Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    IN
    Posts
    269

    Default Did my head unit just die ? Need help

    I have an Alpine 9886 and when i came back out from dinner to drive home, there was no sound from any source(tuner, cd, ipod). Got home and looked at sub amp (pa1200.1) and it was in protect mode, so I unplugged the sub and it stayed in protect mode. Pulled head unit and disconnected rca going back, came out of protect mode. Tried another set of rcas from head unit to amp and as soon as i plugged into amp it went into protect mode.
    I also tried to use my iphone with an adapter that goes to male rcas and hooked it up to amp, but now sound from sub. Does the iphone have enough siginal to be used as input to the amp?
    Not sure where to go from here.

    Thanks,
    Rob
    mains: rt16
    center: csi40
    surrounds:fx 1000
    sub: SVS 20-39pc+

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,670

    Default

    I'm not a car audio guy, but that sound like like an amp issue than an issue with the head unit. Maybe overheating or a blown fuse, fuse on the amp would be the first thing I'd check if it's got an external fuse. Then I'd check the fuse in the car's electrical panel just to be sure.

    Like I said though I don't know squat about all that...
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mid-Michigan
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    Does the head unit light up and turn on?
    Speakers:SDA2a, sub:Atlantic Technologies 172 PBM
    Pre:B&K PRO-10MC(2ch)
    Amps:Parasound HCA 1000a
    SourcesOppo DV-970HD, Xbox360, Kenwood KT-5300
    Cables:Philips/RCA/Monster

    Life's short, Listen to SDA's
    Life is short live Sui Juris
    Where did SOPA go?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    IN
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Head unit powers up and all functions work like normal, its like no output thur the rca outputs.
    Amp powers up too with green light until i plug in rca's from head unit and then the led on the amp turns red indicating protect mode.
    mains: rt16
    center: csi40
    surrounds:fx 1000
    sub: SVS 20-39pc+

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Delhi - India
    Posts
    813

    Default

    If the amp turns on and doesn't go into protect mode till you connect the RCA's, I would check the RCA's or the HU first. Try swapping the rca for a different pair. If the amp still goes into protect mode then I'd look at the hu.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    1,285

    Default

    Are you powering the mids/highs with the head unit or another amp? When you disconnect the RCAs and power off and on the head unit do you still get no sound through the mids/highs?

    If you are powering them through the head unit, and you still get no sound after disconnecting the RCAs and rebooting your head unit, I'm quite sure the head unit is toast.

    However, if you are powering them from a separate amp, or you get sound from them after rebooting the head unit, then try this:
    Connect the HU RCAs to a set of powered speakers (or a even a home amp/receiver with a long extension cord). If you are able to connect this up to the HU and get sound, then your outboard amp is the problem. If not, then the HU is the problem.
    Last edited by BeefJerky; 01-14-2012 at 08:23 AM.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    IN
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Thanks guys,
    I have an amp running the mids/ highs and a amp running the sub. No sound from either amp. I should have been more clear. Going back out this morning and recheck everything and see what happens.
    Thanks
    Rob
    mains: rt16
    center: csi40
    surrounds:fx 1000
    sub: SVS 20-39pc+

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    1,285

    Default

    Okay, I would still try hooking up a set of powered speakers to the front L&R HU outputs just to confirm.

    Also, have you tried doing a factory reset on the unit? There is usually a small button that you press with a small paperclip to do so. If that doesn't work to get sound out of the RCA outputs, then it looks like you will need to replace the HU.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    IN
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Got it fixed,both amps are toast. sub amp powers up, but no sound. Mid/highs amp will not power up at all.
    Got a spare amp out and recheck all connection and everything is working. The polk pa1200.1 must have been on its way out, getting alot more sound of a bridged channel of a 4-channel amp.
    The mid/highs amp was a old rockford power 750, i guess it was time for it to go.
    Now have to get back to adjusting everything again, Thanks for the help!!
    Rob

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mid-Michigan
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    If both amps failed at the same time I think it would be wise to go over all of the system wiring as well as having your charging/electrical system checked. Good luck.
    Speakers:SDA2a, sub:Atlantic Technologies 172 PBM
    Pre:B&K PRO-10MC(2ch)
    Amps:Parasound HCA 1000a
    SourcesOppo DV-970HD, Xbox360, Kenwood KT-5300
    Cables:Philips/RCA/Monster

    Life's short, Listen to SDA's
    Life is short live Sui Juris
    Where did SOPA go?

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mid-Michigan
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    Did you also check the fuses on the amps to make sure that is not the issue? I know some people just over look them.
    Speakers:SDA2a, sub:Atlantic Technologies 172 PBM
    Pre:B&K PRO-10MC(2ch)
    Amps:Parasound HCA 1000a
    SourcesOppo DV-970HD, Xbox360, Kenwood KT-5300
    Cables:Philips/RCA/Monster

    Life's short, Listen to SDA's
    Life is short live Sui Juris
    Where did SOPA go?

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    IN
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Update, The DA (dumb a$$) doing the testing on the mid/high amp forgot to hook up the remote wire. The remote on this amp uses a female spade connection. So only the sub amp is toast, causing all the trouble.
    Rob
    mains: rt16
    center: csi40
    surrounds:fx 1000
    sub: SVS 20-39pc+

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    Man that sucks. I think the PA amps had some quality control issues. My 2 channel recently died on me and my 4 channel has always had turn off pops. I really hope their new D series amps are better built.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    IN
    Posts
    269

    Default

    A sales guy told me the had problems with them too. But I just thought he was trying to push another brand. Was kinda hoping it was the head unit, so I could upgrade to a Kenwood kdc-995 to have more options on tuning.
    mains: rt16
    center: csi40
    surrounds:fx 1000
    sub: SVS 20-39pc+

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    Well you still can.

    Never a bad idea to upgrade.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Big $$$ Head Unit Help!!!
    By x1900xtx in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-14-2007, 10:29 AM
  2. Which head unit would you keep?
    By powerlord in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-26-2007, 05:00 PM
  3. New head unit
    By MacLeod in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 142
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 10:49 PM
  4. where to buy head unit?
    By danger boy in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-01-2004, 04:07 PM
  5. Head Unit
    By Guest in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-25-2003, 04:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts