Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: polk tsi300

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default polk tsi300

    Hi ladies and gents! I'm having serious issues getting the right sound out of my new tsi 300's... :( I also have a polk psw 110 I'm incorporating into my system. I'm using a denon receiver and at the moment, using speaker outputs A and B, left and right out of each into the speakers. I also have a sub out, that I'm using to go directly in to LFE in on the powered sub. I'm taking speaker wire to the upper and lower connections on the speaker and not using the binding post that comes with the speakers. So, I'm going out of the receiver A left and B left to my left tsi300 and out of my receiver A right and B right to my right tsi300. I'm selecting A and B speakers on the front of my receiver, and at the moment I'm thinking everything is hunky dory! buuut, it's not... For some reason, when I select dolby digital on my receiver, the sound of the tsi's goes way down, and is very unintelligible. If I hit Stereo on my receiver, it cuts out the sub, and the tsi's work fine.... Can someone help me, please!!!!!

  2. #2
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,850

    Default

    Hi cheebis3.
    Welcome to Polk's forum. Am I correct in that you are using just a pair of main speakers without a center speaker? When you are testing your system what are you using for program material? Are you able to play a stereo source, such as a CD or radio station?
    Regards, Ken

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yes, just a pair of main speakers, no center channel. And If I plug my ipod in to my receiver, I do get a solid stereo sound, but I have to have the setting on the receiver selected to "stereo" otherwise, I have that sound issue. And if I have it on "stereo", I get no sub...

  4. #4
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,850

    Default

    Until you expand your speaker arrangement playing the receiver on "stereo" will be the correct approach. It is possible there is a setting in the Denon's setup that will allow the sub to function, maybe checking with Denon would be a good idea. If not then all you need to do is run the pair of speaker wires you have going to the upper set of speaker binding posts (replace the binding post jumper plates you've removed) and run these to the speaker level inputs on the sub. You'll want to remove the sub-cable since you are now feeding a speaker level signal to the sub. This way will allow the sub to operate in conjunction with the two speakers.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hmmm... So run two lines out of receiver left and right to sub inputs, then out of sub, into each speaker?

  6. #6
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,850

    Default

    Correct, the same audio signal has to go two places. One to the sub and the second to the speakers, the order each component gets the signal isn't important just that it gets two places. If the sub is between the receiver and the speakers then run to sub, then to speakers. The branching can happen at the receiver (A to speakers, B to sub) or at the speakers or at the sub.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    YOU my friend, are the man! Thank you so much!!! You have no idea how irritated I was last night at the amount of money I spent for something that wasn't working.... and my wife was unhappy at me cause I was unhappy, so what a s#i&&y night. But you my friend, have saved the day, thank you so much again!!! They sound great!!!
    Last edited by Kenneth Swauger; 02-02-2013 at 08:56 AM.

  8. #8
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,850

    Default

    No problem, glad things are sounding better! Thanks for supporting Polk!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Polk Audio Tsi300 - Amp matching?
    By aashish351 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 02:38 AM
  2. Mixing Polk Audio series, TSI300 with Csi A3
    By olds97_lss in forum Speakers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-2010, 12:56 AM
  3. Need Help m-70 vs tsi300
    By luislane in forum Speakers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 09:09 PM
  4. Need Help Question about TSi300
    By IndiansFan in forum Speakers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-17-2009, 10:23 PM
  5. CS2 with TSi300?
    By dborzz in forum Speakers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 06:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts