Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Member Sales Rating: (20)

Default Digital Camera Suggestions

I'm in the market for a new compact digital camera to replace a 10 year old Kodak. Budget is probably up to $300. I'm looking for a solid all-around performer for family use indoors and out, but I'm not an expert in camera technology. I know Nikon and Canon are popular and I've heard good things about Panasonic. I started my search at Costco, because they have some decent deals right now (for a few more days). Here's what I've found I like there:

Nikon S9300

Panasonic DMC-ZS19

Panasonic DMC-SZ7

Thoughts on these? Any other brands or models I should consider? Specific things I should look for?

I'm a big Nikon fan on the slr side, but honestly I prefer canon for the compact types.
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

Quote Originally Posted by AsSiMiLaTeD View Post
    I'm a big Nikon fan on the slr side, but honestly I prefer canon for the compact types.
    What makes you prefer Canon? Any particular Canon model?

Member Sales Rating: (0)

You can check out Sears Outlet. They carry Sony, Nikon, and Canon. For $300, you might be able to find some of the entry level SLR's near you and get a heck of a deal. I preferred my Sony A230 to the comparable Nikon/Canon models when I bought might.
    Usher CP-6311, Shuguang S200MK, Shuguang S845MK, Pioneer BDP-51fd, Douglas IC's, AQ cv-8 SC's, Pangea/Douglas PC's, Epson 8100

Member Sales Rating: (8)