Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,359

    Default Computer help/ AVG 2013

    Last night I installed AVG free 2013. It offered AVG PC tune up did that too. couple issues, since the install my wifi is no longer, I ran the PC tune up (took for ever to check all my drives) it needed a reboot this am, did that at 5am and when I left the house at 7 it was still not finished. Any assistance please..... I am more concerned about no more wifi. Our laptop, BB and itouchs can't even find the network. Forgot to add I am on XP. (yes I know very old but I'm too lazy and don't have enough time to back everything up and install 7)
    Last edited by Willow; 10-04-2012 at 08:23 AM.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    Remove it and use Windows Security Essentials http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ity-essentials

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  3. #3
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,108

    Default

    Agreed. Been very happy with Microsoft's own security software, and it's very light-weight, and doesn't cause any adverse interactions.

    I have not found any other free antivirus software that compares, and Microsoft will be building in Security Essentials in all versions of Widows after 7.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,641

    Default

    is it possible its actually your router and the install is just a coincidence since none of your other devices can connect?
    I've used AVG for a couple years now and never had an issue with it doing anything to my network itself.
    HT - game room
    Yamaha RX V665 - AVR, Polk Monitor 60's,(HT), Polk Monitor 40's, Polk CS 1, Polk PSW 505, Samsung PN50B550 - 50" Plasma, PS3, Wii

    2ch - spare bedroom
    Squeezebox Touch->AQ Alpha Snake->Music Hall A15.2->Ascend Acoustics Sierra-1
    Yamaha S1800(SACD),Technics SL-QD33(TT)
    Head-fi - Sennheiser HD 280, Audio Technica ATH-AD700, B&W P5, Sennheiser HD 650
    Lenovo Laptop-> Dragonfly USB DAC/amp
    Server-QNAP TS110

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,359

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coolsax View Post
    is it possible its actually your router and the install is just a coincidence since none of your other devices can connect?
    I've used AVG for a couple years now and never had an issue with it doing anything to my network itself.
    It could be, I will have to check it out after work. I have never had issues either. But I might remove it and reinstall or go back to WSE.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    447

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willow View Post
    Last night I installed AVG free 2013. It offered AVG PC tune up did that too. couple issues, since the install my wifi is no longer, I ran the PC tune up (took for ever to check all my drives) it needed a reboot this am, did that at 5am and when I left the house at 7 it was still not finished. Any assistance please..... I am more concerned about no more wifi. Our laptop, BB and itouchs can't even find the network. Forgot to add I am on XP. (yes I know very old but I'm too lazy and don't have enough time to back everything up and install 7)
    Sounds like it was doing a disk scan after reboot, that's why its taking so long to boot. When it restarts see if all is ok, if not it sounds like AVG tune up turned off your wifi. You should have a button on the laptop with the wifi logo on it that might be red, push it and see if that turns it back on. If it is on look in the lower right of the screen and you should see a red X or something telling you that you're not connected. Click on it and see if you can reconnect to your network.

    Good luck...
    Polkaudio Fronts: RTi A7's Vr3 Fortress Edition
    Polkaudio Center: CSi A6 Vr3 Fortress Edition
    Polkaudio Surrounds: FXi A6's
    Sub: SVS PC12-NSD
    Marantz SR-7008
    Marantz TT-15S1
    BDP-Denon DBT-1713UD
    Denon AH-D5000's
    Synology DS 212j-4TB
    TV: Panasonic TC P55VT30

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,359

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gce View Post
    Sounds like it was doing a disk scan after reboot, that's why its taking so long to boot. When it restarts see if all is ok, if not it sounds like AVG tune up turned off your wifi. You should have a button on the laptop with the wifi logo on it that might be red, push it and see if that turns it back on. If it is on look in the lower right of the screen and you should see a red X or something telling you that you're not connected. Click on it and see if you can reconnect to your network.

    Good luck...
    Thanks, yes it was doing a disk scan, didn't realize it would take that long. The odd thing is none of my portable devices can even find my wifi, it's just gone. Maybe once I get home and it is done doing all it was doing I may be able to play around with settings.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    207

    Default

    As mentioned earlier. The issues is more likely to be with your wireless router and has nothing to do with AVG since your other wireless devices are also not connecting up to wireless.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NW Indianapolis Indiana
    Posts
    9,131

    Default

    I used AVG and stopped and picked up Avast in addition to Microsoft Security essentials. Also on occasion run Malwarebytes, Spybot and Adaware I think.....

    No issues here
    Advice is free, the Flea Market is earned - F1Nut

    Main HT: APC H15 | Pio 51FD | Uverse DVR | Xbox 360 | Squeezebox Classic | Integra DTR 5.9 | Carver AV-705x & M1.0t MKII Opt002 | LSi 15 | LSiC | LSi F/x | Kimber Hero IC & 8VS SC

    Office Rig: Win 7 -> DacMagic w/ Pangea PSU | Pro-ject Debut III | Sunfire TGP-II | Parasound HCA-750ii | Polk RTA 11TL | Cables TBA

    Bedroom: Uverse DVR | Roku 2 | Samsung LCD | SurroundBar 2000

    Sales Rating
    Gear

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,359

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shadowlight View Post
    As mentioned earlier. The issues is more likely to be with your wireless router and has nothing to do with AVG since your other wireless devices are also not connecting up to wireless.
    I am beginning to think this. It just seemed odd or coincidental that it stopped working once I loaded up AVG. Maybe my router is dead. it is a rental a combo modem/router by SMC.
    Last edited by Willow; 10-04-2012 at 12:41 PM.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Michigan, US
    Posts
    223

    Default

    +1 for Security Essentials.
    Larry

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,359

    Default

    Got home the computer was still frozen. Shut that puppy down and rebooted. Then it started to chk disk.....took forever. Once it was all done, I couldn't figure out why wifi was down. I went online and started to chat with tech support from cable company, they were taking too long to get me the answer. while she had me on hold, I logged in the router and rebooted it. Now I have wifi again.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Madden 2013 league?
    By jkg123 in forum Video Games
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-10-2012, 03:22 AM
  2. Arrested Development 2013
    By fatchowmein in forum Music & Movies
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2011, 09:39 PM
  3. Need Help Computer audio-new software or computer
    By brgman in forum Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-15-2011, 03:52 PM
  4. News F1 race in New Jersey set for 2013
    By Vette C6.r in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 10:58 AM
  5. Polkfest 2013 - thinking Atlanta area
    By hoosier21 in forum Gatherings & Special Events
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-25-2011, 12:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts