Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Annapolis,md
    Posts
    88

    Default how to hook up subwoofer with no sub out on amp

    i want to add a sub.my pre amp has 2 sets of outputs .no sub outputs. with one set feeding 1 amp,the other set feeding another amp.i thought i could split on of the outputs on the pre amp and run a set of rca cables to the sub. guy at best buy told me that will not work.that i need a deticated subwoofer output from my pre amp. the guy from crutchfield told me i would need a sub with a low pass freq. confused, so i came here to the real experts. thanks

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Urbandale IA
    Posts
    2,262

    Default

    You should have two sets of speaker inputs on the back of your sub. Run your wire from the amp, to the sub, and then out of the other speaker inputs to the speakers. MOST subs have the speaker wire option, but not all. Which sub are you looking at?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Annapolis,md
    Posts
    88

    Default

    when you say run wire from amp do you mean rca jacks? because my speaker wire from my amps goes directly to my towers

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Annapolis,md
    Posts
    88

    Default

    my pre amp is a rotel rc 1070

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Annapolis,md
    Posts
    88

    Default

    sub i am thinking of getting is polk dsw 660wi

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    North Coast of Pa.
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Neale, you are correct. The guy at Best Buy and the guy at Crutchfield do not know what they are talking about. You can connect a Y-splitter from either output on your preamp and run RCA cables to your sub and your power amp. It's that simple. You can adjust the crossover on the sub to your preference. I also have two outputs on my Yamaha C-4 preamp. One output is connected to my power amp and the other is connectd to my sub. You could add a second sub by splitting each output if you wish.
    Last edited by classic carl; 11-21-2012 at 08:53 PM.
    Main system: Proton AA-1150, Yamaha C-4, Furman Elite-15 DMi, Nakamichi CR-1A, Marantz CD5003, Squeezebox Classic, Music Hall dac25.2, Dual 1229/Denon DL-303, Music Hall MMF-5.1/Goldring 1042, Pro-Ject Speed Box II, Sennheiser HD600, Monitor Audio Silver RS8, Monitor Audio FB-210

    HT: Sony KV-36FS100, Yamaha RX-V800, Furman Elite-15 DMi, Marantz DV6001, Polk Audio RT55i, RTi38, CS400i, (2) PSW450

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    second sub the best way
    or an other pre-amp,
    for speaker hook-up
    my last option
    keep up the good work !

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Central Illinois
    Posts
    1,982

    Default

    I have found that Cody's suggestion lends the best (to my ears) sound when using a pre with no sub out. Run the speaker wires to the sub and then from the sub to the mains.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SE MO
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SDA1C View Post
    I have found that Cody's suggestion lends the best (to my ears) sound when using a pre with no sub out. Run the speaker wires to the sub and then from the sub to the mains.
    That has always sounded best to me also. However, I prefer to just run two sets of speaker wires directly from the amp's output. One set to the mains, the other set to the sub. I figure that will eliminate any possibility of "coloration" the sub connections might impart to the mains signal. The amp won't care, because the sub's input impedance is very high, so it will have virtually no effect on the current requirement.
    2.1: Peachtree DAC●iT>Yaqin MC-10L w/6CA7-EH, Voskhod 6N1P-EV>polkaudio RT25i, PSW202

    5.1: ATI HD5850 HDMI Bitstreaming>Denon AVR-1910>polkaudio RT7, CS350-LS, RT3, PSW505, Sony Bravia KDL-52W3000

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    North Coast of Pa.
    Posts
    257

    Default

    There are many ways to skin a cat. The reason that I connect mine as I do is because my preamp has two sets of outputs and there are two switches on the front to turn each of them on or off independently. I can turn off the output to my mains and listen only to the sub, which helped immensely when I was dialing the sub in. It also comes in handy when a recording is too bass heavy. I just turn the sub output off. I also have a single input passive pre between my sub output and the sub to control the volume without having to reach behind the sub for adjustment.

    The OP mentioned using RCA cables, which is why I answered as I did. At least we here all know more than the so-called "experts" at BB or Crutchfield, who are actually paid to know this information.
    Last edited by Kenneth Swauger; 11-23-2012 at 07:14 PM. Reason: Watch the language!
    Main system: Proton AA-1150, Yamaha C-4, Furman Elite-15 DMi, Nakamichi CR-1A, Marantz CD5003, Squeezebox Classic, Music Hall dac25.2, Dual 1229/Denon DL-303, Music Hall MMF-5.1/Goldring 1042, Pro-Ject Speed Box II, Sennheiser HD600, Monitor Audio Silver RS8, Monitor Audio FB-210

    HT: Sony KV-36FS100, Yamaha RX-V800, Furman Elite-15 DMi, Marantz DV6001, Polk Audio RT55i, RTi38, CS400i, (2) PSW450

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Central Illinois
    Posts
    1,982

    Default

    Does the sub with the line level ins and outs filter the out after it feeds the sub. I would think using 2 sets of wires, one to the sub and one the mains, would negate this effect.

    I am fairly certain a bucket of poop, missing a handle, knows more on average than the typical big box retail associate.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SE MO
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by classic carl View Post
    The OP mentioned using RCA cables, which is why I answered as I did. At least we here all know more than the so-called "experts" at BB or Crutchfield, who are actually paid to know this ****.
    Indeed. All three of our answers are "correct", as far as I'm concerned. I suggest trying all options and use whatever sounds best.
    Last edited by Tbone289; 11-23-2012 at 04:53 PM.
    2.1: Peachtree DAC●iT>Yaqin MC-10L w/6CA7-EH, Voskhod 6N1P-EV>polkaudio RT25i, PSW202

    5.1: ATI HD5850 HDMI Bitstreaming>Denon AVR-1910>polkaudio RT7, CS350-LS, RT3, PSW505, Sony Bravia KDL-52W3000

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SE MO
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SDA1C View Post
    Does the sub with the line level ins and outs filter the out after it feeds the sub. I would think using 2 sets of wires, one to the sub and one the mains, would negate this effect.
    No. Most subwoofers (including all Polk models) have a low pass filter--not a crossover. The low pass filter blocks frequencies above the setpoint sent to the subwoofer, but doesn't alter the frequency spectrum sent from the output to the mains. Your method of connection and mine will both result in the entire signal being sent to the mains.
    2.1: Peachtree DAC●iT>Yaqin MC-10L w/6CA7-EH, Voskhod 6N1P-EV>polkaudio RT25i, PSW202

    5.1: ATI HD5850 HDMI Bitstreaming>Denon AVR-1910>polkaudio RT7, CS350-LS, RT3, PSW505, Sony Bravia KDL-52W3000

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    california
    Posts
    605

    Default

    if you want all adjustment at your fingertips look at a energy EAC electronic crossover it has both preamp plugs and a internall convertor so you can hook up speaker wires to it than to the amps

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SE MO
    Posts
    613

    Default

    reported
    2.1: Peachtree DAC●iT>Yaqin MC-10L w/6CA7-EH, Voskhod 6N1P-EV>polkaudio RT25i, PSW202

    5.1: ATI HD5850 HDMI Bitstreaming>Denon AVR-1910>polkaudio RT7, CS350-LS, RT3, PSW505, Sony Bravia KDL-52W3000

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Subwoofer hook up
    By SuperG in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-10-2008, 12:55 PM
  2. How do I hook up subwoofer - help!
    By nicedates in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2004, 02:25 PM
  3. subwoofer hook up???????????
    By glemay in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2003, 03:36 PM
  4. Subwoofer hook-up
    By glemay in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2003, 06:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts