Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default soundbar 3000 remote help

    I just recently purchased the soundbar 3000. The problem I have is that I can't get my tv or directv remote to sync to the soundbar. I tried using the learn feature on the soundbar itself, and I also tried using the codes provided by directv for their remote. I would really like this to sync. I hate having to use so many remotes.

  2. #2
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,705

    Default

    Hello,
    Thanks for posting on Polk's forum. Most of the time you can use the TV remote to teach the SurroundBar, but a cable set top box or satellite dish remote won't work because they transmit too many control codes simultaneously. The only time a TV remote has problems is if it is a RF remote instead of an IR type. The way to test your TV remote is try to use it with a pillow in front, if your TV still responds then the remove uses RF. But if the TV doesn't respond then you should be able to use it.
    If so, the first thing to do is wipe out any instructions you've already entered. To do this, place the SB in standby mode, the LED will be amber colored. Then touch the "learn" button for two seconds, the amber LED will blink twice and go steady amber. This means the learning function is now clear and you should be able to teach the SB the TV remote's function. Then once this is done the Direct TV remote should control the SB.
    Regards, Ken

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    Unfortunately, some satellite box remotes are RF and therefore won't work with the SurroundBar.
    polkaudio RT35 Bookshelves
    polkaudio 255c-RT Inwalls
    polkaudio DSWPro550WI
    polkaudio XRT12 XM Tuner
    polkaudio RM6750 5.1

    Front projection, 2 channel, car audio... life is good!

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Cannot sync the Surroundbar 6000 with DirectTV remote

    I have similar problems trying to use the DirecTV remote to control the Surroundbar 6000.

    First, trying to "teach" the TV's remote through the "learn" function only works for the volume up function. Trying to program the volume down function does not work (when "learned," pressing volume down on the remote INCREASES the volume output). Also, there are no instructions given for "learning" on/off or mute control functions.

    Next, trying the option for programming the DirecTV remote to control the soundbar on AUD 1 or 2 (thus bypassing the "learn" feature entirely) requires a code to emulate the Polk Surroundbar 6000. Regretfully, none of the PolkAudio codes listed by DirecTV works for this soundbar. Why not? Are there other code[s] that can possibly work?

    Failure to sync the volume up and down, mute, and on/off functions would be a fatal flaw for this otherwise fine soundbar! Advise please!!!

  5. #5
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,705

    Default

    Hello sho50,
    The problem is that the DirecTV remote is not the best remote to use, since it has to control lots of different devices it confuses the Polk. You want to follow the instructions I gave in post #2 above.
    Regards, Ken

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Ken
    Novice user.
    very pleased with the product. Need help with remote programming.
    could you explain a little more about the last 2 sentences?
    does the TV remote (I have a VIZIO) have to be used or set before trying to program the DirectV remote to control the SurroundBAR3000? If so, what functions am I trying to set on the TV remote (which I don't normally use)?
    I understand about the clear previous commands, but an unsure how then to proceed.
    a reply to rvlukens@msn.com would be appreciated. Thanks
    Richard
    Last edited by Richard9632; 02-02-2013 at 01:51 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-31-2012, 01:17 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2012, 11:58 AM
  3. Need Help Soundbar 3000 Remote...
    By scott0813 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2011, 10:57 PM
  4. Need Help Soundbar 3000 IHT
    By aaxiss in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 01:15 PM
  5. Need Help using apple TV with soundbar 3000
    By dgmaxfli in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2010, 01:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts