Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    67

    Default RTA 12B XO rebuild

    Hello all

    I think it's time for my RTA's to be refreshed. I don't know anything about this so is there some where I can send them out for the work ? I want them to sound as good or better than new, guess I would like the best job for the $...oh and anyone know what the cost should be (ballpark figure). My drivers & tweeters are good as far as I know.

    Thanks.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,951

    Default

    I would love to help you out...

    Vr3Mods@GMail.com :)

    Thanks
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    2,062

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VR3 View Post
    I would love to help you out...

    Vr3Mods@GMail.com :)

    Thanks
    He's your man!

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by audiocr381ve View Post
    He's your man!
    Yes I think so, already made contact. Need to tear down speakers and get the show on the road.

    Thanks.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Gamehenge
    Posts
    237

    Default

    I had him do my RTA-12C and I can say it made a huge difference! Just make sure that if you get a new connector put on that it will fit the existing hole. I had to drill mine out a little to fit.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,951

    Default

    Hey Chris

    I think the future RTA12 I will use the NL4 connection like we used on your SDA... I think it might work better... hmm
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VR3 View Post
    Hey Chris

    I think the future RTA12 I will use the NL4 connection like we used on your SDA... I think it might work better... hmm
    So I'm the guinea pig

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Gamehenge
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame View Post
    So I'm the guinea pig
    Acutally since my RTA's were his first I was the guinea pig. You get to benefit from the lessons learned! Trust me you won't regret doing it.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,951

    Default

    Trust me - I got this down pat now :)

    I have only modified like 100+++ speakers since I did your RTA12C ;)
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    tupelo, ms
    Posts
    429

    Default

    I have a question about my RTA 12B xovers. I am replacing the caps and in the process of trying to make room and the board, I bent one of the 750 pF Silver Micas and broke one leg of it. My question is where to get a replacement and should I replace them all?

    Thanks,
    Coley
    Main system:
    Denon PRA-1500, Denon POA-2400, Denon TU-660, Denon DCD-2560, Denon DVD-2910, Denon DRS-640, Denon DP-30L II w/DL-301 mc cart, BSR EQ-3000, DCM Timeframe 600's

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,201

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cwsmith68 View Post
    I have a question about my RTA 12B xovers. I am replacing the caps and in the process of trying to make room and the board, I bent one of the 750 pF Silver Micas and broke one leg of it. My question is where to get a replacement and should I replace them all?

    Thanks,
    Coley
    throw them away there no longer needed when quality caps are used.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    tupelo, ms
    Posts
    429

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pitdogg2 View Post
    throw them away there no longer needed when quality caps are used.
    So, I can just remove them all from the board?

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,201

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cwsmith68 View Post
    So, I can just remove them all from the board?
    yes you do not need them. They're only used with inferior caps to help them sound better. With better caps a bypass cap is not needed.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    tupelo, ms
    Posts
    429

    Default

    cool. Thanks Pittdogg

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    tupelo, ms
    Posts
    429

    Default

    I have another question about caps for my RTA 12b xover rebuild. When searching for replacement caps and cannot find the exact stock cap value, is it better to go with a lower value or higher? how far to either side is acceptable? For instance. I need a 55uF but cannot seem to find one. Would I be ok with say a 51uF or should I add a smaller value in parallel to get closerto factory specs? Or how about a 56uF?

    Thanks
    Last edited by cwsmith68; 09-05-2012 at 10:48 AM.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    770

    Default

    If you have to use two caps to replace one due to lack of availability you should get two that are as close as possible to the same size. For instance if you need to caps to replace a 56uF you should use two 28uF caps if they are available.
    SDA 2BTL Sonicaps Mills resistors RDO-198s New gaskets H-nuts Erse inductors Crossover upgrades by westmassguy
    Adcom GTP-450 preamp
    Adcom GFA-555 amp Upgrades & speaker protection added by OldmanSRS
    Pioneer DV-610AV DVD/CD player
    SDA CRS+ Hidden away in the closet

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    tupelo, ms
    Posts
    429

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TennMan View Post
    If you have to use two caps to replace one due to lack of availability you should get two that are as close as possible to the same size. For instance if you need to caps to replace a 56uF you should use two 28uF caps if they are available.
    ok. But what if i replaced a 55uF with a 51uF? I want to go with the same brand if possible and that is as close as that brand comes with the space I have to use on the pcb.

    Another thing I am not sure on. Does a higher value allow more of the freq band through or is it the other way around?
    does a 55uF allow more through that a 51?
    Last edited by cwsmith68; 09-05-2012 at 01:02 PM.
    Main system:
    Denon PRA-1500, Denon POA-2400, Denon TU-660, Denon DCD-2560, Denon DVD-2910, Denon DRS-640, Denon DP-30L II w/DL-301 mc cart, BSR EQ-3000, DCM Timeframe 600's

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    770

    Default

    I gave you a standard recommendation about how caps should be replaced when you need to use 2 instead of one. As for the "what ifs" you will need to talk to an electrical engineer to get the proper answer. Maybe someone a Polk would be willing to help.
    SDA 2BTL Sonicaps Mills resistors RDO-198s New gaskets H-nuts Erse inductors Crossover upgrades by westmassguy
    Adcom GTP-450 preamp
    Adcom GFA-555 amp Upgrades & speaker protection added by OldmanSRS
    Pioneer DV-610AV DVD/CD player
    SDA CRS+ Hidden away in the closet

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,951

    Default

    56uf is fine.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Seasonally Frozen Wastelands
    Posts
    1,114

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cwsmith68 View Post
    ok. But what if i replaced a 55uF with a 51uF? I want to go with the same brand if possible and that is as close as that brand comes with the space I have to use on the pcb.
    Rule of thumb is that if the cap you purchase is nominally withing 5% you're fine.
    55 X .95 = 52.25. I would not install a 51uF cap in that application.

    Quote Originally Posted by cwsmith68 View Post
    Another thing I am not sure on. Does a higher value allow more of the freq band through or is it the other way around?
    does a 55uF allow more through that a 51?
    Higher-value cap lowers the crossover point.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    tupelo, ms
    Posts
    429

    Default

    Thanks guys!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. X-over rebuild for me anyone?
    By musky1963 in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 02:48 PM
  2. SDA SRS 2.3TL x-over rebuild.
    By zarrdoss in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 12:54 AM
  3. SDA-1A x-over rebuild.
    By lightman1 in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 02:25 PM
  4. SDA SRS rebuild ?
    By apachef1 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 08-25-2007, 08:34 AM
  5. Should I rebuild SDA-SRS 2's?
    By Troy Pauline in forum Speakers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-25-2003, 02:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts