Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19

    Default Lanzar Power Cap

    Hey folks,

    Im nearly finshed my install now and its sounding really sweet.

    But im stuck on something and its really confusing me.

    Ive bought a used Lazar Opticap 500 (50 farad) capicitor and i cant get it to work at all. The cap itself is charging fine and its puting out a constant steady voltage. But i cant get it to switch on, so its not giving out a remote signal to the amps and thus the caps voltage display or meter doesnt work. Ive checked all wiring and there is a remote signal going into it, but not out obviously.

    What does confuse me is the fact that it says its a 16v cap???? my car only gives out around 14.3v when engine is running, is this the problem?? what car systems run on higher 16v currents?? surely the cap should work at this voltage?

    regards
    Vince

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2,459

    Default

    Why do you want/need a cap? Just being nosy.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Caps help out with dimming lights if you are at the borderline. Example, if your lights are dimming and your alternator is just a tiny bit too weak for your system, a Cap will help. If there is any serious deficiency then a Cap will not do much.

    Caps also can increase SQ by acting something like a power conditioner filtering out noise and maintaining a constant voltage. However, noise won't matter for subs-you can't hear noise that low unless it is REALLY bad.

    It sounds like you don't have dimming lights so you don't really need the Cap. There most likely won't be any significant audible difference.
    Audison Bit Ten
    Kenwood X595
    Polk MM6501
    Polk MM1240
    Mtx 704x
    Alpine MRX50

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    battle creek MI
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Check your wiring, if its hooked up as lanzar specifys it should pop on anytime voltage has been raised ( by starting the car) if the display always shows nothing, well you may have the polaritys reveresed as well, and if it still ain't work, take it out and leave it out until you need it, and even then just keep it out! Get an optima battery and upgrade alternator with a mechman unit, youl never need a cap again!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 51
    Last Post: 05-26-2007, 12:28 AM
  2. 3 10" Lanzar 800 watt 4 ohm subs
    By 86_CaMaRo in forum Car Subwoofer Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2007, 01:36 AM
  3. Lanzar VHC2000
    By Lundarius in forum Car Subwoofer Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-24-2004, 09:22 PM
  4. Polk mm104 w/2 channel 2000watt max Lanzar amp
    By Doug in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-29-2003, 08:51 PM
  5. lanzar optidrive 50
    By frank in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2003, 11:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts