Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The heart of Texas
    Posts
    1,834

    Default Google Music and Media Monkey

    Ok all, a little background on my question:

    So about a year ago I got a squeezebox and starting re-ripping all my cds in lossless formats. In my haste, I was using wav since all I had was itunes and WMP. I soon realized (after ripping literally HUNDREDS of albums) that NONE of the first tracks were tagged properly. So I bought media monkey and migrated everything over. Again in my haste, I told media monkey to auto organize everything. OMG that was a bad idea. It took me many hours over several weeks to get most of music manually tagged properly. PITA! So of course I now rip everything in flac and make sure its tagged properly up front. Lesson learned!

    Now for the question: I finally finished, and realized that google music would be the best way for me to listen to my library at work and on the go on my phone. But of course, GM won't upload wav files, so I am slowly trying to convert everything that's in wav to flac. But as I do I am realizing that some of my music still isn't tagged properly because it shows up in GM all weird. So here's the problem: when I re-tag it in MM, it doesn't change the way its organized in GM. And since the problem generally is that single tracks are listed in GM instead of albums, manually deleting is a pain. In the logitech media server, I can just click scan for changes and it takes care of it. But I don't see anything like that in GM. Any suggestions? Or am I stuck manually deleting the tracks?

    Thanks!
    HT Rig:
    Mains, Center Surround - Klipsch KHC - 6 In-Ceiling
    Center - Polk cs400i
    Surrounds - Monoprice in-ceiling
    Sub - SVS PB10-ISD
    Receiver - Pioneer VSX-1018ah-k
    Server - Logitech Squeezebox Duet
    Blu-ray - Sony BDP-S390
    DVR - DirecTV Genie + AM21
    Display - Samsung PN43E450 Plasma


    Two Channel PC Rig (In progress)
    Dell Studio 540s-->Pangea USB Cable-->HRT Music Streamer II DAC-->MIT AVT1-->Dayton DTA 100a-->MIT EXP2-->Polk Monitor 5 w/Peerless

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,473

    Default

    Some info that is displayed is taken from the tagging, some is taken from the naming convention you used in your music directory. Find a song/album that's not appearing right, and try renaming the file, rather than messing with it's tagging.

    Transport: Oppo BDP-103/USB HDD (flac)
    DAC/Preamp: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Cables: Kimber Hero/8TC; DH Labs D-75

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,473

    Default

    Another "down the road" option could be to put your music on a NAS. This way it would be available (internet addressable), wherever you are.

    Transport: Oppo BDP-103/USB HDD (flac)
    DAC/Preamp: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Cables: Kimber Hero/8TC; DH Labs D-75

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The heart of Texas
    Posts
    1,834

    Default

    Yes in MM I have it set up so that when I change the properties and then click "auto-organize files" it changes the actual file name. I can then tell logitech MM to rescan and it picks up the changes, but the problem is that google music does not (as far as I can tell) have that rescanning feature. Which means I have two media librarys to manually alter, which is a pain. I hope I am just missing the rescan option in GM.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,473

    Default

    I see. That's odd, how does GM pick up newly added music?

    Transport: Oppo BDP-103/USB HDD (flac)
    DAC/Preamp: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Cables: Kimber Hero/8TC; DH Labs D-75

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The heart of Texas
    Posts
    1,834

    Default

    I have it set to autoscan my music folder and upload new files when I add them. but so far changing a file's properties does not prompt google music to re-upload it, and I cannot find away to tell to look for changed files like I can in logitech media server.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,473

    Default

    Maybe delete the "offending" folder or file from GM, and then re-scan?

    Transport: Oppo BDP-103/USB HDD (flac)
    DAC/Preamp: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Cables: Kimber Hero/8TC; DH Labs D-75

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The heart of Texas
    Posts
    1,834

    Default

    yea I admit I am being a bit lazy here, but there are at least 15-20 files and I have to select each one individually and manually delete, then Gm reorganizes the files before I can move on to the next one. I figure surely there is a more intuitive and simpler solution. but I may have to just manually get er dun

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    6,114

    Default

    Google music let's you save lossless files? I thought they only supported lossy files.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The heart of Texas
    Posts
    1,834

    Default

    They downconvert FLAC to 320 mbps MP3. Not perfect but I am at work anyway so its background music. And my car isn't exactly "reference" either, so it works for me. I just want to have all my music there.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,658

    Default

    Why not just completely clearn your GM library and start over? I'm in the Apple ecosystem so I use iTunes Match instead of GM, but would assume the functionality is the same. At one point a few months back I made a massive update to my tags (changed my genre groupings), and the easiest and most lazy approach for me was to just clear everything out and add everything back in once all the tagging was done.
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The heart of Texas
    Posts
    1,834

    Default

    Yea I was thinking I will probably have to do that. The only thing is that it is an ongoing project (I am not sure what all is still in WAV that needs to be converted to FLAC because it doesn't matter on the SB), but I supposed I can just do it several times if I don't want to wait.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Descending toward the moon in the CLEM (Chinese Lunar Excursion Module), looking for Chang'e
    Posts
    11,760

    Default

    Just reading your original post gave me a headache. I don't understand why this all has to be so problematic. Different formats, tagging. Etc. When you put things on your PC you can organize your own files, playlists, etc. And there is no problem accessing them from the PC.

    I use my PS3 google media server directly off the laptop and have none of the above problems or worries. If I did, I wouldn't bother with them anyway. There is only so much time that can be devoted to unnecessary computer knowledge!

    cnh
    Last edited by cnh; 07-26-2012 at 02:54 PM.
    Onkyo TX-SR 805 System #1 HT AVR
    Office Two Channel: LSi-7s (Nakamichi CA-5, NAD 214, Pioneer BDP51fd)
    Vintage Polks: Polk Monitor 5As, Monitor 7Bs [HK 730], Monitor 10As [Marantz 2265], SDA-2Bs [Jolida JD-303, Jolida MV-MK4]
    Headphones: HD600, Q701, ATH-M50s etc. Bravo Audio Ocean amp., Onkyo P-304, Adcom GFA-555, Technics Direct Drive TT

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,658

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cnh View Post
    Just reading your original post gave me a headache. I don't understand why this all has to be so problematic. Different formats, tagging. Etc. When you put things on your PC you can organize your own files, playlists, etc. And there is no problem accessing them from the PC.

    I use my PS3 google media server directly off the laptop and have none of the above problems or worries. If I did, I wouldn't bother with them anyway. There is only so much time that can be devoted to unnecessary computer knowledge!

    cnh
    Funny, your post completely confuses me. He wants to have the ability to stream those songs instead of having the files directly on his phone, likely due to space concerns, while at worki and is using Google Music to do that and just had questions about that service. Your PS3 solution, while I'm sure works for you, has nothing to do with the topic as far as I can tell
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    chicagoland, IL
    Posts
    1,935

    Default

    my google music account automatically syncs my watch folder. Unfortunately, it will not delete songs that your remove from that folder. But anything that gets added should upload in the background. It does for me, at any rate.
    design is where science and art break even.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,658

    Default

    Correct, hence my suggestion to wipe the library and start over.
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The heart of Texas
    Posts
    1,834

    Default

    Yes it does that for me too, but not if I change the properties/tags of the file. That's the problem. Once its uploaded with the wrong tag, its there for good unless I manually delete it. I will probably end up emptying the whole thing like Danny suggested, and then re-uploading everything. But I think that this is something GM should address. If I can rescan my library for changes in the logitech media server it seems that I should be able to do the same in GM.

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The heart of Texas
    Posts
    1,834

    Default

    I guess the difference is that in the logitech media server its not actually uploading files, but just caching them I guess? But it seems like GM could still use the same basic method, rescan the entire library, delete tracks that are no longer in the library and add new tracks, which would solve my problem.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2012, 04:04 PM
  2. Replies: 36
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 11:54 AM
  3. Google PS3 Media Server
    By mutelight in forum Video Games
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 06-07-2009, 03:12 PM
  4. This is why everyone needs a monkey!!!
    By jwienand in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-12-2006, 03:30 PM
  5. Pet Monkey
    By F1nut in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 02:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts