Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Polk Soundbar 3000 Sound Cuts IN.

    Hello! New to the forum, came to ask about a problem that my sound bar seems to be having. I got it from Frys back in December and hadn't noticed that it's been doing this since day one so I think it's already past it's return point. :/

    I'm using the digital connection from my Samsung D630 TV to the sound bar - the interesting thing is that the sound doesn't cut out, but rather IN. For instance, when going through the PS3 menu there is normally a 1/8 second click as you go between items, but it doesn't play the sound unless you do about 5 moves in rapid succession, and even then the volume crescendos up.

    Another instance when I found it was Family Guy, there is silence inbetween when the characters are speaking sometimes and when someone would start talking again their voice would be completely silent and then crescendo again to normal volume in about 1 second, and you'd miss the first word or so.

    Does anyone have similar problems or perhaps a solution? Is it a setting on my TV?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    Is the TV set to Dolby Digital out on the digital audio connection? If so, try changing it to PCM and see if that helps.

    Otherwise, I would suggest checking if you have a volume normalizer setting on your TV, such as Auto Volume. But that shouldn't matter on the digital connection, very few devices I've seen can normalize the level over coax/optical.
    polkaudio RT35 Bookshelves
    polkaudio 255c-RT Inwalls
    polkaudio DSWPro550WI
    polkaudio XRT12 XM Tuner
    polkaudio RM6750 5.1

    Front projection, 2 channel, car audio... life is good!

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Serendipity View Post
    Is the TV set to Dolby Digital out on the digital audio connection? If so, try changing it to PCM and see if that helps.

    Otherwise, I would suggest checking if you have a volume normalizer setting on your TV, such as Auto Volume. But that shouldn't matter on the digital connection, very few devices I've seen can normalize the level over coax/optical.
    The tv is set to PCM, and the audio delay is set to zero. I actually thought it was going to be the problem, but when I tested it again the cresendoing volume was still there.

  4. #4
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,850

    Default

    Hello TP,
    It almost sounds as though there is some kind of dynamic compression being used, maybe as a way of controlling the difference between loud commercials and regular programming. See if there is any kind of setting in the TV's audio menu that involve level settings or compression. Every TV company has a different way of describing these kinds of settings so there's no real way of knowing what it might be called.
    Regards, Ken

  5. #5
    Polk Customer Service
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    725

    Default

    Another option would be to connect the bar directly to the optical output on the cable box to see if this problem persists.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tastypotato View Post
    The tv is set to PCM, and the audio delay is set to zero. I actually thought it was going to be the problem, but when I tested it again the cresendoing volume was still there.
    What happens if you use the optical connection like Kim suggested?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2012, 11:58 AM
  2. Need Help soundbar 3000 cuts out
    By JeffN in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-02-2012, 04:38 PM
  3. Need Help Soundbar IHT 6000 Problem sound cuts off
    By erspence in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-01-2011, 11:59 PM
  4. Sound Delay with Soundbar 3000
    By jerrystoecklein in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-2011, 10:14 AM
  5. Need Help Soundbar 3000 - no sound from dvd
    By brewwizard in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2011, 04:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts