Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default Polk Subwoofer Problem

    Hey guys, I'm new to the forum after I bought my second Polk Subwoofer and am having the same problems as I have with my subwoofer I'm using on my main TV.

    I just bought a Yamaha RX-V473 Receiver and a speaker system which includes the Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

    I ran through the sound test with the subwoofer and it isn't working. I've had the exact same problem with a Polk Subwoofer and Yamaha receiver (older models) with my main TV and never got around to fixing it (don't ask why). I just purchased these new sets for another TV and want to solve both problems.

    I have the single subwoofer cable running from the Yamaha Subwoofer input in the receiver to the R/LFE In jack in the subwoofer. I get sound from the subwoofer when I'm plugging it in, but when running the test to see that it is set up properly it doesn't work at all.

    Can anyone here help? It would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers,
    Kevin
    Last edited by kmcclelland; 08-13-2012 at 07:18 PM.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    Welcome! So, you're running the auto-setup (YPAO), and when it gets to the sub, you hear nothing?
    Last edited by mdaudioguy; 08-13-2012 at 09:32 PM.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : MFW-15 (RIP): Yamaha Aventage RX-A1000 : Adcom GFA-7500 : PS3 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Onkyo TX-SR575 : DIRECTV HR22 DVR : LG 50PQ30 HDTV
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,119

    Default

    First off, WELCOME to Club Polk!

    OK, you said, "I have the single subwoofer cable running from the Yamaha Subwoofer input in the receiver..." Sounds to me like you're connecting your subwoofer cable to the multi-channel input on your receiver instead of where it should be connected, the "Subwoofer Pre-Output", on your receiver. The receiver puts out a signal to the subwoofer input.

    Just hoping it's something this simple for you.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks for the reply. Sorry I am pretty sure it is the Subwoofer output. With the Yamaha receiver it is the only output that says "Subwoofer" so it looks pretty clear to me that it is the correct place to plug the subwoofer cable into. I am using a subwoofer cable that has just one jack on each end, but the subwoofer has two inputs. Do I need a Y connector or something?

    Thank you

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    @mdaudioguy yes I'm running the test where it runs through the 5 speakers + sub and when it gets to the subwoofer I get nothing. Subwoofer is turned on.

  6. #6
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,844

    Default

    Hello kmcclelland,
    Welcome to Polk's forum. Let's determine if the problem is with the subwoofer or elsewhere. Try this:
    1). Turn the volume all the way down on the sub and remove the sub-cable from the receiver.
    2). Connect this cable to any high level component, it could be a DVD player, CD player even a VCR, anything that has an audio output that you know is functioning.
    3). Start playing a CD (if you're using a DVD/CD player) and turn the volume up to about the 10:00 o'clock position on the sub.
    There should be plenty of bass coming from the sub.
    Regards, Ken

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I plugged the subwoofer into a DVD player and threw in a DVD and the subwoofer is indeed working.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Am I missing something on the receiver? I'm plugging it into the output that simply says "subwoofer". I looked at the instructions and it showed the subwoofer to be plugged in there.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    two eleven fifty-seven
    Posts
    3,383

    Default

    Are you sure it's connected to the sub OUT, as teekay0007 suggested above? That's a plausible explanation, and an easy mistake to make!

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I don't see anything about "out" but its the only thing labelled subwoofer

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    This is what the Yamaha receiver says about the Subwoofer jack I've been plugging it into:

    SUBWOOFER jack
    For connecting to a subwoofer (with built-in amplifier) (p.15)


    It also has this:

    Connecting the subwoofer
    Use an audio pin cable to connect the subwoofer.


    And has a picture of the single cable into the Subwoofer jack like I have done. So it looks like I've done everything properly. Unless I need a subwoofer cable with two prongs or whatever they're called to go back into the L and R?

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    838

    Default

    I wonder if this is a speaker config issue in the receiver. I'm not familiar with the Yamaha you have, but I've set up a few AVRs, and they all have some sort of menu where you let the receiver know that you do have a subwoofer. I'm guessing you already checked this, but didn't see it posted. Also, does your receiver have a manual way to send test tones to the individual speakers instead of YPAO? I would start there, and then re-run YPAO after getting the sub to work.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    There is a way to turn the subwoofer on and off. And I have it set to on.

    The only way to test the speakers is when it runs through all 5 + subwoofer (that I know of). I will take a look and try to find something with it running through individual speakers.

    Thanks

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Does it have to do with setting the "Crossover"?

  15. #15
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,844

    Default

    Hello,
    My advice would be to contact Yamaha's customer service and ask about getting the sub-out function to operate properly. If there's still no signal being sent to the subwoofer then there's a problem with the receiver.
    Regards, Ken

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I got it working!

    At least my new subwoofer on my old receiver. Going to try the others in a second, just thought I'd update it here first.

    I changed a bunch of stuff in the settings so I'm not really sure what did it.

    Is there any recommendations for what to set "crossover" to?

    Thanks a lot guys,
    Kevin

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    central Texas, trailer court on right
    Posts
    746

    Default

    The setting you probably changed was to turn the sub on. On that yamaha you have to tell the reciever which speakers you have connected. The ypao ignores anything not turned on. You do this from the speaker screen for each speaker. You also tell the reciever if it large or small.

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rpf65 View Post
    The setting you probably changed was to turn the sub on. On that yamaha you have to tell the reciever which speakers you have connected. The ypao ignores anything not turned on. You do this from the speaker screen for each speaker. You also tell the reciever if it large or small.
    Nope.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Problem with new Polk Audio PSW10 subwoofer
    By goosta in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-20-2012, 06:53 PM
  2. Need Help Polk RT2000 subwoofer problem
    By ArcTech in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2011, 11:42 AM
  3. Subwoofer Problem
    By gijoe in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 03:20 PM
  4. Subwoofer Problem..
    By rodgey in forum Car Subwoofer Talk
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2008, 11:28 PM
  5. Polk Subwoofer wiring problem
    By d_gil in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2003, 06:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts