Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    677

    Default Random Subwoofer Pop

    I have recently noticed that my subwoofer makes a poping noise at random. It happens at all volumes. The sub is plugged into a outlest with our Direct TV power line (not the DTV box). I have tried to see if it occurs when another appliance turns on in the house, however cant seem to find a culprit. I also checked the subwoofer cable and it looked fine. I have it on the auto on, however it makes the poping noise even right after it belted out some LFE. The pop is not super loud but I definetly notice it.

    Could it be a bad amp plate?

    Or my elites sub out?
    Living Room
    Fronts: RTi A7's
    Center: Csi A6 VR3 "Fortress Plus"
    Front Heights: Rti A1
    Surrounds: Rti A3
    Sub: HSU VTF-2 MK4 Damn this is a good SUB
    Pioneer Pioneer Elite: SC-35-> Emotiva XPA-3
    TV: Lg LW6500 55" Passive 3D
    Blu-Ray Panasonic BD 210
    XboX 360 Slim/Kinect

    Acoustimac red suede panels

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Do you have another source you can hook it to?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Coconut Creek, Florida.
    Posts
    222

    Default

    My sub had a similar occurrence (PSW1200). The cables were fine, the woofers were fine, just the amp wouldn't sound normal. It made the popping noise upon signal detection, very weak bass output, then no sound at all. I removed the amp and sent it to Polk CS. When I get it back, I'll post a response regarding the issue, or if was a total loss or not. I believe it's a bad amp plate, could be wrong though!
    RT5000
    RT3000p
    RT2000p
    CS1000p
    CS350-LS
    LS F/X
    PSW650
    PSW1000 w/Dayton SPA1000
    PSW1200
    PSW1200 w/DSW Micropro amp (Inept Postal Goons Destroyed my original Plate Amp.)
    DSW MicroPro 4000

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    677

    Default

    I have isolated this issue to appliances on the same circuit. Both bathroom fans and our furnace.

    Will getting a power conditioner for my subwoofer help this problem?
    Living Room
    Fronts: RTi A7's
    Center: Csi A6 VR3 "Fortress Plus"
    Front Heights: Rti A1
    Surrounds: Rti A3
    Sub: HSU VTF-2 MK4 Damn this is a good SUB
    Pioneer Pioneer Elite: SC-35-> Emotiva XPA-3
    TV: Lg LW6500 55" Passive 3D
    Blu-Ray Panasonic BD 210
    XboX 360 Slim/Kinect

    Acoustimac red suede panels

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Somerset KY
    Posts
    125

    Default

    power conditioners are more for voltage control, not dynamic conditions such as this. I would try replacing switches for the appliances causing the pop when they are activated. The furnace is another issue, if this is the culprit you may have to look into what exactly in the furnace is causing it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Random Thoughts
    By Demiurge in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 166
    Last Post: 10-25-2010, 08:05 PM
  2. random thoughts
    By Disc Jockey in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 09:12 PM
  3. Random thoughts
    By Strong Bad in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 08:15 PM
  4. Random Items
    By Zero in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-24-2004, 06:24 PM
  5. Random Pictures
    By Zero in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 02-26-2003, 07:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts