Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    2,426

    Default Roku HD questions......

    I just ordered a Roku HD box from woot the other day for $50. We are trying to cut expenses somewhat and our FIOS bill is outrageous. I ordered this not really knowing its capability and am a bit confused. Here is what I am looking to do, so just looking to see if you all know if this is possible.

    With my work schedule right now, it is nearly impossible for us to watch live television. We DVR everything. So I am wondering, what channels can you strem through the Roku? I am assuming it would be any station that has a website that streams their content or Hulu. Also Pandora; I know it does that. Does it do local channels? If not can I simply use an attic mount HD antenna to get those signals? Any other advice you guys can give? I have read up on it, but it seems to have differing information and some contradicting. Can I get digital audio through it? And is it 720 or 1080 or does it just depend on the website / content?

    Thanks,
    Shawn
    Shawn
    Pre-Amp: Pioneer Elite VSX-94TXH
    Amp: B&K AV5000
    Center Channel: Polk LSI C
    Front: Polk LSI 9's
    Rear: LSI fx
    Subwoofer: Mirage Omni S10
    Television: Samsung LN46B640
    DVD Player: Sony BDP-S1000ES

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,238

    Default

    http://www.roku.com/

    I am not aware of any "broadcast" channels you can stream. It's not a TV receiver so you can't hook an antenae up to it. It's basically and interphase to the internet to allow streaming of whatever services they (Roku) support. And anything like Hulu, which you can stream, you need to pay a subscription fee. It also streams Netflix which is obviously a subscription fee. I am not aware of any significant content that is "free". It streams Amazon which is a subscription fee. I LOVE my Roku, but anything worthwhile to watch as a stream isn't free.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,652

    Default

    The Roku box has a limited set of channels, both natively, and a few via apps (such as uTube). I subscribe to Netflix and Hulu+ which together is about $30 month. Amazon is a pay as you watch service. Pandora is a music service. A Roku box has to be connected to the internet, so it doesn't eliminate your monthly ISP charges.
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    2,426

    Default

    I just got the roku XD hooked up and running. I have already had subscriptions to Netflix and Hulu Plus services, so for less than $20 a month I can get most of the shows that the wife and I watch. I am going to invest in a HD over the air antenna as well and get the local braodcasts. Then get rid of the FIOS TV all together. It just isn't worth the amount of money we pay a month and it would be more money in the pocket to save for things we really need. We are going to try it for a few months and see if we can do it!!!!

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,083

    Default

    I'm really tempted in doing something similar with HTPC. There are some really sexy boxes out there that are almost indestinguishable from an AVR. Even though I've cut back as much as feasibly possible - I'm still at $106 a month with Dish (All channels, no premiums, HD DVR and 2 HD boxes)

    Granted, I could always cut it more - but comparison shopping this was the best it gets for that package. My hangup? The damn Housewives show on Bravo. Wife refuses to let me start messing with our TV if she can't see some catty rich chicks get into it every week.
    50" Panasonic Vierra TC-P50VT20 (w/5 pairs glasses)
    Pioneer Elite SC-37
    Polk Monitor 70's (2)
    Polk Monitor 40's (4)
    Polk Monitor CS2
    Polk DSW Pro 660wi
    Oppo BDP-93
    Squeezebox Duet
    Belkin PureAV PF60
    Dish Network "The Hoppa"

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    got a Roku XS for Christmas over the weekend.. easy to use.. it does not have any local channels.. no prob. I already have an outdoor antenna that picks those up fine in HD.
    The Roku doesn't have all the channels that cable/satellite does.. I was looking for something last night. and that channel isn't carried. for the stuff I do watch, mostly the network broadcast channels it does those ones and more. Quite a bit of Japanimation channels too. odd, but whatever.

    Hulu+ seems to be a good choice if you have a Roku box. some of the shows taped in high def looks just like watching them as they were broadcast.. check out Modern Family on ABC through the Roku.. looks impressive.

    We got it to pick up where my laptop could not easily give us the same quality. SO far it's worked great.
    (got rid of cable TV almost a year ago)
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    2,426

    Default

    We figured a few things in getting rid of cable:
    1. We spend needless time watching television when we could be something way more productive. Why? Because there is always something to watch on cable!!!!!! I don't even WANT to watch half the crap I do, but get sucked in. Part of it is self restraint, I realize. Hell, it may force me to read which is never a bad thing.
    2. The cost was just exorbitant. I could no longer justify spending as much as we do on FIOS TV. It is blatantly ridiculous, especially considering the many other uses that the money could go to (ie- paying debt, contributing more to the kids college fund, etc).
    3. We can find just about everything we want to watch on hulu plus, netflix or local broadcast (just spent $40 on a roof mount hdtv antenna that I will install later this week). Anything else, we can wait until it comes out on DVD and get it from redbox. Truly the only show I will miss is The Walking Dead. Might have to go to the neighbors for that!!!!
    4. I work 80-90 hours per week, 7 days a week the vast majority of the year. We typically don't get to see the episodes of TV that we want until a week or two later on DVR anyway. Now we'll just have to wait until it is available on hulu or other service.

    Shawn

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    2,426

    Default

    Ok, so another dilemma. I want to hook this up for dolby digital sound. It is not the HD model, but the XD model. I only have one HDMI output on the rear panel of my avr and it is currently occupied. So is there a way to rig this so I can get the Roku hooked up for 5.1 surround sound? I am assuming an HDMI switch would do the trick, but maybe there are other options?

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,083

    Default

    Are you saying you have just 1 HDMI, or just 1 output? I would expect that you would just go Roku HDMI out, to AVR HDMI <cab/sat> in. Then go out from the AVR to the TV so you can utilize the HDMI switching of the receiver.
    50" Panasonic Vierra TC-P50VT20 (w/5 pairs glasses)
    Pioneer Elite SC-37
    Polk Monitor 70's (2)
    Polk Monitor 40's (4)
    Polk Monitor CS2
    Polk DSW Pro 660wi
    Oppo BDP-93
    Squeezebox Duet
    Belkin PureAV PF60
    Dish Network "The Hoppa"

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    2,426

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Glowrdr View Post
    Are you saying you have just 1 HDMI, or just 1 output? I would expect that you would just go Roku HDMI out, to AVR HDMI <cab/sat> in. Then go out from the AVR to the TV so you can utilize the HDMI switching of the receiver.
    I have 4 HDMI inputs; only 1 output on my AVR. If the output is already occupied, how can I get around it? If I use the output to go to the TV and have inputs relegated for blu ray, FIOS and Roku, will the AVR switch it internally? I think I am overcomplicating this and confusing myself.

    Also, if this is the case, won't there be a compatability issue since the ROKU is always on (no way to power off)?

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,083

    Default

    You're making this harder than it needs to be. lol

    Just plug everything that you need into your inputs. Then go out to your TV. Set your TV to whatever input the HDMI is going to. Then you leave your TV there permanantly, and just change the input on the receiver. All done.
    50" Panasonic Vierra TC-P50VT20 (w/5 pairs glasses)
    Pioneer Elite SC-37
    Polk Monitor 70's (2)
    Polk Monitor 40's (4)
    Polk Monitor CS2
    Polk DSW Pro 660wi
    Oppo BDP-93
    Squeezebox Duet
    Belkin PureAV PF60
    Dish Network "The Hoppa"

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    2,426

    Default

    Awesome; I don't know why I couldn't think of that myself. It's weird; I have hooked up hundreds of components and am sitting at work trying to figure this out without being at the equipment and my brain started to fry!!!! Thanks for the guidance and help, man. Much appreciated!

    Shawn

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    2,426

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Glowrdr View Post
    You're making this harder than it needs to be. lol

    Just plug everything that you need into your inputs. Then go out to your TV. Set your TV to whatever input the HDMI is going to. Then you leave your TV there permanantly, and just change the input on the receiver. All done.
    Got it all set-up and everything is working fine. I have the setting for the player to 5.1 and my AVR set to "AUTO-SURROUND". However, I have watched an episode of terra nova on hulu plus and limitless on netflix (all fairly new releases and I assume broadcast in dolby digital). However, I am not getting digital sound. It is only playing in stereo sound. Am I missing something? Thanks again for all the help and advice.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brownsburg, Indiana
    Posts
    9,683

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shawn474 View Post
    Got it all set-up and everything is working fine. I have the setting for the player to 5.1 and my AVR set to "AUTO-SURROUND". However, I have watched an episode of terra nova on hulu plus and limitless on netflix (all fairly new releases and I assume broadcast in dolby digital). However, I am not getting digital sound. It is only playing in stereo sound. Am I missing something? Thanks again for all the help and advice.
    I found this on Roku's site:

    ______________________
    Can Netflix on Roku play audio in 5.1?

    Roku Support
    posted this on Jul-29 14:33

    Yes. However, only Roku 2 series players support 5.1 audio streaming. Not all Netflix titles are available in 5.1 audio. If a movie or TV show title is available in 5.1 audio, a 5.1 icon will be displayed on that title?s details screen.

    To turn on 5.1 audio, first select a title you wish to watch instantly. Next, select audio & subtitles to select the 5.1 audio option, if one is available. Once selected, press BACK on your Roku remote to exit the audio & subtitles selection screen.

    Please note that you must have your Roku player connected directly to a receiver capable of decoding Dolby Digital Plus. Also, you must ensure your audio mode is set to 5.1 surround. From the Roku home screen, select Settings > Audio mode > 5.1 surround.
    ______________________

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    2,426

    Default

    This is definitely going to work; just got my HD antenna. Hooked it up and have close to 40 local HDTV channels. With the Roku and subscription to Netflix and Hulu Plus, we are set to save a lot of money each month. I am pretty happy with the quality and with teh variety that we will still get and am very happy with the money we will save. To us it is worth it.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,083

    Default

    I don't think I'm too far behind you man. Once my contract is up.... there is going to be some serious debate going on around here.
    50" Panasonic Vierra TC-P50VT20 (w/5 pairs glasses)
    Pioneer Elite SC-37
    Polk Monitor 70's (2)
    Polk Monitor 40's (4)
    Polk Monitor CS2
    Polk DSW Pro 660wi
    Oppo BDP-93
    Squeezebox Duet
    Belkin PureAV PF60
    Dish Network "The Hoppa"

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,652

    Default

    I got rid of cable TV about 5 yrs ago. Went with a Netflix subsription and Roku boxes in the main HT and bedroom. A couple of nice Antenna's Direct HD TV antenna's for local HD channels. So at around $100 month I've saved around $6000 in cable TV charges. There's few things I miss about cable TV.
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Roku XD
    By Grimster74 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 02:06 PM
  2. Review Netflix and Roku
    By NeilGabriel in forum Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 08:54 AM
  3. Netflix and Roku question
    By NeilGabriel in forum Music & Movies
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 11:24 PM
  4. Need Help ROKU and HDMI splitter
    By NeilGabriel in forum Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 10:42 AM
  5. Hooked up the Roku box this weekend...
    By kevhed72 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 04:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts