Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Surroundbar 4000 increasing volume on its own

    I recently bought a surroundbar 4000, hooked it up and after a few minutes the volume starting increasing on its own. I had to shut it off and turn back on to gain control again, this happened a few more times within 10-20 minutes I finally shut it off and called Polk tech support. I was told probably a bad amplifier and to return for a new one, which I did. I hooked up the new one and went a few hours before it started happening again. I tried all the trouble shooting I could think of. changed the channels, blocked the IR receiver (in case a signal was coming from outside source) I am connect to a Samsung P550 series tv via the optical out. any advise?

  2. #2
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,844

    Default

    Hello Fisherwd,
    Thanks for posting on CP's forum. Can you tell me which remote you may have used to program the bar?
    Regards, Ken

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Used the factory remote at first, and then programmed with the remote for my cable box, universal brand remote for a scientific atlanta cable box.

  4. #4
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,844

    Default

    Hello,
    That might be a contributing factor. Let's try a test. Place the bar in the standby mode (green LED turns amber), then touch the "learn" button for a count of two. The amber LED should blink twice then go a steady amber. Now the bar will respond to the Polk remote but nothing else. Now see if the volume makes any changes.
    The problem with using the cable remote to teach the bar is it sends too much information, since it has to control many different devices. The bar needs to be programed with a "single language" remote, such as the TV remote (providing the TV remote is an IR remote, not RF).
    Let us know what happens.
    Ken

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    still did it with the factory remote, although I believe I resolved the problem, I had the speaker sitting on a shelf the top 1-1/2" of the speaker was in the front of the tv. I tried isolating the tv to see if it was a problem by hooking up my iPod to the 2nd source on the speaker, played the iPod for a few hours with the tv off an no disturbance. I then raised the tv up another 1 1/2" so the speaker was sitting directly under the tv and so far so good. I guess the speaker was catching some king if interference from the tv....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help SurroundBar 3000: Questions re volume and sound for HD channels
    By mdk in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 07:21 PM
  2. FYI SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater High Volume Troubleshooting
    By dubradio in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 03:05 AM
  3. Hype meter increasing!
    By mutelight in forum Video Games
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 09:20 PM
  4. Increasing performance of my Bic-h100 sub
    By Gizmo99 in forum Speakers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 12:50 AM
  5. Increasing the soundstage on my LSI 15's
    By tcrossma in forum Speakers
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 01-19-2008, 03:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts