Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 43

Thread: 6th Ave order

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    W.PA
    Posts
    1,332

    Default 6th Ave order

    I recieved the tracking number from 6th ave and I don't see where they were substituting the 3802 for the 3803. Is this what you guys recieved? If it really is the 3802 it will be sent back.

    Dave

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    3,476

    Default

    You may be out of luck bro. Last I heard they had 3802's back in stock. I also heard they had a 15% restocking fee on returns.
    Good luck
    HT/Main- Panny 50" G10 Plasma, Pioneer Elite VSX01 AVR, Panny DMP-BD60 BDP, Polk LS90 mains, CS350LS center, LS/fx side surrounds, LS50 surround backs, SVS 25-31PC+ sub, Harmony One

    Office Rig- Marantz 2252B, Sony CDP-C8ESD CDP, Kenwood KD2070 TT, Polk RTA 12B's

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    SW Pa.
    Posts
    234

    Default call them

    I called 6th ave. to confirm the 3802 was out of stock. They offered the 3803 to me over the phone.They asked me if that was ok with me. Let me think mmmmmmmmm . If I don't have any other choices I guess I have to. Good luck Dave. I'd call them if I were you ask for the 3802. If they tell you it is out of stock you are golden. If they do have it you might be screwed in which case I'd call back and try to cancel the one you just ordered. I wouldn't be a toatal loss . I bet you get your money back out of it on Ebay.If you need help w/ the auction let me know.


    CJ
    Got my B&K and my 3803 firing my 9's
    :p
    "It doesn't get any more serious than a Rhinocerus about to charge your ass."

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (9)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    2,424

    Default

    Dave,I received conformation/tracking via e-mail.Not a word from 6th Ave.about the upgrade either by phone or mail.

    3 days later had my 3803 in hand,don't worry,enjoy!!!
    SDA CRS+4.1TL's/Modded SDA 1C's/Modded SDA SRS 3.1TL's/Modded SDA SRS 2.3TL's

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    556

    Default

    They're never going to be in stock again. If they are out now, just where are they going to get a whole new supply of them at, being as how that receiver has been out of production for well over a year now? It's just a gimmick 6th ave is running to be able to price the 3803 that cheap.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12

    Default

    David,

    I sure would like to know the outcome of your order. I want to order one myself.

    Dave

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    W.PA
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    I just got off the phone with customer service and he confirmed that the 3803 was sent because there is no 3802 in stock and with that I should see it tomarrow acording to the tracking info. So if anybody is going to get the 3803 I got mine for $648.06. I dont see how they can sell it as a gemmic to get the price that low unless there is one hell of a mark-up. That is dam near half off given the shipping is .06, that is the part of business I guess I'll never quite understand. Just glad I was able to get in on it. I don't know who first let the deal be known but I would like to thank the one who did.

    Thanks

    Dave

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    3,476

    Default

    Originally posted by dave shepard
    I just got off the phone with customer service and he confirmed that the 3803 was sent because there is no 3802 in stock and with that I should see it tomarrow acording to the tracking info. So if anybody is going to get the 3803 I got mine for $648.06. I dont see how they can sell it as a gemmic to get the price that low unless there is one hell of a mark-up. That is dam near half off given the shipping is .06, that is the part of business I guess I'll never quite understand. Just glad I was able to get in on it. I don't know who first let the deal be known but I would like to thank the one who did.

    Thanks

    Dave
    That would be mcjudd :)
    HT/Main- Panny 50" G10 Plasma, Pioneer Elite VSX01 AVR, Panny DMP-BD60 BDP, Polk LS90 mains, CS350LS center, LS/fx side surrounds, LS50 surround backs, SVS 25-31PC+ sub, Harmony One

    Office Rig- Marantz 2252B, Sony CDP-C8ESD CDP, Kenwood KD2070 TT, Polk RTA 12B's

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    W.PA
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    Originally posted by ken brydson
    That would be mcjudd :)
    Then my hat goes off to him and all those that are on the ball.
    I'm sure I'll have questions about this reciever when it comes and I try to set it up. I'm sure it'll be alittle diff. then the Panasonic.


    Thanks again

    Dave

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Unbelievable,

    I just purchased the Denon AVR3803 at 6ave.com for $648.06.
    You have to wounder if these are factory seconds or returns???
    Thanks for info on this one.

    Dave D.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (9)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    2,424

    Default

    Russ,The best I could tell was that the Denon was factory "fresh" Had never been calibrated...doesn't appear to be a B-stock or re-furb...I think the 3803's are being "cleared out" to make room for a new model one day...just my guess
    SDA CRS+4.1TL's/Modded SDA 1C's/Modded SDA SRS 3.1TL's/Modded SDA SRS 2.3TL's

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    556

    Default

    Congrats Dave, and everyone else that got it on this deal (including me)! For the money and for Polk RTi speakers (except obviosly for the 150s/12s), you can't possibly do any better than this.
    BTW, the 3804 is supposedly due out in Jan. From what I understand, about the only big difference is that it is supposed to have DPL2X on it.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    SW Pa.
    Posts
    234

    Default

    Can the 3803 be up graded to have dpl2x? I hope but then again why should I. I know 2 !@#$$!@#$ days after I have it the next best thing will come along and I won't be happy again. Guess that is just part of being an audiophyle.



    CJ
    "It doesn't get any more serious than a Rhinocerus about to charge your ass."

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    556

    Default

    PM, go to the AVS forum in the receiver/amp section, and do a search on PL2X. There is a long running thread there (probably still will be on the first 2 or 3 pages) where you can find out more about it with links, etc. I didn't wade through it entirely, but from what I gathered by skimming through it, it will be very similar to Harman's Logic 7 processing. IMHO, not really worth waiting for the 3804 and paying probably about twice the price for initially if that is the only difference from the 3803. There are also rumors of DVI as well being on the new model.



    BTW, as of the moment, the 3803 can not be upgraded, but it does have a RS132 (or whatever it's called) port on it, so maybe some day there might be software updates available for it similar to Rotel's.
    Last edited by bigsexy1; 10-30-2003 at 11:59 AM.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    Denon's Widescreen DSP mode is already very similar to Logic 7 and provides a true 7.1 playback from any source code - DD, DTS, DPL, DPLII, etc. It works very well for crappy DPL or 5.1 mixes, I can attest.
    "What we do in life echoes in eternity"

    Ed Mullen (emullen@svsound.com)
    Director - Technology and Customer Relations
    Specialty Technologies
    SVSound

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    25

    Talking

    I just purchased by phone, sales rep said auto upgrade to 3803.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    SW Pa.
    Posts
    234

    Default

    One would think in 2 years or so there will be a **** load of 3803's listed in the Flea market forum. I bet Denon wouldn't let 6th ave. advertise the 3803 @ that price until the 3804's are available. Plus I bet they scammed more than a few people into forking over a grand for the 3803 . I know I would have if it wouldn't have been for the great heads up in the flea market. Big thanks to who ever stumbled onto it . Good deal!


    CJ
    "It doesn't get any more serious than a Rhinocerus about to charge your ass."

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    W.PA
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    I just recieved the 3803 this afternoon and when I got home from work I hooked it up and am trying to set it up. My wife and I have the same thoughts on the sound. To be truthfull we cant tell if there is a differance between them, then again I am having a time trying to navagate the new functions. I have noticed that the 3803 dosent play as loud I am watching Star Wars and have it at -19db and it is at a comfortable listening leavel if the Panasonic was that high it would be very loud, also there seems to be not a whole lot of souround comming from behind even though when I played the test tone func. on the remote the rears were playing loud all set to fact. 0. It does to seem to play alittle clearer but as of yet not overwelmingly impressed.

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I hope its just a setup problem you are having. I ordered one yesterday and its on its way. Reading reviews on line and talking to others, it should be one hell of a performer. I sure would send it right back if not.

    Dave D.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Dave - I hope that the issue you are having is simply related to an incorrect setup value. It will get worked out, it is definetly a great brand of AVR. I wish I could help.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    W.PA
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    Originally posted by dorokusai
    Dave - I hope that the issue you are having is simply related to an incorrect setup value.
    Well you were right about the setup, I had the sourrounds in back sourround plug once I changed them the sourround effect came back and now is acting the wat it should. Glade that one is taken care of but the Panny does play louder but the Denon is a little clearer without switching back and forth with a switch box it's hard to tell upon the first demo and not knowing a thing about this one and how to get it to play at it's fullest. I've just done minor tweeking so far but does have alot of things that the Panny doesn't like bass& treable adjustments and room size adjustments. Well if anybody has any tips they would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    Dave

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    Call me at work 585-263-9263 eastern and I'll help you out with any set-up questions.

    The detail and nuance of the 3803 will become apparent after proper set-up and calibration and after you are sitting with the lights out listening to music or watching a movie.
    "What we do in life echoes in eternity"

    Ed Mullen (emullen@svsound.com)
    Director - Technology and Customer Relations
    Specialty Technologies
    SVSound

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    W.PA
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    Well I've been listening for a short time and the Denon does seem to have a better sound then and alot more control then the Panny but I have noticed that watching cable the volume is at -26 and when I watch a DVD I have to put it up to -19, does this seem right? I never had the Panny that high for DVD's and seems that the volume should not have to be adjusted that much if at all. I have yet to run the avia disc and so far am still navagating the controls and remote. When I do what is coincidered referance on the meter, 85dbl?

    Thanks

    Dave

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    Dave, the Denon volume control goes well into the positive region, so absolute differences between it and another AVR are pretty meaningless.

    Sorry we missed on Friday - we can talk another time, or answer questions here, the slow way. :-)

    When you calibrate with Avia, set the 3803 Master Volume to 00, and adjust channel levels with the remote control and 3803 display panel rather than the on-screen menu. And yes, 85 dB is the proper calibration volume with Avia if you want to also set 00 to Dolby Reference Level. Otherwise you can use a lower calibration volume.
    "What we do in life echoes in eternity"

    Ed Mullen (emullen@svsound.com)
    Director - Technology and Customer Relations
    Specialty Technologies
    SVSound

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (9)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    2,424

    Default

    Dave, I'm having the same performance out of my 3803...I have very good sound on all imputs with exception of a DVD...A Music CD will be very strong at -22/-24,to get the same volume from a DVD,I have to turn up to a -16/-18...

    Both of these signals are coming from the same source,an Onkyo DV-CP500,I know this is'nt a top of the line player,but when playing through my Kenwood I did'nt have these level differences...

    I've tried both the digital and coax imputs with same results,Ive checked the toslink connections and the fiber itself, checked and double checked the imput settings on the AVR...I also just received a copy of AVIA,I've yet to come up with an SPL Meter,but I will...even with the AVR properly calibrated,I still don't believe that will bridge the gap between the volume settings on the different sources...

    The signal from Dish Network and our old VCR has more "gusto" than the sound from a DVD.
    SDA CRS+4.1TL's/Modded SDA 1C's/Modded SDA SRS 3.1TL's/Modded SDA SRS 2.3TL's

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I should be receiving my 3803 on Wednesday. I will post what I find after I hook it up and check it out. My Yamaha RX-V995 acts the say way, I have to turn the volume up quite a bit more to have the same volume level as other sources. I thought it was because of the inexpensive RCA DVD player I was using. I plan to purchase the Denon DVD-2900. I may change my mind if the 3803 ends up being a mistake. Maybe a phone call to Denon on Monday might be in order to see if they can shed some light on the apparent problem. It looks like Dr. Spec likes his and is not having the problem others are having. I'll keep my fingers crossed and recieve my with open arms.

    Dave D.

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    356

    Default

    Well I know the answer to the sound levels from a CD versus a DVD. It has to do with dynamic range. To get better dynamic range you need to encode the audio signals at lower DB levels. I'm not sure what the levels are but I think typically a CD is recorded at about -3 or -6 dB and a DVD is around -12 to -20 dB. This is all based on a 0 dB test tone at 1 kHz. We have test CDs with various tracks to test for this where I work.

    Actually the issue is with all other audio formats, they are encoded at too high of a level and it wasn't corrected until DVD came along.

    Now, some DVD players may adjust the output based on the source media. For instance if you put a CD into my Denon DVD player it will say, hey I have a CD so I need to lower my output a little or Hey I have a DVD I need to raise my output level a little (I'm not sure which way it works). It basically trys to balance the output between various media formats so no matter what media you have it outputs say a 100 mV signal on a 1 kHz tone. Some players will not do this. Now if you take a DVD-R and burn audio from a CD onto it you would mess up the system. Now you have a DVD player saying, hey I have a DVD I need to raise the output but you actually have CD levels so you get higher than CD levels on the output and you will have to lower your receiver's volume level or your blow your ears off!

    I work on DVD systems for the automotive world and have researched this. Our customers want balanced audio and you really can't do it without some high speed DSP that can shift the output levels in real time. This would be on a sample by sample basis You would have to determine what the input level would be at a reference point, say 1 kHz and adjust the input by a fixed value calculated by how far off the input is (at 1 kHz) to the desired output (at 1 kHz). So if you could determin that the audio at the input for 1 kHz is at .15 mV and your target is .1 mV you would need to attinuate the input by .3mV to get your target of .1mV at the output. This is different than compression or night mode. Those work by trying to take the low levels and bring them up a bit and take the high levels down. Kind of averaging the input signal to avoid quite parts like dialog and loud parts like explosions. This way you don't wake the kids at night and can still hear the diaglog.

    So you pretty much have to live with it for now. I have a yamaha CD player and Denon DVD player. I can put a CD in the Denon and listen at about - 15 but I need to turn it down to about -20 to get the same level if I play that same CD in my yamaha CD player.

    It is pretty interesting actually.

    Howie

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    W.PA
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    Originally posted by russell55
    I should be receiving my 3803 on Wednesday. I may change my mind if the 3803 ends up being a mistake.

    Dave D.
    I don't think you will be returning it, it does have alot to offer and does sound cleaner then my Panny. My post was not ment to scare or put doughts in anybody coincidering the 3803. If I have I truely appoligize, I was just pointing out diff. between the two.

    Well Doc answered my next question before I got a chance to ask (set master volume to 00), that is where I had to put it and have the L/R seperate controls at +5 to reach 85dbl on the meter. I assumed it was because of the size of my room. The 85dbl is very loud to me I surely can't see me watching a movie that loud. So now that the Avia is done I will start looking at the other things this can do, it sure has more control features then the Panny has that is for sure. The on screen controls make it a hell of alot easier to adjust that is for sure.

    I think there is an interferance issue though. I am getting a humming noise from all speakers. It is fant but gets louder when the volume is turned up (with reciever only turned on), also gets louder when I turn on the TV, I don't get a broadcast signal until the VCR is turned on so it is not the station . Any suggestions? bad home wireing? I know I need to upgrade the speaker wire (Wal-mart Philips 16gauge high grade speaker wire), could this be it? I wouldn't think the power cords would send a electric field outside of their caseing or could they? I also get the same faint hum from the sub and that cord is a monster Cable THX sub cable. I just noticed that the sub cable is supposedly directional for the signal and mine is backwards does that really matter?
    Sorry for all the questions in this one post.

    Thanks

    Dave

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    W.PA
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    any suggestions?

  30. #30

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    812

    Default

    I had the same hum when I connected my 2 channel amp. I used a "cheater's plug" between the power cord and the power-surge connector, and the hum went away. You might want to give it a try. The cheater's plug is only a couple bucks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts