Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Member Sales Rating: (0)

Default Powering up AVR and Amp

Hey everyone,

I just got my B&K ST2140 and I'm going to be setting it up tonight. I see it has the low voltage I/O control input, and my AVR has an output. Is this a good way to power up and off the amp every time? I've read the proper way to turn on an amp is to power it on after your preamp, and power it down before you turn off your preamp. Obviously using this method, the AVR would be turning off before the amp. Is this ok? I don't mind turning them each on and off separately, but if I can add the convenience, why not?

If it is ok, do I just use a 1/8" mono jack? Or can I use a stereo 1/8" jack? I have the stereo, but I can stop at radio shack and pick up a mono if I have to.

Please pardon the newb questions, as this is my first time ever dealing with an amp.
    AVR - Yamaha Aventage RX-A800
    Amps - B&K Components ST2140 (for mains) and Parasound HCA-1000A (bi-amping center)
    Mains - RT1000i Towers
    Center - CS400i
    Sub - BIC Acoustech PL200

My neighbors listen to very good music, whether they like it or not

Member Sales Rating: (2)

AKA, a 12V trigger. I've used a stereo cable and it worked fine. Don't know if other amp/AVR combos are more particular, but if the electrical signal can make it from one unit to the other, you'll be fine.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic