Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    316

    Default Pioneer SC-37 preamp or solo

    I recently bought a new to me but used SC-37. In haste of things I simply hooked it up using the pre-outs using my Monster Power amps. ( I know not many fans here)

    My question is... has anyone tried this receiver with an external amp and then decided it was not necessary? My Monster amps are rated at 250W into 8ohms. The receiver is a little more than half that. With that being said, external amps with my old Denon 3805 made my ears bleed. I liked the extra power but, rarely used it. ( Crappy neighbors)

    I know I could hook the SC up without the amps however my cables are suited for the amps. Questions/Comments appreciated. (Mantis HELP)

    BTW, I'm gonna go blind reading the owners manual. I truly don't understand half of it. (Note to self, I should read more on here)

    Thanks all.
    Pioneer SC-37
    RTiA9-fronts
    CSiA6-center
    RT55i-surrounds
    SVS PB13 Ultra & PSW650
    Monster Power 3250 amp
    Monster Power 2250 amp
    Monster Power HDP-2500 surge pro.



    Denon 3805,CS400i,RT25i's & FX500i's sitting in the basement collecting dust

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (41)

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    8,745

    Default

    Give both a try. Those a9's are bright regardless. I ran my a9's off my Sc's with good results.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    316

    Default

    It would be a PITA. Speaker wires are only long enough to make it to the amps. The amps are not that close to the AVR.
    Pioneer SC-37
    RTiA9-fronts
    CSiA6-center
    RT55i-surrounds
    SVS PB13 Ultra & PSW650
    Monster Power 3250 amp
    Monster Power 2250 amp
    Monster Power HDP-2500 surge pro.



    Denon 3805,CS400i,RT25i's & FX500i's sitting in the basement collecting dust

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    I run a sc-27 on rti12 without any issues. I have mine crossed over at 80 and the sc27 ice amps inside the 27 actually sound quite good with the rti12.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    Forgot to say, usually i dont recommend this but, if your just checking to see how it would sound and the cables are too short, just add some wire to what your using and black tape it up good. Not a long term solution but, just to see how it would do? why not!

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (41)

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    8,745

    Default

    What happened to all that wire I sold you?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,714

    Default

    I run my Rti12's with an SC-35 without amps. I had an Adcom Gfa7000 and went back and forth several times, I found the sound was a lot cleaner and more detailed with the Pioneer and I could not really tell a difference in power. However that amp was 130wpc so take that for what its worth.
    Theater Room: Pioneer Elite SC-35, RTi12's, Csi5, Fxi5's, Fxi3's, ED A5-350 sub, Optoma HD20, 92'' Elite Screen, Xbox One, APC H15, MIT Exp 2 SC's, Pepster PC's

    Living Room: Martin Logan EM ESL's, Peachtree Audio iNova, MIT AVT2 SC's & IC's, Pepster PC, Sharp Aquos 60'', Sony BDP S-790, Airport Express

    Bedroom: Panasonic AX200U projector, 110" screen

    Outdoor: Polk Atrium 5's, Yamaha Rxv371

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leroyjr1 View Post
    What happened to all that wire I sold you?
    That's what I'm using w/ nana plugs. Leftovers went to a basement setup that's collecting dust...thus my signature.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by B Run View Post
    I run my Rti12's with an SC-35 without amps. I had an Adcom Gfa7000 and went back and forth several times, I found the sound was a lot cleaner and more detailed with the Pioneer and I could not really tell a difference in power. However that amp was 130wpc so take that for what its worth.
    Never heard a gfa7000 but the monster amps put out some sound. I appreciate the response but watt for watt...not much comparison.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (41)

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    8,745

    Default

    Let me check and see what I have laying around. What length do you need?

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leroyjr1 View Post
    Let me check and see what I have laying around. What length do you need?
    No worried I can buy some locally. Just checking opinions before I dive into a cable / wire jungle.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    17,102

    Default

    Since your subs are doing all the heavy lifting, try it out with the receiver alone. It may sound better. Sell the monster amps and buy one good one or better cables to suit your needs.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    13,547

    Default

    The SC-37 has plenty of power for your system. Sell off the amps and use the internal amps. Use that money to buy new speaker wire , IC's and whatever your system needs. Do you have a good Surge / Voltage stablizer?
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mantis View Post
    The SC-37 has plenty of power for your system. Sell off the amps and use the internal amps. Use that money to buy new speaker wire , IC's and whatever your system needs. Do you have a good Surge / Voltage stablizer?
    I use a Monster HTS-2500 surge protector.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,746

    Default

    If you have some bare wire in the basement, just black tape it to the end of your nana plugs just for a quick test. I do not recommend this long term but just to see how it sounds, why not!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone get the new Steven Wilson Solo CD YEt?
    By avelanchefan in forum Music & Movies
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 05:51 PM
  2. Tom Morello solo: The Nigh****chman
    By hagmanm2 in forum Music & Movies
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 04:02 PM
  3. Han Solo in Firefly? Yep!
    By Ron-P in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-13-2011, 07:05 AM
  4. SOLD Analysis Plus Solo Crystal & Oval 12
    By mshan242700 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-11-2010, 12:40 PM
  5. Gilmour solo album
    By Strong Bad in forum Music & Movies
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-21-2005, 07:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts