Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    I'M BANNED,I'M NATIONWIDE
    Posts
    2,724

    Default Computer question

    I am switching from DSL to cable (xfinity) this weekend if they show up.My question is with a router and squeezebox,oppo etc will it screw all them up until i change something in their settings or should it just read the new source and go?
    TIA

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    At the golf course eating mushrooms!
    Posts
    1,267

    Default

    The only thing you might have to change is how your router logs into the cable modem. The guy from Comcrap (xfinity) should be able to handle that for you.
    "It currently doesn't have a remote because I'm pretty sure my ex threw it out at some point 'cause she's a whore.!"
    "Peace, Love and ICBM's"
    "50% Why... That's almost half."
    "I know, I'm sick and need help."
    ----
    www.gimpod.com
    ----
    "The best way to enjoy digital music reproduction is to never listen to good analogue reproduction." ~ Kenneth Swauger

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    6,135

    Default

    This probably will not apply to you, but it is useful information if anyone ever searches for DSL to Comcast Internet, modem, router problems.

    When I went from DSL to cable Internet access my cable modem would not come up. It could not connect to wherever it had to. After trying to resolve this over the phone Comcast sent someone out. It turns out that there was a filter on my line that allowed TV signals to come in, but prevented anything from going out. Which is exactly what a cable modem does. There is two way communication. Apparently, I had a bad piece of cable going to another room that was causing some type of reflections back into the system. Instead of contacting me and fixing the problem, Comcast put a filter on the line that no one knew about. Once the cable was replaced and the filter removed everything worked fine.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    I'M BANNED,I'M NATIONWIDE
    Posts
    2,724

    Default

    Thanks guys.It would suck if nothing "read" the new signal and i had to screw around with each component but it sounds pretty painless.
    i;m only doing the internet.Directv has worked well for me.
    With all the wifi stuff these days along with a 17 yr old gamer freak the DSL is 10Mbps and the cable is 50 so it should be nice.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,557

    Default

    Should be a seamless transition on your end. Switching the WAN source is basically irrelevant to most home user's LAN.

    However going from 10Mps to 50Mbps... Not sure it will get you what you want. Bandwidth is incorrectly equated with speed, and in many (most) cases the ISPs actually market it as such. I know Insight Cable here in Louisville does. I just shake my head when I see the commercials. Bandwidth is the size of the pipe--it controls how much data can be sent at once, not how fast the data is sent. Unless you were maxing out your bandwidth at 10Mbps, jumping to 50Mbps will likely have no effect.

    It is possible you might have been maxing out your upstream bandwidth, which is usually far less than your downstream bandwidth, in which case there will be a difference. But 10Mbps downstream is overkill for most home users. 50Mbps is extreme overkill.

    RT-12, CS350-LS, PSW-300, Infinity Overture 1, Monoprice RC-65i
    Adcom GFA-545II, GFA-6000, Outlaw Audio 990, Netgear NeoTV
    Denon DCM-460, DMD-1000, Sony BDP-360, Bravia KDL-40Z4100/S
    Monster AVL-300, HTS-2500 MKII

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    I'M BANNED,I'M NATIONWIDE
    Posts
    2,724

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Syndil View Post
    Should be a seamless transition on your end. Switching the WAN source is basically irrelevant to most home user's LAN.

    However going from 10Mps to 50Mbps... Not sure it will get you what you want. Bandwidth is incorrectly equated with speed, and in many (most) cases the ISPs actually market it as such. I know Insight Cable here in Louisville does. I just shake my head when I see the commercials. Bandwidth is the size of the pipe--it controls how much data can be sent at once, not how fast the data is sent. Unless you were maxing out your bandwidth at 10Mbps, jumping to 50Mbps will likely have no effect.

    It is possible you might have been maxing out your upstream bandwidth, which is usually far less than your downstream bandwidth, in which case there will be a difference. But 10Mbps downstream is overkill for most home users. 50Mbps is extreme overkill.
    Ok i read this a few times and still wonder what you mean.I'm old and as Joe walsh says - an Analog Man in a digital world.
    I want my kid to be able to play his Black Ops and whatever without much if any interrution.I want fast music and video downloads,play back of these without a burp if possible,and use my Oppo,laptop and iPads with decent speed.
    Is it possible? If so how?
    As far as overkill,well that ship sailed a long time ago for me.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,557

    Default

    For games and such, latency is 100x more important than bandwidth. But I'd say give the 50Mbps a try and see if it's any better for you. The extra upstream may be what you needed.

    RT-12, CS350-LS, PSW-300, Infinity Overture 1, Monoprice RC-65i
    Adcom GFA-545II, GFA-6000, Outlaw Audio 990, Netgear NeoTV
    Denon DCM-460, DMD-1000, Sony BDP-360, Bravia KDL-40Z4100/S
    Monster AVL-300, HTS-2500 MKII

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    I'M BANNED,I'M NATIONWIDE
    Posts
    2,724

    Default

    Yep,latency,that's just what i was thinking. lol.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    At the golf course eating mushrooms!
    Posts
    1,267

    Default

    Mike, There's one thing about your router, If your router's max through put is 10mb's (most older ones are) then that's the max speed your going to get even if your computer's etc... can run at 1gbs. If the modem you get from xfinity is a big black one like this

    Name:  modem.jpg
Views: 922
Size:  31.1 KB

    It is a modem/router/firewall/WiFi with 1gbs so you can use it as your router instead.

    Using this modem/router I get according to Speed Test "Ping 10, DL 35.59Mbs, UL 5.55Mbs".
    Last edited by gimpod; 12-08-2012 at 01:47 PM.
    "It currently doesn't have a remote because I'm pretty sure my ex threw it out at some point 'cause she's a whore.!"
    "Peace, Love and ICBM's"
    "50% Why... That's almost half."
    "I know, I'm sick and need help."
    ----
    www.gimpod.com
    ----
    "The best way to enjoy digital music reproduction is to never listen to good analogue reproduction." ~ Kenneth Swauger

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    I'M BANNED,I'M NATIONWIDE
    Posts
    2,724

    Default

    i'm guessing it will be similar if not the same.
    I just checked and i get Ping 66,DL 8.93 Mbps,UL .83Mbps

  11. #11
    pepster
    Guest

    Default

    UL .83Mbps
    I have to have better than that just for porn.
    Just saying.........if you have never heard porn in 11.2 your missing out!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. computer question
    By sda2mike in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2012, 09:19 AM
  2. Need Help Computer Question
    By MillerLiteScott in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 04:16 PM
  3. Computer Question ..PLease Help...
    By wingnut4772 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-31-2007, 09:34 PM
  4. Computer question
    By burdette in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-13-2004, 04:10 PM
  5. Another Computer question
    By Zero in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 04-12-2004, 12:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts