Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Total Newbie!!

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Total Newbie!!

    Alright, here is the deal. I have an old '79 Chevy pickup. After deciding that the k-mart radio and 2 inch speakers were not enough for me, i thought, hey i'll buy some speakers, that will make it all better. NOT. so i bought a set of 6x9 dual (I know, i know, not the best choice, but i think they will do the job. they are 150 watt.) speakers and boxes to put them in. when i got home and started to install them i realized what a mess the back of the radio was. most wires where rotten, there was no wire harness, only a ground, hot, and right and left wires. just loose, no connections. so i put my speakers in and rewired. after this i hooked them up, and cranked it, hoping for a better sound. what i got was something about as powerfull as my laptop speakers.
    What i need to know what i should do about the wire harness predicament, and also if amping the speakers would do anything for me. I plan to buy a new deck. at the moment i am planning on buying a jvc.
    I just want a good sound. i dont want something that will blow my neighbors away.
    Like i said i am a complete newbie at the whole car audio thing. i am pretty farmiliar with car wiring and basic stuff, but this is not my thing.
    Please help, anything would be of assistance. thanks.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,827

    Default

    Your head unit doesnt have enough power for those speakers so they sound like laptop speakers. Getting a real, aftermarket head unit will help tremendously.

    If those wires are rotten then youd be doing yourself a huge favor by spending a few hours one Saturday and rewireing the whole thing. Shouldnt be hard since its only got 3 wires (ground, hot, ignition) and the speaker wires. Run down to Radio Shack and buy some wire and fix that mess.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default k

    ok, i did all the rewiring, do you have any suggestions on what gauge wire i should use? if i did get that head unit, could i amp the speakers instead of spendins so much on the head> if not, do you have any suggestions on head units?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    ok, i did all the rewiring, do you have any suggestions on what gauge wire i should use? if i did get that head unit, could i amp the speakers instead of spendins so much on the head> if not, do you have any suggestions on head units?

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,827

    Default

    Yeah you could get good results just by amping the speakers but I would feel better with a new head unit. If that one is that old with rotting wires, I wouldnt trust it. As for which brand, Ive always been partial to Alpine myself but Kenwood, Clarion, Eclipse and Pioneer all make good CD players. Find the one that best meets your budget and has the features you want.

    As for which gauge, you wont need anything that big. 14 gauge at most for the battery wire and ground, 18 for the ignition wire and 16 for the speaker wires.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default watts

    so what wattage do i need with just the head? or if i was going to amp it, what do i need?

    Would an alipine CDE-100 do the trick?

    Here are all the tech details. my speakers are dual 6x9s, 50w RMS, 150w peak.

    The Alpine CDE-100 says it has an 18w x4 output. im still kinda unclear on what that means. if i got this would i still have to amp them? i just dont want to underpower my speakers and screw them up.
    Last edited by jsnyder; 01-31-2010 at 01:03 PM.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Newbie with unknown Polk Audio speakers !

    Hi,

    I received a pair of floor standing Polk Audio Monitor speakers, labeled 8T 28528 and 27229 to satisfy a debt. Anyone care to comment on them ?

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    156

    Default

    amping an old crappy head unit will only send a louder crappy sound to the speakers. the frequency range that is output by a newer head unit will be wider (ie - more bass and treble)

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    K. I understand that. what i want to know is if i buy the new alpine head, do i need to amp it, or will it power those speakers sufficiently alone. i threw the old head out. so we dont need to worry about that.
    if i do need to amp it, how many watts would i need?

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    6,090

    Default

    Ideally any aftermarket speaker "should" be amped to provide enough power for them to function the way they were intended. However, it might not be necessary for you in particular. Will they sound better w/ a good amp? yes. Is it necessary? no.

    I don't know if I'd spend the money to amp those speakers. I really wouldn't expect vast improvement in SQ with discount speakers by adding an amp. Just hook 'em up to the HU for now and see how it sounds. If it suits your needs, you're golden. If it doesn't, then you can look into amps. Either way, what's to lose by just hooking it up to the HU and trying it out?

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    k thanks.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    6,090

    Default

    BTW the discount speaker comment was not meant to be a derogatory statement. They're just an entry level brand that will get your feet wet in car audio. But you seem to know that already :D

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    yeah i got yah. now that i have done some research, i realize that sixty bucks is pretty cheap. thanks for the help.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Total Nebie!!
    By jsnyder in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2010, 12:55 AM
  2. DIY DAC for a total newbie? aka - calling GV
    By ShinAce in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-19-2009, 06:06 PM
  3. FS; Total BitHead Headphone Amp
    By beardog03 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-04-2008, 04:30 PM
  4. need help with total system
    By crmfmly in forum Speakers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 09:36 PM
  5. Total Threads/Total Posts
    By audiobliss in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2005, 01:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts