Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default Trouble with RTi A9s..

    Hello all,

    I recently received my RTi a9s and I am having a little trouble getting them hooked up to my receiver. I picked up a set of AudioQuest 10ft Rocket 33 cables. These have 4 ends on one side and 2 on the other. I didnt intially remove the jumpers on the speakers and I hooked them up. The receiver didn't detect the speakers and I don't get any sound. I removed the jumpers and tried again and I still get no sound. The yamaha receiver just says audio output: "PHONES" as if it thinks headphones are connected. I didnt try removing the jumpers from both, I just hooked up one speaker that way before doing both. I say on the phone with Yamaha and they think I am either not hooking it up right or that the receiver is defective.

    Do you guys have any ideas? Would both the L and R have to be hooked up for the Yamaha to work?

    Thank you so much!

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    UPDATE:

    I removed the jumpers from both sides. I have the cables all plugged in and i'm still not getting any sound. The receiver is receiving audio and passing it to the TV, but it doesn't detect the speakers and simply says "PHONES" as the output in the settings menu.

    Sigh.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Spring Hill, Fl
    Posts
    452

    Default

    Is there a speakers button. Its a button that will allow you to turn on or off the speakers, sometimes it will be a switch to phones, or a a/b switch.

    I dont know what else it could be. Are the speakers connected to the yamaha correctly.

    Yes if you have the the 4 wire ends, aka bi-wiring. You will remove the brass jumpers
    HT Rig Sharp LC-52LE810|Panasonic BDP210|Pioneer Elite VSX-32|Polk Audio RTiA5 Cherry|Polk Audio CsiA6 Cherry|Polk Audio T-15|DSW Pro 600, Micro Pro4000 powered with a Crown XLS1000

    2Channel Rig Polk Audio LSi9 Cherry| Carver C-1|Carver M1.0t|Dual 1257|Acer A500|Pioneer SW8-MKII X2

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Originally I didn't have the jumpers removed as I have never had speakers with 4 terminals. The receiver doesn't
    "see" the speakers and only says that the audio is being output to "PHONES". The yamaha tech said it could be defective or just might be defaulting to headphones because it doesn't see any speakers.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    30,418

    Default

    Did you have the AVR hooked up and working before hooking up the Polks? Have you tried different speaker cables?

    Having the speakers hooked up with the jumpers using bi-wire speaker cables will not harm either the speakers or the AVR, so that's got nothing to do with your problem.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    North Of The 49th
    Posts
    815

    Default

    Like F1 asked, was it working before installing these Polks? Sounds like an AVR setting like others have said. What is the model # of your Yamaha, maybe someone here can lead you through the settings...

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks for your responses. I actually work at Best Buy and the receiver was a display unit at another store. I have not hooked it up to any other speakers. It's an rx-a3010bl. I tried running YPAO and it says "UNPLUG PHONES" and "PLUG IN MIC". I honestly think that it thinks headphones are plugged in when they are not. We did a factory reset and also updated the firmware settings. I also tried to plug in the speakers to "Zone 2" and it still doesn't make a difference.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    30,418

    Default

    In that case, I'm inclinded to think the AVR is defective.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    central Texas, trailer court on right
    Posts
    729

    Default

    I would try shooting a little compressed air into the headphone jack. May be something, like a staple or such. making some sort of contact in there. Other than that, take it back to BB, so the can send it out for repair.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thank you guys. You are awesome. I am going to take it back to BB tomorrow and have them send it out!

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    176

    Default

    I hope you didn't mess up anything inside the RTIs since you initially didn't disconnect the jumpers. Crossing fingers!
    Front- RTI A7,(powered by ADCOM GFA 5500)
    Center- CSI5,
    Surrounds- RTI 6 and Rear Surrounds- TS 15.
    TV-Panasonic P55ST50
    SUB-SVS PB10-NSD and PSW505
    Receiver- Yamaha Aventage RX-A2000

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Since this is a BB displayed model most likely someone stick a broken piece in the mic phone jack. compressed air may not solve your problem.
    MAIN:
    Front- Lsi 15,
    Center- lsiC,
    Surrounds- lsi F/X,
    Front wide - LsiM 703,
    Power sub PSW1000,
    Receiver- Onkyo 809,
    Emotiva XPA-5.
    --------------------------------------------------------

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis,IN
    Posts
    187

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oleon621 View Post
    I hope you didn't mess up anything inside the RTIs since you initially didn't disconnect the jumpers. Crossing fingers!
    jumpers or not. He would not have hurt the speakers. Sounds like his speaker wires just split into 2 sets on one end to use all four binding posts. removing the jumpers or not removing them will make no difference in this situation. No worries. He would not have messed up his speakers

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    I removed the jumpers from both sides. I have the cables all plugged in and i'm still not getting any sound. The receiver is receiving audio and passing it to the TV, but it doesn't detect the speakers and simply says "PHONES" as the output in the settings menu.
    you mention it is passing through to the TV if this is over HDMI you may have to change a setting on your tv to tell it to send the sound to the Receiver (could be called "home theater") try a non hdmi source, like the radio, with the TV off and see if that changes anything

    -Luke
    ________________________________
    Panasonic TH-50PZ800U; Sony BDP-S350
    Sony STR-DA5400ES; Carver TFM-55
    Carver TFM-35; Carver A-500x
    Sony Playstation 3; Custom HTPC
    Polk Monitor 10B Front; 2xPolk CS350LS Center;
    Monitor 5B rears (RB0194-1 Upgrade);
    Velodyne VA1012XII sub

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Car trouble
    By bigaudiofanatic in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 05-04-2011, 09:52 PM
  2. PSW 111 Trouble
    By ebertsj in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 12:34 AM
  3. SVS trouble
    By toddco in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-29-2007, 07:31 PM
  4. Trouble with Pre-Amp; Nad 712
    By AndyGwis in forum Electronics
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-24-2007, 05:55 PM
  5. RT5 trouble
    By tadpole13 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2004, 03:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts