Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 17 ... LastLast
Results 181 to 210 of 574
  1. #181

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,217

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nspindel View Post
    Go to the Interface tab in the SqueezeCenter settings. All sorts of customizations you can make, one of which is "Show Year with Albums". Disable that.
    It is disabled---but, I've noticed that the SQB pulls data from both tags and how you have your directories named--intermixed somewhat. My sub-directories are named including year, ie "D:\Music\Baker, Anita - 1984 - Rapture." It must be pulling the date from the directory name.

    What convention do you guys use for naming sub directories? Mine are like this:

    D:\Music....
    \Baker, Anita - 19XX - Album title
    \Beatles, The - 19XX - Album title
    etc...
    Last edited by steveinaz; 11-20-2011 at 10:01 AM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  2. #182

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    dB Power amp creates the sub directories based on the user settings.

    Mine is simple

    Music Server/ Artist / Album Name / Track name.

    I then will manually edit anyone one of those fields in MM if I need to add add'l info like "remaster" or "MFSL" or "CD 1" (for a boxset that names everything the same) whatever other identifier I find helpful. Obviously this isn't done to more than a handful of rips. If a cd has bonus live material, I may manually add "live" at the end of the track, etc. Just my own customizing which I try to be consistent with. I have 3 versions of Fleetwood Mac Rumors, MFSL, original and remaster so I label them accordingly.

    Keiko has sent me some vinyl 24/96 vinyl drops, so I manually edit some of the fields there as well something like "24/96V" after the Album Name. If you don't do it at the time you add it to your server, you'll forget and possibly not know what is what.

    That's why I said in the very beginning the tagging is VERY IMPORTANT if for no other reason than to keep things consistent.

    H9

    H9
    Last edited by heiney9; 11-20-2011 at 10:11 AM.
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  3. #183

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,217

    Default

    My tags are updated, I think it is the way I have EAC setup that is creating the sub directories "artist - year - album". The Touch is reading the sub directory name verbatim.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  4. #184

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    Steve you can leave all the info in the ID3 tag because it will show elsewhere as you scroll through the SBQ menu with the remote. Don't delete the year from the ID3 tag, simply do as Inspired suggested.

    If you go the "more info" screen on the Touch it has the year (if it's included in the rip). You just don't want it to show in your initial "chain" of information.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  5. #185

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,382

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdaudioguy View Post
    Squeeze Commander (Android app) converts flac to mp3 when downloading from my library to my phone - a cool and convenient feature. Not sure if iPeng supports anything similar.
    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Is that wirelessly? Bluetooth enabled? What Android phone do you have? I know the new Droid Bionic lets you dl stuff via bluetooth from your computer.
    Yes, wirelessly. I have a Samsung Galaxy S2, but it should work with any Android. When viewing a song, album, or artist, you can press and hold to get a menu and select download. It converts on the fly - although I'm not certain where the conversion takes place - I think it's on the SB server.

    You first have to "Enable Transcoding" in the Squeeze Commander app settings, and set the source (FLAC) and target formats (mp3). You can also choose bitrate and quality. It says that it requires SBS 7.6+. It's an easy way to squeeze more tunes from your home library onto your phone. Although, with a 32GB memory card, and the ability to play FLAC files on my phone, this is becoming less of an issue.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  6. #186

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,382

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nspindel View Post
    Go into your Squezebox Server, then to the Advanced tab, and then set the drop down to File Types. Look for FLAC under File Format, and then you should see a setting for FLAC, MP3, and PCM. Set FLAC to disabled, MP3 to disabled, and PCM to flac. This will force the flac decompression to happen on your server, and ensure that you're not streaming any mp3.

    I'd advise that you go into your player settings, and under Audio, set Volume Control to "Output level is fixed at 100%"
    I don't think I ever fiddled with the default settings here. Mine is set to:
    FLAC: Native
    MP3: flac/lame
    PCM: flac

    What does this mean? I have both FLACs and some MP3s in my collection. Is there any conversion taking place prior to streaming? Is FLAC quality being compromised?
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  7. #187

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,217

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    Steve you can leave all the info in the ID3 tag because it will show elsewhere as you scroll through the SBQ menu with the remote. Don't delete the year from the ID3 tag, simply do as Inspired suggested.

    If you go the "more info" screen on the Touch it has the year (if it's included in the rip). You just don't want it to show in your initial "chain" of information.

    H9
    10-4, I just changed directory naming to Artist - Album, didn't touch the tags.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  8. #188

    Member Sales Rating: (12)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Plainfield, Illinois
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdaudioguy View Post
    I don't think I ever fiddled with the default settings here. Mine is set to:
    FLAC: Native
    MP3: flac/lame
    PCM: flac

    What does this mean? I have both FLACs and some MP3s in my collection. Is there any conversion taking place prior to streaming? Is FLAC quality being compromised?
    Part of Soundcheck's Touch Toolbox 3.0 has you change most of the File Type settings to avoid flac decoding at the Touch. To repeat what nspindle posted.

    For FLAC, mine now reads:

    FLAC:

    AIFF : Disabled
    FLAC: Disabled
    MP3: Disabled (greyed out)
    PCM : flac

    MP3 : native

    I did get a bug after installing the Touch Toolbox 3.0. After playing an entire album, my Squeezebox app can't find the player to select another. Both with my cellphone and the Squeezebox Controller. I had to exit the app and restart it. That has never, ever happened before and I dont like it. I reset the Touch, which removes the Linux changes to it. I'll review all the settings and reapply, see what happens.
    Last edited by SCompRacer; 11-20-2011 at 12:55 PM.
    Make yourself necessary to someone. Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Salk SoundScape 8's
    Krell KSL Class A Pre w/ KSL Phono
    Krell Class A KSA-250
    Harmonic Technology Pro 9+
    Squeezebox Touch / Welborne Labs PS / I2S Out Mod
    Denon 3910 w/I2S/DSD Out
    Twisted Pear Buffalo III Dual Mono ESS Sabre32 DAC
    Sennheiser HD650
    Heavy Plinth Lenco L75 Idler Drive
    AA MG-1 Linear Air Bearing Arm
    Dynavector 17D3
    Shunyata Hydra (Original)
    NHT B-12d subs
    GIK Acoustic Treatments


    CP Showcase

  9. #189

    Member Sales Rating: (12)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Plainfield, Illinois
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    The link that nspindle previously posted. Scroll down to 1.6 for Server Based Decoding / File Type settings.
    http://soundcheck-audio.blogspot.com...oolbox-30.html
    Make yourself necessary to someone. Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Salk SoundScape 8's
    Krell KSL Class A Pre w/ KSL Phono
    Krell Class A KSA-250
    Harmonic Technology Pro 9+
    Squeezebox Touch / Welborne Labs PS / I2S Out Mod
    Denon 3910 w/I2S/DSD Out
    Twisted Pear Buffalo III Dual Mono ESS Sabre32 DAC
    Sennheiser HD650
    Heavy Plinth Lenco L75 Idler Drive
    AA MG-1 Linear Air Bearing Arm
    Dynavector 17D3
    Shunyata Hydra (Original)
    NHT B-12d subs
    GIK Acoustic Treatments


    CP Showcase

  10. #190

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,382

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SCompRacer View Post
    Part of Soundcheck's Touch Toolbox 3.0 has you change most of the File Type settings to avoid flac decoding at the Touch. To repeat what nspindle posted.

    For FLAC, mine now reads:

    FLAC:

    AIFF : Disabled
    FLAC: Disabled
    MP3: Disabled (greyed out)
    PCM : flac

    MP3 : native

    I did get a bug after installing the Touch Toolbox 3.0. After playing an entire album, my Squeezebox app can't find the player to select another. Both with my cellphone and the Squeezebox Controller. I had to exit the app and restart it. That has never, ever happened before and I dont like it. I reset the Touch, which removes the Linux changes to it. I'll review all the settings and reapply, see what happens.
    Thanks for your reply! I just bookmarked Neil's link that you kindly repeated for me. I meant to do that before, but this thread keeps growing... very informative, though!

    I'll wait to hear what's going on with your bug issue before delving into Touch Toolbox 3.0.

  11. #191
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,100

    Default

    My father-in-law and I are playing with his new Touch and have come across a question since the manual says you can plug USB storage devices straight into it. If he buys a USB harddrive and plugs it into the USB jack on the Touch, since the Touch is already on his network, will he be able to see the harddrive from his computer on that same network? Obviously a NAS drive would do this, but why spend 3x as much if it would work through the Touch. I'm trying to get hiss set-up for PC-less listening, but don't want to tell him to buy something if it wouldn't solve his problem; I'm too nice a son-in-law for that...

  12. #192

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    No, the question has actually been answered a few times.

    The USB is there for convenience and will not run an entire music server or interphase with the network.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  13. #193
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,100

    Default

    I guess my reading skills must not be up to par then...

    Quote Originally Posted by heiney9 View Post
    No, the question has actually been answered a few times.

  14. #194

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3,920

    Default

    Besides, you don't need to spend 3X as much. You can turn any USB drive into a NAS with something like this:

    http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Gigab...1903700&sr=8-2
    Good music, a good source, and good power can make SDA's sing. Tubes make them dance.

  15. #195

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,217

    Default

    Interesting, talk to me goose.....can you load SB server on that pup?

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  16. #196

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steveinaz View Post
    Interesting, talk to me goose.....can you load SB server on that pup?
    On what pup? It's a cable. The NAS need need the capablitly to run the SQB software the only one I know of that can do that (as a standalone w/no PC) is the Qnap otherwise you still need a PC.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  17. #197

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,217

    Default

    I thought it might be one of those "squeezeplug" doohickies.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  18. #198

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    Steve, I have no idea what you are talking about.

    The SQB needs a computer to run, you can buy a stand alone NAS (the only one I know of is the Qnap) for about $600-700 with the HD's in place. That will run the SQB independant of a computer. Other than that I am not aware of anything else that works as effectively, quickly and with all functions intact when using a SQB.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  19. #199

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3,920

    Default

    You can't do the transcoding from flac to pcm on server side if you run the server software on a NAS, I don't believe the processors are powerful enough.
    Good music, a good source, and good power can make SDA's sing. Tubes make them dance.

  20. #200

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    1,108

    Default

    The new software with Synology's NAS's says it will work with the Touch. I haven't tried this myself yet, but others on their forums seem to be utilizing Synology NAS's ok

    Jason
    2-Channel - So far...
    Pre: Dodd ELP
    DAC: W4S-Dac2
    Source(s): Computer and Denon 2910
    Amp: Parasound HCA-1200II
    Speakers: LSi9s - Vr3 Fortress Mod

  21. #201

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nspindel View Post
    You can't do the transcoding from flac to pcm on server side if you run the server software on a NAS, I don't believe the processors are powerful enough.
    I think they are now in the newer ones. That would be only function of the processor on the NAS and at 2.0Ghz with 512K of RAM I think it's possible, but I honestly don't know for sure. My brother has a Qnap for his SQB and has zero issues but I can't say for certain if he is transcoding from FLAC to PCM at the server.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  22. #202

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by punk-roc View Post
    The new software with Synology's NAS's says it will work with the Touch. I haven't tried this myself yet, but others on their forums seem to be utilizing Synology NAS's ok

    Jason
    I had heard that, but the jury was still out at the time. I still think I read the Qnap is a little better. I'm sure the gap will be closing.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  23. #203

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,217

    Default

    Brock, do a search on Sheeva plugs for squeezebox....it's basically a power-supply sized "computer" that some people run SQB server on.

    here: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.ph...er_for_dummies
    Last edited by steveinaz; 11-21-2011 at 03:22 PM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  24. #204

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steveinaz View Post
    Brock, do a search on Sheeva plugs for squeezebox....it's basically a power-supply sized "computer" that some people run SQB server on.
    I see, but you still need a computer, no? I don't understand how this would replace your current computer? How would you tag, rip, etc? I guess you could use that as a network device and plug a NAS into it, but what's the cost? It seems less powerful than a Qnap and I doubt it's much cheaper in the end. The sole purpose of a stand alone NAS or the Sheeva seems to be taking the processing away from the main computer. But with both you still need the device networked in order to make changes and add things to the NAS, etc.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  25. #205

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3,920

    Default

    Wow, that's pretty cool! Never saw that before. Brock, it's not meant to fully replace a computer, it's only meant to run the server component of Squeezebox. So you would rip, tag, etc. on your laptop or desktop, save the files to your nas, and then you don't need to have a full computer running just for Squeezebox. The main advantage here is power consumption, this plug thing is going to use a tiny amount of power compared to a laptop or desktop.
    Good music, a good source, and good power can make SDA's sing. Tubes make them dance.

  26. #206

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,217

    Default

    Correct, it's basically for someone who doesn't want to have to run the computer all the time, or leave the computer "stuck" where the usb hard drive is. You set it up, kick it on and leave it on. You do all your tagging/ripping/etc on your main computer.

    For instance, let's say I want to use my laptop (my main computer) on the patio---but I also want to hear my touch via usb hard drive, can't do it---well, not without a ton of inconvenience. (carry my laptop, usb hard drive, all associated cables/connectors out to the patio?..you get the idea)

    Enter the Squeezeplug.

    Nspindel, you're a computer whiz, help us figure this thing out---I like the concept!
    Last edited by steveinaz; 11-21-2011 at 03:59 PM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  27. #207

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    I guess for me I never thought about it, my PC runs 24/7 unless I'm gone for more than a day. I guess I can see the advantages if you had a laptop that wasn't on all the time or a PC you hardly ran. I run my SQB on an old Dell, since I bought a new Dell it just seemed logical. I only did it that way because I had an extra computer if it died tomorrow I'd run it off my main PC. I always assumed people mostly kept their PC's powered up, perhaps it's not that common.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  28. #208

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,185

    Default

    What is the cost of something like that? I am not sure you can run the SQB software on it. For a long time the only self sustaining NAS that was able to run the SQB software was the Qnap at a pretty hefty price. So does this plug in computer have the capability to manage a nas and run SQB?

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  29. #209

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    222

    Default

    Have you ever checked out vortexbox.org Ive used one for over a year with no issues comes pre-loaded with squeezeserver.Vortexbox to router to touch to dac.

  30. #210

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,217

    Default

    Brock, I didn't do much research, don't know what they cost. I think there are some youtube videos of people using them for different purposes. Somehow you can connect it up to a monitor using it's usb and a hub--monitor/keyboard/mouse. From there you load Media Server, plug in your usb hard drive, and you're off to the races.
    Last edited by steveinaz; 11-21-2011 at 04:17 PM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale Squeezebox Touch
    By MrGlobe in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 05:37 PM
  2. Need Help Squeezebox Touch?
    By FTGV in forum Electronics
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 07:07 AM
  3. Squeezebox Touch
    By bikezappa in forum Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2011, 02:22 PM
  4. FYI Free tweaks, and tips thread
    By ben62670 in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 04-27-2009, 01:58 PM
  5. BFD Tips and or Tricks...
    By McLoki in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 05:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts