you files and the program is tagging that you include the art work now. Don't skip it to add later, what a nightmare what will be.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  13. #463

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by polkatese View Post
    Agreed. I tried it for 14 days and decided to let on. SQ is definitely better than Slacker and Pandora, it just take a bit of getting used to. Slacker has a better logical user interface menu.
    I guess I should have checked the date of your post, before I replied.

  14. #464

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Drenis,

    Make sure when you are ripping you files and the program is tagging that you include the art work now. Don't skip it to add later, what a nightmare what will be.

    H9
    My trial of dbpoweramp expired so I have to purchase a copy so I can continue ripping my other discs. Wondering if I have to purchase a copy of MM as I use that now for management. I have a lot of work to do as far as sorting is concerned. Each artist has their own folder, albums in sub-folders. I have to read up on how LMS stores the metadata for the files. I saw something in the options...

  15. #465

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,237

    Default

    I use Exact Audio Copy for ripping, and MediaMonkey for cleaning up tags. Both are free.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  16. #466

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    What's LMS? You shouldn't have to look anything up as far as metadata, it's automatic unless you really mess with the standard settings. Sorting? What sorting? Each artist should have their own folder and the sub-folders are the albums.

    Don't overthink this, it's so simple.
    Last edited by heiney9; 03-09-2012 at 01:53 PM.
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  17. #467

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    I prefer dBPoweramp over EAC these days.
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  18. #468

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    What's LMS? You shouldn't have to look anything up as far as metadata, it's automatic unless you really mess with the standard settings. Sorting? What sorting? Each artist should have their own folder and the sub-folders are the albums.

    Don't overthink this, it's so simple.
    LMS = Logitech Media Server

    It's not simple when things are not so neatly organized. I have the knowledge to figure it all out. I literally played with it for an hour yesterday so I still have much to learn. Just wanted to get a quick listen in.

    I'm sure it is real simple, just need to get it set up the way I want. Some people like the formats or how information is stored and displayed differently. Hell I don't even know how the default is set up. You can grill me on simplicity AFTER the weekend.

  19. #469

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steveinaz View Post
    I use Exact Audio Copy for ripping, and MediaMonkey for cleaning up tags. Both are free.
    Don't you have to buy a copy of MM to reap the benefits of getting the tags properly updated? perhaps I need to read the differences between the two cause I'm always being prompted to buy it with some of the options I try to use.

  20. #470

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drenis View Post
    Don't you have to buy a copy of MM to reap the benefits of getting the tags properly updated? perhaps I need to read the differences between the two cause I'm always being prompted to buy it with some of the options I try to use.
    No, if you go the website there is a matrix of the free vs the gold version. I bought it simply to support the developers since I don't use the few extra features that come with the pay version.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  21. #471

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,237

    Default

    SQB/LMS is kind of strange in that some data is taken from how directories are named, and some data is pulled from the tagging info. My EAC was originally setup to include the year, ie: 1978 - Journey - Evoluton on the directories. Well, consequently this same info was displayed on the Touch. It was too much info, so I went back and changed the default setting on EAC, and took the year info off the directory names so the Touch would simply display "Journey - Evolution."

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  22. #472

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    Yes, too much info is a bad thing. I want the basics not an encyclopedia of information.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  23. #473

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steveinaz View Post
    SQB/LMS is kind of strange in that some data is taken from how directories are named, and some data is pulled from the tagging info. My EAC was originally setup to include the year, ie: 1978 - Journey - Evoluton on the directories. Well, consequently this same info was displayed on the Touch. It was too much info, so I went back and changed the default setting on EAC, and took the year info off the directory names so the Touch would simply display "Journey - Evolution."
    Player display is super easy to control for older players like the Squeezebox Classic from the LMS web interface. I never noticed this before, but now that you've pointed it out, I don't know how to control the Touch display, or whether it get's the display info from tags, or folder structure. I don't think folder structure should be a factor at all, unless tag info is missing. Maybe logitech doesn't agree with me.

  24. #474

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    It gets it's display from the same exact place as any SQB product, thru the SQB software. When I switched from the SQB III to the Touch, nothing changed because I was using the same version of the SQB software.

    Yes, that's where you will edit what info you want to display. I had forgotten that since I set mine up so long ago.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  25. #475

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Hey h9,

    http://soundcheck-audio.blogspot.com/

    Have you done this mod? First thing I noticed was my bass wasn't as it was, lacking a bit and some of the descriptions people talk about match some of my thoughts. While there were improvements I wonder if some adjustments can help with that especially with streaming the material.

  26. #476

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    It gets it's display from the same exact place as any SQB product, thru the SQB software. When I switched from the SQB III to the Touch, nothing changed because I was using the same version of the SQB software.

    Yes, that's where you will edit what info you want to display. I had forgotten that since I set mine up so long ago.

    H9
    That's where the problem is. The interface settings are not recognized by the Touch, like they are on the old players. I have the settings set to display DISCNUMBER - TRACKNUMBER, TITLE from ALBUM by ARTIST (I like too much information). My SB3 displays exactly like I have the settings configured. My Touch displays TITLE, ARTIST, ALBUM. I can get the settings to influence the Touch display, but the Touch display doesn't completely obey the settings. If I set the Interface setting to TITLE only, I get TITLE only on the Touch display. If I set it to anything else I get TITLE, ARTIST, ALBUM.

  27. #477

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    No, a friend did and it messed up his library and he had to fix it, so I stayed away. I am very happy with the standard performance so I didn't bother.

    If it ain't broke...............

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  28. #478

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gdpeck View Post
    That's where the problem is. The interface settings are not recognized by the Touch, like they are on the old players. I have the settings set to display DISCNUMBER - TRACKNUMBER, TITLE from ALBUM by ARTIST (I like too much information). My SB3 displays exactly like I have the settings configured. My Touch displays TITLE, ARTIST, ALBUM. I can get the settings to influence the Touch display, but the Touch display doesn't completely obey the settings. If I set the Interface setting to TITLE only, I get TITLE only on the Touch display. If I set it to anything else I get TITLE, ARTIST, ALBUM.
    I was fine for me, but then at the time I switched from the SQB III to the Touch, over a year ago (almost 2 now) I had no problems. Since in 2 years the software version has been updated maybe it's different today.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  29. #479

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    No, a friend did and it messed up his library and he had to fix it, so I stayed away. I am very happy with the standard performance so I didn't bother.

    If it ain't broke...............

    H9
    Still have the original PSU or done the upgrade? I was expecting a brick style external PSU but it was just a tiny adapter. I've done some reading today on the Well Wart and it's not very liked...

    Sorry. maybe this has ALL been covered in this thread. I need to re-read it all. Going to be a fun weekend. hell the damn thing isn;t even burnt in.

  30. #480

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,191

    Default

    It has been covered a LOT, but I'll throw ya a bone.

    The walwart stinks I use a Welborne Labs linear power supply, but they aren't real fast in shipping or communication. Nice product. CI Audio and a couple others sell PS for teh Touch, highly recommend it. I won't run with out it.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale Squeezebox Touch
    By MrGlobe in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 05:37 PM
  2. Need Help Squeezebox Touch?
    By FTGV in forum Electronics
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 07:07 AM
  3. Squeezebox Touch
    By bikezappa in forum Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2011, 02:22 PM
  4. FYI Free tweaks, and tips thread
    By ben62670 in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 04-27-2009, 01:58 PM
  5. BFD Tips and or Tricks...
    By McLoki in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 05:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts