Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    372

    Default Blowing fuses after install

    Hello all again. It has been sometime since I have posted on here, but I am now at a point that I need some help. I now have all of my system hooked up as of last night (I will post pics on here soon). However.... When I went to power everything up, I noticed that my sub amp was not coming on, but my four channel is. So, I looked at the fuses, and sure enough they are fried. It does not go into protect mode or anything, just straight blowes the fuse as soon as power is there.

    Now to give you some background on this. I have a 0 gauge power wire from my batt to a 150 amp fuse, then it goes into the truck. From there is goes into a distro block, that has two 4 gauge power wires that goes to each amp. I have the ground run as well in the middle of the two amp on top of the hump that goes around the tranny, but closer toward the back. I also have the REM ran as well, 16 gauge wire i think, which goes to a switch (which was turned off at the time of hooking up power).

    So, at this point I am at a bit of a loss, I looked at the wires, and everything appears to look just fine. I will go back through them today, and see if maybe there is a wire somewhere that is toughing something. I also wonder if it might be my ground too, but I would have to take eveything out to get to that, so that might have to wait till this weekend. Please help guys as I dont want to start burning my investment up after doing all this planning, and work. Also I will try to up load a general pic of the finished product.Name:  1002121812-00.jpg
Views: 172
Size:  242.6 KB

    Sorry but the pic is a cell phone pic...

    Thanks.
    2006 Prerunner Access Cab
    5 Speed 4 cycl 2wd

    Audio:
    Pioneer P860 Head Unit
    Polk Audio MM6501
    Alpine PDX F-6
    Two SR124(SVC)
    Alpine PDX M12
    Kinetik HC2000 battery and Sleeve
    200 Amp Mean Green High Output Alternator




    Need a DJ, photobooth, or both for rent?

    http://photoboothdallas.org

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    372

    Default

    I forgot to add, that the Apline amp powers up just fine, and I get sound up front no problem. It is just the sub amp that is cause my issue.


    Thanks.
    2006 Prerunner Access Cab
    5 Speed 4 cycl 2wd

    Audio:
    Pioneer P860 Head Unit
    Polk Audio MM6501
    Alpine PDX F-6
    Two SR124(SVC)
    Alpine PDX M12
    Kinetik HC2000 battery and Sleeve
    200 Amp Mean Green High Output Alternator




    Need a DJ, photobooth, or both for rent?

    http://photoboothdallas.org

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    central Texas, trailer court on right
    Posts
    732

    Default

    I would probably start be disconnecting the speaker at the amp, in order to see if the amp is actually the problem.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    372

    Default

    I got it all figured out. I now have tunes in my car now. Man how nice it all sounds. I have not had any music in like 2 mnths give or take. So, nice.


    Thanks.
    2006 Prerunner Access Cab
    5 Speed 4 cycl 2wd

    Audio:
    Pioneer P860 Head Unit
    Polk Audio MM6501
    Alpine PDX F-6
    Two SR124(SVC)
    Alpine PDX M12
    Kinetik HC2000 battery and Sleeve
    200 Amp Mean Green High Output Alternator




    Need a DJ, photobooth, or both for rent?

    http://photoboothdallas.org

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Willow Grove, pa
    Posts
    315

    Default

    Hey Kaos, just curious, what was the issue?
    TV...............Hitachi 42hdS52a plasma (sexy one with the swival)
    Pre/Processor - Emotiva MMC
    Seven Ch AMP - Emotiva LPA
    Fronts - Tyler Acoustics 7U's
    Center - Polk LSIC
    Sub - DSWPRO600
    DAC - Music Hall 25.3CD - Marantz cc4001
    Blue Ray - PS3
    Speaker cables - Audioquest cv4 dbs
    Interconnects - MIT AVT1's
    Power Filter....Monster HTS 3500 MKII

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. PSW!11 Keeps blowing fuses
    By Rusty M in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 09:34 PM
  2. Need Help Keep blowing fuses on amp!!!
    By joker187 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2008, 05:00 PM
  3. Need Help Keep blowing fuses on amp!!!
    By joker187 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2008, 02:49 AM
  4. Blowing Fuses! Help!
    By Matt J in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2001, 10:22 AM
  5. Blowing Fuses! Help!
    By Matt J in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2001, 06:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts