Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: DBpoweramp

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,860

    Default DBpoweramp

    Hey folks,

    I've just downloaded this software out to trial it before I buy. I'm still learning and poking around but a question for those here who use this software.

    1. What FLAC compression level do you use when encoding a CD rip? Level 5 is default and still adds compression. Anyone use the highest setting (8) or Lossless? I'm assuming there will be no audible difference between the default setting and the highest setting as long as the source can process uncompressing the lossless file?

    I'm going to re-rip my entire CD collection of what I have now and begin the new journey into my digital collection. The software has already calibrated my CD ROM drive or the offset as it calls it.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (22)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Directly over the center of the earth in Olathe Kansas
    Posts
    5,825

    Default

    I don't use dpa but why not use aiff format?
    Speakers: SDA-1C (most all the goodies)
    Preamp: Joule Electra LA-150 MKII SE
    Amp: Wright WPA 50-50 EAT KT88s
    Analog: Marantz TT-15S1 MBS Glider SL| Wright WPP100C Amperex BB 6er5 and 7316 & WPM-100 SUT
    Digital: Mac mini 2.3GHz dual-core i5 8g RAM 1.5 TB HDD Music Server Amarra (memory play) - USB - W4S DAC 2
    Cables: Mits S3 IC and Spk cables| PS Audio PCs

    Ofc: Wright WLA12 preamp: Anthem Amp 1: Pio Elite DV-79AVI: Airport Express: CAL Sigma II DAC: PA LS90 sonicaps and mills

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In A Van Down By The River
    Posts
    21,236

    Default

    I use 8 which is the smallest final product. No difference in sound, just might take a minute or so longer to encode at level 8. Never looked how much space it actually saves, but why not make your files the smallest as possible, no harm in that.

    Plus, dB Poweramp has a checksum file associated with almost every song out there, so it compares your rip to a perfect known perfect rip. Very cool.

    H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass

    Pass Aleph 30; Eastern Electric Mini Max; Adcom GDA600; MIT S3/Z Pc; SDA 1C; Squeezebox; Tubes add soul!

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    3,471

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drenis View Post
    ...Level 5 is default and still adds compression. Anyone use the highest setting (8) or Lossless?
    Huh?

    All FLAC is lossless, regardless of Level setting.


    The difference in levels has nothing to do with quality. Perfect is perfect. The higher the level number, the smaller the file is, but it takes longer to encode. The lower the Level number, the bigger the resulting file is, but it's quicker to encode.

    If you have a fast processor, you might as well use a high level setting to save hard drive space.
    2-Channel:

    Source 1: PC
    Source 2: Rega Apollo CDP
    USB > SPDIF Converter: Stello U3
    DAC: Audio GD NFB-7
    Preamp: Audio Research LS-15
    Power Amp: BAT VK-500
    Speakers: Magnepan 3.7's

    HT:

    Source 1: HTPC
    Source 2: Oppo 103
    Pre/Pro: Marantz av8003
    Power Amp: Rotel RMB-1095
    Fronts: LSiM-705's
    Center: LSiM-704c
    Surrounds: LSiM-702's
    Subs: Dual SVS PC12-NSD's

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default

    As falcon and h9 noted, it is file compression not audio compression. save yourself some disk space and stick with level 8.
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

    Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

    2 Channel:
    Polk LSi9 (xo mods), Polk DSW MicroPro 2000 sub | NAD c375BEE | W4S DAC1 | SB Touch | Marantz SA-8001 | MIT AVt 2 | Kimber Hero / AQ / Signal ICs | Shunyata / Signal PCs

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    Hmm,

    You're right. I think I read the snippet from the db help file wrong. I assumed the larger the file the better the output but that doesn't make sense. LOL

    Alright, I'll rip a couple albums and see what happens. I'll use the Level 8 setting then. That's alright that it's not necessary to use the largest file size option to save on space but get the same exact bit perfect quality output.

    Edit: Do you always verify written audio?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    3,471

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drenis View Post
    ...I assumed the larger the file the better the output...
    That can be true with lossy compression methods like mp3, ie. a 64 bit mp3 will sound worse than a 320 bit mp3, but with FLAC it doesn't make a difference.
    2-Channel:

    Source 1: PC
    Source 2: Rega Apollo CDP
    USB > SPDIF Converter: Stello U3
    DAC: Audio GD NFB-7
    Preamp: Audio Research LS-15
    Power Amp: BAT VK-500
    Speakers: Magnepan 3.7's

    HT:

    Source 1: HTPC
    Source 2: Oppo 103
    Pre/Pro: Marantz av8003
    Power Amp: Rotel RMB-1095
    Fronts: LSiM-705's
    Center: LSiM-704c
    Surrounds: LSiM-702's
    Subs: Dual SVS PC12-NSD's

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    DFW Area
    Posts
    1,102

    Default

    Just be aware that some portable players will specify what level .FLAC they can deal with. If your going to be using the files in portable play, might want to check the specs of your player.


    I always run the verified audio. I have 3 CD players I can use for ripping. Sometimes one won't read it right and one of the others will. I have had a few CD's with a lot of errors on them that I just rip at a later time. Depending on how many errors you have, it can take a while to get the errors resolved.

    Scott
    Without music to decorate it, time is just a bunch of boring production deadlines or dates by which bills must be paid. ..... Frank Zappa

    My Mid-Fi Systems - In The Showcase

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gadabout View Post
    Just be aware that some portable players will specify what level .FLAC they can deal with.
    The higher compression levels also require more CPU power to decode when you're playing the files so it's not just the encoding you need to consider but also the decoding.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    A place called Winnipeg
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    I noticed it spits back AccurateRip results and where one showed up as incorrect, I re-ripped it with success. I'm enjoying the program so far. I also like how it corrects the tags by utilizing multiple sources to get this information accurately. I'm also digging how it sorts and saves your files. I'm used to having everything in one folder and not separated into multiple folders by artist and so on.

    Really digging so far. I'll rip some more and see how it goes but I think this will become my new standard for ripping.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. dbPowerAmp is pissing me off...
    By AsSiMiLaTeD in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 08:01 PM
  2. Need Help EAC vs Dbpoweramp
    By coolsax in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-17-2011, 11:02 PM
  3. Mediamonkey or Dbpoweramp?
    By Ricardo in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 74
    Last Post: 02-05-2011, 02:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts